We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer didn't get the service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lathrop
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Long story short, the management cared more about the parties they booked in the breakfast room, more than they did the actual hotel guests. After numerous complaints, I had to call the police about the inability of the hotel staff to control the situation. The police had also been called out that same night because another guest of the hotel felt it necessary to physically assault a child of a different guest.

Avoid this place like the plague!!!

The A/C in the room sounded like a small aircraft engine. There was no way to adjust the speed of the fan, it was all or nothing.

I did manage to get one night refunded. Will never stay or recommend this property to another person.

Room Tip: Avoid 232, it is above the "party room".
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bacchus1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Hi Bacchus1310,

I am terribly sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay. As you know, the front desk staff did in fact ask the guests from the events to be extremely quiet so as to not disturb you. We were under the impression that we had taken care of the situation to your satisfaction and again apologize that this was not the case.

We do in fact take issue with the charge that a guest at our property "assaulted" a child. We deal in facts. Our property has video cameras in all public areas as well as the front desk. The elderly woman that was accused of this "assault" never came near this child. She was simply asking him to stop ringing her handicap accessible bell and knocking on her door as her disabled husband was trying to rest. The video footage has been given to the police department. Had this not been the case, we would have immediately asked her to leave the property as we take the security and well-being of our guests very seriously.

Again, we are very sorry for any inconvenience you may have been caused by the events. We strive for every guest to enjoy their stay.

Sincerely,
Dorine Julius
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2015

There are times that a hotel does something that is just so extraordinary; that it needs a review. The Holiday Inn express in Lathrop California, has impressed me to offer this observation. Upon being checked in by the desk clerk who I truly feel English is their first language; however I could not understand any words she spoke. Who then later assigned me to what is literally the furthest room away from the front of the hotel. If you like rooms with the really really really loud air-conditioners this is a hotel for you! If you want to be gouged for twice as much money as they're already overpriced vending machine charges to buy a 1.66 ounce Snickers bar at $2 come right out and stay at the Lathrop California Holiday Inn express! This roadside hotel has a good pool excellent general cleanliness and new and clean rooms at or above the current market price. The special nuance of overcharging me is priceless..

Room Tip: lower numbered rooms are farther away. Air conditioners are screamingly loud, do not expect to talk...
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomFromWorthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Dear TomFromWorthington,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and being an IHG Rewards Club member. We are pleased to read that you have regarded our rooms to be clean and pool to be excellent. On the other hand, we’re sorry if we fell below your expectation regarding the staff service at check-in. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional information. I hope to hear from you soon and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dianne L.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I like Holiday Inn Express's and if you look at my other reviews -- its rare for me to ding a hotel. But this hotel advertised itself as welcoming pets. So we booked a room at a reasonable rate of $125. Upon arriving -- I was told I would have to pay a $75 non-refundable fee for my dog. That is outrageous. I am used to seeing a $20-$25 fee for extra cleaning and that is fair. This was just a rip off. And the attitude of the front desk clerk was clear -- she didn't care. I am only staying because I have been driving for 12 hours. Will never stay here again. By the way, the room isn't that clean, the neighborhood isn't great. Drive on by

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADuckFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Hi LADuckFan,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Lathrop. I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay because of pet fee and the service you received from our staff. Our hotel is a pet friendly hotel and accepts dogs/cats but there is a non-refundable fee of $75 in your case for pets that are bigger. Every hotel is different with their own pet policy. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. Please be advice that this feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit in the area.

Sincerely,
Erika Juan
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Stopped here while traveling from Portland to Southern, CA after striking out in Stockton with no prior reservation. Eventually reached this hotel, but not until we encountered problem trying to make a reservation. Called the Hotel and was re-directed to Central Reservation which disconnected my call after 4-5 minutes on hold. Called back, insisted to speak with Mgr who once again tried to transfer me to same Central Reservation. I pushed back, explaining my prior experience and to her credit, assisted in taking our reservation. While we have no particular complaints about the accommodations, which we found acceptable, we were put off by the entry area just outside the front entrance which looked like it had not been cleaned in quite awhile. From this initial experience, we were naturally on guard, but pleasantly surprised that the interior public areas were clean as were the rooms. Warning....this hotel is located off Hwy 99 with easy 5 mile access to I/5. Overall, a decent place to stay if location is not a problem. Staff was pleasant and the free buffet breakfast better than average.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Hello Claude R, thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. I think there might have been a misunderstanding on which Holiday Inn Express & Suites you have stayed. Unfortunately, our hotel is not located on Hwy 99, we are right on Hwy 5. We all hope to have an opportunity to serve you on your next future visit in the area.

Sincerely,
Erika Juan
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Crew and I stayed here for business. A very nice hotel and a very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was quiet, clean and conveniently located. My room was spacious, clean and the bed was perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who asks.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear Gordon G.,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Lathrop. I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review regarding your stay. I'm glad to know you and your crew enjoyed your stay and found our rooms spacious and clean. Our staff strive to be the best and comments like yours shows they are achieving their goal. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Erika Juan
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

Ever thing about this trip was disappointing.
let's start with check in.
When we arrived we were greeted by NO ONE. After waiting several minutes two woman came from the back with their shirts untucked looking extremely unprofessional and seemed rather in a hurry to get us checked in and out of their way. With maintenance history I checked to insure all smoke alarms were in order and found that our smoke alarm had no battery and was not even plugged in thus useless in the event of a fire. I called down to the front desk and was told it's not a smoking room so there should be no smoke. Hmm well I guess if the building catches on fire no smoke will come to my room since it's a non smoking room. we were never given assistance with that issue so I plugged it in my self since the staff won't do their job. Also When our reservation was made we asked for the room with the spa inside right next to the bed as shown in advertisement. We were told it was available and that's what we were getting but instead we got a bath tub that made bubbles. we didn't bother and decided to make the best of it but Come to find out the tub didn't even work. We called that front desk and we're told they are checking one person in and they will be right up. That took over an hour and a half before any body showed up completely ruining the vibe of our night. Staff said they were not maintenance but could switch us to another room which took another half an hr. With our night ruined we went to bed disappointed with hopes of a morning swim but come to find out the next morning g the pool was a swamp. I've never seen a pool as dark green as this one in any place I've ever stayed. We checked out early and were not asked about our visit by staff or a manager for that matter. No thank you or nothing so we decided since we didn't receive good service in any other department we were not going to get it there put our luggage away and hit the road Sad to say but this visit was a complete waste of money and we will never ever be returning again to this hotel of disappointment

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Roadmasterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Roadmasterr,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Lathrop. I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay because of our pool and the service you received from out staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. Please be advice that this feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Once again, thank you for staying with us and apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit in the area.

Sincerely,
Erika Juan
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Pros:
Extremely friendly staff
Great location
Nice looking rooms and lovely grounds

Cons:
Noisy AC
Difficult to regulate temperature (and it gets HOT in Lathrop)
The bed was a bit uncomfortable

This hotel is nice, but the A/C kept waking us up everytime it turned on or off. We stayed here for access to the spa, but a large group over ran the pool/spa area with a large gathering. Breakfast is included, but didn't start until 6:30, but we needed to be at our morning destination before that.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnennimtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika J, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Dear Jnennimtz,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Lathrop. I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay because start hour for breakfast service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Once again, thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Erika Juan
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathrop
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lathrop
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca
9.0 km away
Best Western Plus Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
8.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Manteca
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Lathrop - Stockton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 15688 S Harlan Rd, Lathrop, CA 95330-9800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lathrop
Price Range: $157 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lathrop - South Stockton you’ll enjoy a hot tub and indoor pool among the many pleasing amenities our property features. Delight in waking up to complimentary Full Hot Breakfast Buffet with tea and coffee each morning. At our brand new Lathrop hotel, you can work out at a state-of-the-art fitness center. Perfect for work and meetings, you’ll be impressed by our well-equipped Business Center. For your comfort, our Northern California hotel is 100% non-smoking. Our interior corridor hotel is modern, and contemporary with efficient, friendly service and to promote a great night's sleep. Upgraded and de cluttered lobby areas, A Holiday Inn Express signature scent and sound, New exterior lighting and landscaping, New signage with the redesigned logo, All of our Holiday Inn employees recently went through an extensive "Stay Real" training program to ensure guest receive the level of service you expect. Our hotel’s newly enhanced complimentary Express Start® breakfast bar features a full range of breakfast items including a rotation of egg and meat selections, biscuits, yogurt, fruit and the brand’s proprietary cinnamon roll and Smart Roast® coffee. The SimplySmart™ shower incorporates a proprietary Stay Smart™ Kohler showerhead, signature shower curtain with curved rod, upgraded 100 percent cotton terry towels and a custom line of cinnamon-scented bath products. Guests will enjoy the SimplySmart™ bedding collection Refreshed Guest Room New bedding that redefines the look and feel of each guest room with fresh, white triple sheeting and pillows that come in two comfort levels: “soft” and “firm.” An enhanced bathroom that features an improved showerhead offering superior pressure, as well as a signature shower curtain with curved rod and new amenities to deliver a consistent bath experience that feels fresh and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lathrop
Best Western Lathrop
Lathrop Best Western
Best Western Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing