We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Joliet, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our room was dingy. The air conditioner/heater unit was extremely loud and did not blow any air. You'd think the cleaning crew or front desk staff would be aware of the fan situation and notify maintenance prior to guests checking in. Lack of air circulation resulted in a very stuffy and warm room. We kept the window open as long as possible, but closed and locked it when we tried to go go sleep. Had to turn on the radio for white noise. The toilet ran long after it was flushed. Bed was ok, but didn't make up for the rest of the room, overstuffed pillows, or the poor night's sleep we had. We didn't even bother with the breakfast.

Here's the kicker. There were motion sensors on the switches that control the lights in the room. When one of us got up in the middle of the night, all of the lights in the room and bathroom turned on. What's with that??

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the airport and we got a "good deal" by pre-paying through a website. I'd gladly pay double for a decent room elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestmama_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    103
    88
    32
    32
See reviews for
96
109
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Me and my husband had a paid reservation for 2 nights in this hotel. We arrived at 10 PM and the receptionist said there is a flood in some in the rooms and he doesn't know which rooms are empty (and this happened in the morning so the knew whole day but nobody called us or was thinking of relocating us before we arrive). So he was giving keys for different rooms to a hispanic guy to "check" - and I mean he really entered rooms one by one at 11 PM to check if there is person inside! After waiting for more than 2 hours and being a crowd of about 10 more guests (one of them a family with a baby) it turned out the hotel is full and there is nowhere for us to go. We made a huge scandal and by 2 AM we were relocated in another Best Western but they said we can stay only one night and after that we will be relocated again! After a lot of discussions they returned us the money for the second night and we paid the second night in the other hotel. There was no real apologies or anything. We are so pissed we are thinking about suing them. And by the way the receptionist is lazy, slow, stupid and very very rude!

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel ever! You may need to book another one at 1 or 2 AM even if they have confirm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preslava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lawndale hotels

Fort Worth, TX, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was booked here when weather canceled my flight. To be fair to the property I was only there like 6 hours. The shuttle driver was efficient, friendly and safe. The property was clean and well maintained. Everything I used worked. It's an older property and the bed was not very comfortable. I was tired, I slept well, but I don't know if I would prefer it for multiple nights. The pool looked nice but didn't have time to use it. They have WIFI and a desktop with internet in the lobby. It was ideal for my very short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We only stayed one night after a long flight, the hotel was just 15 minutes from the car hire pick up and easy to find off the freeway. The room was a nice size and well presented. The members of staff I interacted with were friendly and pleasent. Overall a typical Best Western Hotel that provided a good nights sleep followed by a nice buffet breakfast to set u up for the start of our vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel was is a typical Bestwestern, looks good on the outside, in a pretty good location for my business, reasonably priced, comfortable bed, quiet room with an exercise facility and pool. GREAT front desk staff, very friendly, knowledgeable of the area and restaurants and takes care of small problems PROMPTLY.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSBH, Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel. We strive to extend excellent service to go with our great product. By telling us what you liked about your stay you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.

Thank you again for taking time to complete the survey. We hope you will return and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Noel V. AZURIN
Customer Care Department
Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Without a guide, the TV/control is totally SCREWED. Any channel you press gets a snowy screen. Had to use the channel up and down for the whole stay. Even the displayed TV station had two systems of numbering. You need an interpreter! First time I've missed breakfast because it ended early @9:30.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank photous_passing_by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSBH, Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Please note that our provider upgraded their system recently and only allow stations that broadcasted digitally to be included in the list. There is an updated TV stations list on the compendium/blue binder on the work desk.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 310-973-0998.

Thank you.

Noel V. AZURIN
Customer Care Department
Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. There was an issue with noise coming from outside the hotel. I mentioned it to the front desk and left for a little while. After I came back to my room it was obvious that an employee from the hotel went into my room without my permission, while I was gone. Nothing was missing, so I assume that it was to identify the noise. It was very unusual that they didn't ask permission to enter the room.
I was switched to a different room due to the noise. The new room had un-flushed paper/cloth left in the toilet. There was a piece of paper placed across the toilet seat saying that it had been sanitized, despite not being flushed or clean. The hotel was absolutely not worth the price. I would recommend staying some place else.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frquentravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSBH, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to give a review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel. We would like to mention that there was a party being held outside of the hotel and the noise was coming from that direction. Nobody from the hotel staff entered your room. We value your business and will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawndale
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Lax/Lawndale
2.7 km away
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn
4.0 km away
Best Western Plus Gardena Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
7.5 km away
Best Western Airpark Hotel
Best Western Airpark Hotel
#6 of 32 in Inglewood
471 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Address: 15000 Hawthorne Blvd, Lawndale, CA 90260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lawndale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California located midway between Disneyland and Universal Studios offers comfortable and affordable accommodations including a complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet access, free airport shuttle service, a swimming pool and an exercise facility. The Best Western South Bay Hotel provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television, ample desk space and a refrigerator. Every morning guests at this Los Angeles area hotel are greeted with a complimentary continental breakfast. After a busy day, guests can enjoy a dip in the swimming pool or a workout at the on-site fitness center. Lawndale, California Hotel Location. The hotel is conveniently located 2 to 5 miles from Southern California beaches, midway between Disneyland(R) and Universal Studios(R). Come experience the hospitality and professional service at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California. Visitors to the Los Angeles Area find well-appointed accommodations at this upgraded, Lawndale hotel, only two miles from the beach. This Best Western hotel offers easy access to all the great attractions in the L.A. area including the Hollywood Racetrack and Casino, South Coast Botanical Gardens, the Los Angeles Zoo, Little Tokyo and China Town. Travelers will also find the hotel near the University of California and the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lawndale
Lawndale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing