We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages at Little River Cove
Ranked #4 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We didn't know what to expect when we booked at the Cottages, as we'd only ever booked up the street. Wow, were we pleasantly surprised! The cottage was immaculate and felt cozy with the gas fire, but we had a lot of room to spread out and it was very comfortable. The views were spectacular and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We'll definitely be back. We even found a new hike we'd never taken, thanks to Karen who works there.

Wish this hotel were listed on your site under Mendocino, since it's the same area. We had to hear about it via word of mouth to know enough to look up "Little River".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneL600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    31
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
80
125
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had such a lovely stay in our little cottage.. .the only problem.. it was just to short of a stay.
Kerin was wonderful to deal with, prompt and so friendly and even upgraded us to a cabin with a fabulous view. In addition, we were able to take advantage of their "last minute specials" on their website and got a GREAT rate.
The cabins... all I can say is fabulous. No fluffy interiors, all very updated with a warm fireplace (on when we arrived to welcome us), modern but not cold, and so well appointed with everything you would need to make a wonderful meal.
The grounds are gorgeous with killer views of the ocean. The firepit is an extra special touch. If we did not live so far away, we would be back often.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreland Hills, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My mom and I stayed here toward the end of our cross-country drive. What a beautiful place!!! The only down side is the winding roads you have to take to get there. We stayed in one of the cabins set back and still had great views.
When we arrived we were greeted by Karen, she was friendly and very helpful. We got settled and went to The Little River Inn for dinner.
During our stay we went into Mendecino to do some shopping. We had lunch at the Mendecino Cafe - we enjoyed it so much we had lunch there the next day too. We did stop at the market to buy food and wine for our cottage (it had an equipped kitchen).
We also took an afternoon and went to Point Cabrillo Lighthouse. Beautiful!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was our first time traveling with a pet. I can't imagine a nicer experience than we had here. Pets are genuinely welcomed and catered to. Our old dog is still talking about it ....
Even if I were not a "dog person" I would have been very comfortable. It's not as if you trip over animals all the time.

I think all the cottages are much alike except for size. Immaculate, clean, spare and well-equipped, they manage to hit all the high notes. We were in a smaller cottage but it was very spacious compared to our usual B&B experience. Weve loved the B&Bs for many years, but this place is something special. Views are worth the stay all by themselves, but there's so much more.

We appreciated the privacy of "no housekeeping" for a couple of days. it's nice not to try to plan your day around having someone working in the rooms.

The staff is warm and friendly and eager to please. We plan to see them next time we're in Mendocino.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisie2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We had an excellent stay at the cottages at Little River Cove the week before Christmas. The Staff is very concerned about their guest experience and seems to truly love what they do. We loved our cabin and enjoyed the common grassy area where our daughter was able to play with other children staying at the Cabins. Also, it is pet friendly which means a lot to a family enjoying a vacation with their pet. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the benches over looking the ocean with the gas fire pit and a glass of wine. There are some great hikes nearby and the staff is well informed about the things to do in the area, be it hiking, boating, shopping, etc. We look forward to our next visit! A great getaway from the Bay area for a nice weekend away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The perfect place to stay! This place is simply amazing, the views, the staff, the location, pet friendly (actually more than pet friendly - they are treated like family). The cottages are amazing, each individual cottage has just enough character to be different, but they are all clean, well equipped, quite, and private. Views of the pacific - just trust me on this one, unsurpassed!!! Wonderful landscaping, wildlife, and the fire-pit - lets just say its the perfect cozy place to gaze upon the ocean, read a book, sip wine, visit with friends or grill the perfect meal. The manager Scott Matthews, and staff (Karen - you are a rock-star) were extremely helpful to provide everything we needed and very knowledgeable of the area.

One additional note, the owner recently purchased another beautiful property close-by "The Inn at School House Creek". They are completing a major renovation and should be open very soon. We had the privileged of taking a personal tour of the new property and all I can say is "breath-taking" - we will be staying there next chance we get.

To the Cottages and Little River Cove, the staff, and owner - THANK YOU for a trip of a lifetime!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a great location! Quiet and private with great amenities! Very close to Mendocino Village and Van Damm State Park. The cottage was well kept inviting. Fantastic view from any cottage! Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
4.1 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
16.4 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
21.6 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.2 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Little River Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Little River Cove

Property: Cottages at Little River Cove
Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages at Little River Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Little River Cove are a haven for travelers who want to enjoy the best that the Northern California Coast has to offer. The unique property is situated high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Comprising 11 stand-alone cottages, the cozy, two-acre property is perfect for travelers who desire private accommodations, fireplaces, modern, full kitchens and baths, comfortable bedrooms and amazing ocean views. While our cottages are luxurious and our views are spectacular, we're still the best value on the Mendocino Coast. Come check us out soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottages at Little River Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Little River Cove Hotel Little River
Cottages At Little River Cove California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing