We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Laguna Beach”
Review of Laguna Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Beach Lodge
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Laguna Beach hotels are quite expensive. Most "average" hotels in the area could easily run $200-300/night and few of them are right on the beach or right next to downtown, thereby requiring that you rent a car as well.

The Travelodge is a great bargain by comparison. Over this holiday weekend stay, my room rate was less than $100/day including taxes and other fees. Across the street (literally) was the Montage luxury hotel resort, where the cheapest rooms ran for $500+/night. Because it is right next to the Montage, you have easy walking access to the public beach that the Montage sits on top of, and this beach is in my opinion a lot nicer than the beach found next to downtown. In fact, you pretty much have full access to the Montage except for its swimming pools, so you can have drinks or eat in the hotel and go back to the Travelodge to sleep. If the idea of spending $25 on a burger at the Montage isn't appealing, the strip mall next to the Travelodge has a few restaurants too and there's also an Albertsons and a CVS as well. You are probably 1.5 miles away from downtown though, so if you don't rent a car, you're realistically stuck in that particular location of Laguna Beach unless you call for a taxi.

The room was clean and the bed was perfectly comfortable. Furniture and carpeting were old, but what do you expect? The room also comes with a mini-fridge, a microwave and also has an iron + ironing board. The hotel also has a small swimming pool and hot tub on the grounds, which is usually filled with vacationing families with small children. There is also a free continental breakfast every morning in the hotel lobby.

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone that wants to spend a weekend in Laguna Beach without paying a fortune.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

I booked this labor day weekend and it was still under a 100 a night! I have to say it exceeded my expectations. The beach is across the street and ten times more beautiful than Lagunas main beach. The water is clear and bright blue and the beaches are uncrowded. The rooms are cute and well kept and the breakfast is surprisingly good. Usually they just have coffee and bear claws but this had a variety of fresh fruit and bagels as well as the usual cereal and danishes. The pool was heated and well maintained. For the price and location it doesnt get any better! Loved it and am planning on returning soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budgetbeachygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Very friendly lady at check in, she was welcoming and very helpful. The rooms are absolutely fine, there is a nice little pool and there is free WiFi. It's an great place to stay in Laguna Beach, which is a lovely area (much nicer than Long Beach).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for staying with us, we are happy you enjoyed your visit to Laguna Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Fair location for the money, helpful staff, well equipped rooms - close to noisy Highway 1 so take earplugs if you're a light sleeper - also close to the beach which is a big plus.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I really wanted to just hang out at the beach for my birthday, so I got online and started hunting down a place to stay at the closest beach from Las Vegas, Laguna Beach. It was no easy task, it took about a week to find the right deal. Everything was so expensive and we just needed a clean room with good service for a family of three. After looking at all sorts of rooms and prices, I choose this hotel based on reviews that I read, which is something I had never done before, a sorta internet newbie for this sorta thing.
In conclusion, The Travelodge is a wonderful chain, the rate was reasonable, the room was clean, the actuall beach was across the street, we were next to the free trolley that services Laguna beach area, and breakfast was good. I took a room with an ocean view, it was not too much of an ocean view but it was still wonderful. Close to everything and out of the way of the busy tourist areas, very quiet. Older tv's with dvd player in room, fridge and microwave. Coffee maker as well.

Room Tip: I took room 223, a wonderful room, large in size, with two double beds. Fridge, microwave, coffee ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina812bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad that you had such a nice time - and Happy Birthday!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful tropical gardens in the courtyard around the pool, and the rate was very reasonable for the area. Hot tub was nice and hot, kids loved the pool as well. Paved path to the beach was longer than we expected, about 10 minutes through a ritzy condo development by glam beach houses which have their own security guards standing outside...not exactly a friendly vibe. The beach below is a cove and very beautiful, but the waves break so close to shore that their is no boogie boarding or safe swimming. There are nice tide pools between coves though-- we enjoyed looking at the fish/crabs/starfish. Salt beach farther down the coast is far better for board sports and waves. It was a great motel, and we would return, but would use other beaches in the area via the free shuttle or by car.

Room Tip: Motels in the area are small/historic, so rooms are cozy. Avoid hotels.com- they promised a rollawa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank home86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A reasonably priced hotel in a great area. Laguna Beach hotels can be pricey, but found the travelodge, read the reviews and booked a room for 3 for 3 nights. Location is great...right across from the Montage. Beautiful area to walk around and access the beach. Located south of the main shopping and restaurant area, but the trolley was handy and the stop was located right out in front. Our room was spacious and faced out the back, view wasn't great but it was really great for privacy (you don't have people walking in front of and looking into your room all day). We could leave the drapes open all day. Pool and hot tub area were just fine. Breakfast was minimal, but with all the great places to eat in Laguna, we only used it for coffee anyway. Room was clean and pleasant and the bed was very soft! If your looking for an affordable place to stay in Laguna Beach, I would recommend the Travelodge. It's not fancy, but it is clean and well managed. Would definately book again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn8587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for staying with us, we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and the beach! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
3.3 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
2.4 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
4.1 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#17 of 22 in Laguna Beach
145 reviews
5.5 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
444 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Lodge

Address: 30806 Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4222 (Formerly Travelodge Laguna Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $146 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning backdrop of Laguna Beach, a classic 1950s Southern California Motor Lodge is reborn as a comfortable boutique hotel.The Laguna Beach Lodge offers outstanding value: free parking, complimentary breakfast and attractive rates.Ideally situated and perfect for families, we capture the spirit of Laguna and make it all affordable, convenient, and fun.•A short walk to Treasure Island Beach.•Summertime trolley service from our front door to Laguna's village.•Free Wifi.•Bright, cheerful, and fresh Laguna Beach hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Reef Hotel
Laguna Reef Motel
Best Western Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing