We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I spent five days at this hotel and found the hotel to be very comfortable. Although it is located next to the 405 Freeway, my room, 318, was away from the freeway and was surprisingly very quiet. I appreciated having a restaurant available where both breakfast and dinner were served. The breakfast buffet was not included in the room rate, but this was fine with me, as I prefer to order off the menu. The first room assigned to me, 310, was much too small. For a one-night stay, it might have been adequate but not for five days. I changed to room 318, which was called an "executive" room. It was very spacious and included a small dining table in addition to the desk, TV cabinet, etc. All rooms have a coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave. The furnishings were understated but very pleasant and comfortable. Two types of pillows are provided and the bedding was comfortable. The WiFi was free and worked very well. The staff was friendly. There is an attached parking garage. My only complaint about the hotel was how cold the elevators were. They have one glass walls that faces the exterior glass wall of the building). The lobby and restaurant were also too cold for me. I made a point of wearing a jacket to breakfast. Overall, however, this was a fine place to stay for several days.

Room Tip: Request an executive room (such as 318), to get some extra space. Request a room that does not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbarb2-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis1682, Manager at Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear Dana Point,

Thank you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that my staff made your stay a memorable one.

Ernie Montalvo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    87
    24
    6
    17
See reviews for
76
65
24
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I don't believe that we've ever stayed in a hotel this quiet!! No road noise, no guests clomping up and down the halls, no children crying....it was like being in a quiet cocoon! An immaculately clean cocoon.
Service really seemed to be a priority for the hotel....easy checkin--almost like ringing the doorbell of your host's house and entering--that hassle free. Prior to our stay I had called a couple of times with questions and was always greeted and answered cheerfully. What a nice surprise to have a pillow menu--I really enjoyed picking one that just suited me (kind of like Goldilocks--"this one is juuuust right!"

All the staff--front desk, cleaning, restaurant--were friendly and nice. The buffet executive breakfast was a hearty start to the day and we were served our coffee and any extras with as much warmth as you get at a your local 'our place' diner. All requests were cheerfully complied with in a timely fashion. Often in hotels the cleaning staff darts into a room or avoids eye contact, but these people were all genuinely warmly friendly.

Great place! I want to go back........and I've never said that about a hotel before!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clynnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

At the price this hotel is charging you can get a much better exerience and a better location in the irvine area. Room was clean enough and made sure to get a room away from the very busy highway side of the hotel however the breakfast staff were surly at best and enough to keep me away from here in the future

Room Tip: Essential to get a room on opposite side from the highway or you wont get a decent sleep, beware sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis1682, Manager at Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Santa Monica, California.

We value your comments and are thankful you took the time to express your experience at the Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum. I will address your concerns with my staff.

Sincerely,

Ernie Montalvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have been visiting the Orange County area recently as I have a few relatives in the area. It is a relatively new hotel (about two years old?). Very clean and modern. Right off the freeway so the location is ideal! I always request a room the opposite side of the freeway. One time I forgot, and had a room by the freeway. It wasn't bad. Last time I stayed here, I took advantage of the coin-operated laundry facility. For once I brought home clean clothes. HOORAY! I also like the safe in the wall. Each time I stay here, I find something new to appreciate about the place. Most recently, I was the only one during the mornings to enjoy swimming laps in the pool. Bliss for me!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room facing the swimming pool--that way, you are NOT on the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat2kool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis1682, Manager at Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for making this hotel your home away from home. We value your comments and are pleased you shared your most recent experience at the Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum.

Sincerely,

Ernie Montalvo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is a nice Holiday Inn, but a Holiday Inn nonetheless. Located just off Highway 5, this hotel provides for easy on and off the highway. There was a short line for check-in, but service was otherwise unremarkable. Furnishings in the room were relatively new. The room was spacious and decor was intended for business travelers. Bathroom was fairly large, but drab with upscale house brand toiletries. I'd recommend this hotel if you are passing through Irvine and need to get off and on quickly. I would not recommend it for an extended stay or if you are staying with kids,

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis1682, Manager at Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Deorr,

We value your comments and are thankful you took the time to express your experience at the Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum. I will address your concerns with my department managers.

Sincerely,

Ernie Montalvo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was in Irvine for business and spent two weeks at this location. It is an attractive property with a full service restaurant and bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and quite knowledgable about the area. The hotel rooms are typical HI, and the housekeeping staff does an outstanding job.

THere is a pool and workout area, as well as a parking garage in the slim chance there is rain in Southern CA. The location is convenient to the main highway as well as shopping and restaurants.

Each evening there is "Happy Hour" where there are 1/2 bar small plates and a mgr's reception. A nice touch after a long work day.

This is a definite location to consider if you are staying in the area. It impressed this seasoned traveler.

Room Tip: Join Priority Club. You get extra perks and points towards free nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Since this hotel opened its doors I have been staying here at least 4 or 5 times, last stay lasting for almost 2 weeks. Avoid room 510 (close to AC installation that creates continous terrible humming) but all other rooms I slept in (at least 6 different ones on the 5th floor) are recommendable.
Location is good (no noise in the rooms although close to 405), always sufficient parking, clean and safe area.
Prices for small consumptions (snacks, drinks) are very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPH010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis1682, Manager at Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Slovenia,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I will address the A/C noise in room 510. I appreciate your detail review and we thank you for the compliments on your most recent stay.

Ernie Montalvo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
1.5 km away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
5.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
7.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine East / Lake Forest
4.8 km away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum

Property: Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Address: 23131 Lake Center Dr, Lake Forest, CA 92630-2838
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Forest
#6 Business Hotel in Lake Forest
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum Hotel Lake Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing