We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I appreciated the way staff took care of my room, which, by the way was excellent, and how they responded to my every need to assure me of a good stay. Breakfast was served daily and offered a great variety of food and wonderful service. Staff were friendly, caring and responsive to my every request. Computers were also available to search for directions to places to see as well as to keep up with personal e-mail files. The buildings were beautiful with flowers everywhere. I can't think of anything negative to say about my stay. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulus432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    198
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
220
183
64
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We wanted a non-chain hotel for our long weekend in SoCal, so I booked the Laguna Hills Lodge based on the many positive TripAdvisor reviews. I could not have been more pleased with our experience, especially for the price! The location (just off the 5) was perfect for us, as we wanted a location central to our day trips to area beaches, Palm Springs, and San Diego. Check-in was quick and painless and made extra-special with freshly baked cookies. After unpacking, my husband had to get his fish taco fix at Rubio's, so we made the easy walk across the street to the Laguna Mall. I did not use the pool nor the hot tub, but my husband pronounced them "just fine." We both made use of the fitness room, which came equipped with two incline treadmills, a cycle, and a circuit weight system. (Running on a treadmill is a lot more enjoyable overlooking a pool!) The room was larger than I'd expected and included a microwave, a mini-fridge/freezer combo, and a separate sink/shower/tub. If you're a smoker - especially one not accustomed to California's strict smoking laws - you'll want to request a smoking room, as there is only one designated smoking area on the property. Our room faced a relatively busy street, but I didn't find the traffic noise to be noticeable at all, and the area itself was absolutely safe (speaking of which, it's also across from a fire station - but again, the noise wasn't an issue for this city dweller.) The continental breakfast was better than I've had at more expensive lodges: coffee, fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, dry and hot cereal, danishes, etc. We'll definitely stay in this little gem of a property again on future trips to the OC!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediamama317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We've now stayed here on 2 separate occasions and love it. Its not a new hotel but very well kept up. Basic breakfast but does the job.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mirada, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Looking for a cozy place that won't break your budget? Stay here. It's close to some great restaurants and feels more like a resort. Very quiet and safe. Great for families. Find a guy named Roland. Super nice dude. He'll take good care of you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KadenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

OK, for the good, close to where we were going which was to visit my aunt, also the price was right. The bad, noise from the traffic, close to busy road. The ?, noisy neighbors, not the motels fault, small room for breakfast, the continental breakfast was about average for a mid range motel. Would I stay here again, maybe, but I would check out other hotels/motels in the area first. .......one last thing, easy access to I-5

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Note that I state "motel" as this property isn't a hotel. Some might be concerned about the fact that even though it has internal corridors, anyone can access them. However, the area seemed very safe so not really an issue.

Breakfast was basic but nice, rooms were fantastic just as nice as good 3* properties. Bathroom was compact with a 3/4 length bath. TV great with 60 channels! Service on the front desk was fine but could have been a little more welcoming upon first arrival. Made use of the heated pool, again a great bonus in the winter.

As some have mentioned, there is a fire station right across the street with very loud fire engines departing quite regularly between 7am and 10pm but didn't hear anything during the night. Traffic noise was minimal.

Generally a great stay in a very nice location just a short drive from Laguna Beach, although I'd recommend the short drive to the Irvine Spectrum Center rather than using the local mall which was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Being away from Paseo De Valencia is probably a good idea but to be honest it didn't make much d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnsey1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at this "lodge" which is basically a motel for two nights. The furnishings in the room were a little dark but it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Would use it again if required without question. We were in block B and next to the main road but there was no noise at all. We were able to park right outside our room which is not possible for all rooms. Complimentary continental breakfast was available but we chose to walk 200 yards to Carrows for a cooked one and claimed the 15% discount for Laguna Hills Lodge residents without problems. Another plus is good FREE wifi in your room. As the Brits say:- It does what it says on the tin. Should add there was a bath tub and also fridge, freezer and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DecerningLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
3.5 km away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
1.8 km away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
4.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
11.1 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Property: Laguna Hills Lodge
Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing