We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, old-fashioned mini-resort”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent three nights at this inn, and would not hesitate to recommend it. The rooms (we had one of the simplest ones) are unfancy but comfortably appointed. They all seem to have lovely views of the ocean. From our little deck we could see whales spouting offshore. There's tennis and golf, but, surprisingly, no fitness facility. Both the bar and restaurant are pleasant, and the service is excellent. My wife found a hair in her food, and the staff was appropriately horrified and apologetic. There seemed to be an unusual generational difference within the staff -- the younger people were amiable and helpful, where as the older people in the front office seemed uninterested, rather unfriendly, and even a bit surly. On balance, a very good, if somewhat flawed, hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WLG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed here many times and we have always enjoyed the experience. The rooms are gorgeous, the views are fantastic, the food is amazing and the service is first class. We visit the Spa everytime we come and I have to say that they offer the best massage I have ever had. Golf & tennis are top notch & the Sea Kayaks are a must. One of my favorite places to stay in California.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We went to celebtate our anniversary. I spent hours picking out the perfect place in Mendocino and decided upon the White Cottage . We planned our trip around the availability of the cottage. About 4 days before our reservation, I was contacted to say that our room had been changed due to the fact that there was construction going on nearby. I was assured that the room we had been given was "every bit as nice". When we checked in we found out we were not in a freestanding cottage, but in a room with a shared wall. There was, by the way, no adjustment in the price. The view from the room was spectacular, and that is the ONLY good thing I have to say. The room looked as if nothing had been updated since the 1970's. The furniture was old and damaged. The sheets were hospital quality and the elastic on the fitted sheets had lost it's snap. Because the sheets wouldn't stay put, you woke up with your face on a plastic mattress cover. Gross. We could hear our neighbor's every move. In the morning, when you wanted to sit on the deck and have coffee, you had to use the cheapest little coffeemaker they provided and they only supplied powdered cream. Really, if they can't afford new furniture can they at least have decent linens and coffee service. Amenities are better at a La Quinta. We were supposed to stay two night but left after one. The thought of waking up again with my face on plastic was too much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peggy2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

There are many good reasons to choose the Little River Inn.
• Great ocean views
• Good restaurant on site
• Room service
• Comfy beds
• Bar with ocean view
• Path down to beach and to hiking trail up a pretty creek
• DVDs/VHS/board games to borrow
• Gas station/well stocked market across the street
We were there for a special occasion- thank you for the card & chocolates on arrival.
Special thanks to Ben Patterson. Our deck view was lovely so we ordered room service dinner every night. Ben was our waiter. He volunteered to bring a card table so we could spread out and enjoy our meal together. Turned out to be a big plus- we had brought a favorite board game but decided there was not a good surface to play on. Ben left the table there for our whole stay. He made us feel so welcome every night- brought extras like horseradish, carafe of water with lemon slices, and a tablecloth (so our card table felt elegant); always with a genuine smile and not only with a can do attitude but also the thoughtfulness to offer extras. Thanks to Ben, the service was a cut above on this visit. Hope The Little River Inn knows what a fantastic employee they have in Ben.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeltonTraveler4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed five nights at the Little River Inn in January '12. This place was exactly what they advertised both online and on the phone. A beautiful view of the ocean, wood burning fireplace (with wood replaced daily), an oversized bathroom, gourmet restaurant, and a very nice bar. We would explore Mendocino and Fort Bragg during the day (both quite close) and usually have dinner in the restaurant at the hotel. The staff were wonderful and helpful. Although we don't play, there was a very nice golf course behind the hotel.

This is a hidden gem and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTravelingGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We drove into Little River Inn not expecting there to be any vacancies......thankfully there was! The welcome we got from the ladies on the front desk made us feel like family returning home. The bedroom was exceptionally clean, well decorated / furnished. There was a wide choice of meals on the menu for dinner in the restaurant - which turned out to be both delicious and excellent value (the fact that all the tables were occupied says it all!!).
Finally, what made The Little Inn an excellent place to stay in was the fact that we were able to sit on the verandah, drinking a glass of wine, reading, then watching the sun set on the Pacific Ocean. Bliss!

Room Tip: All have ocean views. Our room on the second floor was one of the basic rate ones.......so shared ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acrosstheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Midway through a road trip spent mostly in functional chain hotels, the Little River Inn was an absolute delight. Not least because our room opened onto a lovely decking area, which looked straight out to the ocean just a few yards away. After a busy day (which I know most people who stay here won't have had), being able to sit with a cold one and watch the sun go down was bliss. To make things even better, the restaurant was very good and - if you don't want to splash out on that - so were the bar meals. And Mendocino, with a decent selection of alternative eating places, is only five minutes drive away. Overall - a very nice place in a great location, with a warm welcome.

Room Tip: Not sure if they all have ocean views. Might be worth checking to make sure yours does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
17.5 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
632 reviews
3.8 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
21.3 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
632 reviews
16.1 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
3.5 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: $241 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort
Little River Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing