We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
69
83
46
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
83
46
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen basketball court breakfast spread own bathroom parking lot longer stay living area rooms are large orange county first floor sofa bed pool and hot tub free breakfast would definitely stay here again up to date freeway loft
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 239 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

The hotel itself is a great hotel. BUT the front desk staff can do a better job anticipating the needs of their guests - like asking if the guest needs lotion or a dishwashing liquid since these items are not provided in the room. This would save time for their guests to call or go to the front desk. And it would also help for the front desk person not to be grouchy when a guest asks for more than 1 lotion - they do give you what you’re asking for but their facial expression and body language tell a different story. Also, having the shampoo, conditioner and body wash in containers in the bathroom is an accident waiting to happen as these containers could be sabotaged (i.e., someone could add bleach or other harmful chemicals in these containers). My advise to guests is to bring your own shampoo, conditioner and soap so you won’t have to second guess yourself about using what’s in those containers in the bathroom.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank 533minniei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Manager at Residence Inn Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the our hotel and wonderful spacious suites. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay!

Kind Regards,

Mark Hammerbeck
Assistant General Manager
(562)595-0909

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

In early July we stayed for almost 2 weeks at this location on E. Willow in Long Beach. We were in the area for relocation purposes. Check in went smoothly and I must say, the staff at the front desk was always polite and were attentive. We were satisfied with our room as the maid did a great job each day and always greeted us warmly. (Even the maintenance men were friendly!) The wifi, bed, tv, bath area, and kitchen area were up to par as most of these hotels in this chain. Unfortunately the room was on the lower floor and the noise upstairs was very bad on many of the nights. While there, thought we would be able to spend time at the pool, but it was always packed, loud, and seemed to have car loads of people who used it, some who did not seem to have accommodations at the hotel. Not once did we go to the pool. The food for complimentary breakfast was fine, but maneuvering about was near impossible. It was packed with people! There were bare-feet guests, some using their hands for their granola rather than spoons, etc. I, personally, stopped going for breakfast. Another issue was safety. If alone I did not feel safe walking around outside of my room on many occasions, especially after dark. The property was well lighted and fenced but did not feel safe and was honestly afraid of some of the other guests. It was a rough crowd. Thought I would be able to walk a few blocks here or there but did not feel safe. If I visit the Long Beach area I would not stay here again but hope to continue to visit other Residence Inn's in other areas. I give three stars because our room was adequate, maid superb, and front desk attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Manager at Residence Inn Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Hammerbeck
Assistant General Manager
(562)595-0909

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for four days, and found the accommodations very nice and the staff even nicer. However they use lots and lots of plastic, bottles, and cans and apparently have no recycling capacity. When we asked about where to put our glass bottles, they apologized, but said to put them in the trash, as they do not recycle.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

So, part of my frustration is the realization that businesses now seem to think that they are doing the customers a FAVOR by providing a service or product. There must be a dozen hotels near LGB.
That said, I picked this hotel due to a previous positive experience, and a shuttle. When I landed at LGB, I was told that there is no shuttle, so I ad to take a cab (yes, they covered the fare, but it unnecessarily pissed off the cabbie - can’t say I blame him).
Next issue is out of the control of the hotel, but the power will be out overnight, and it is HOT here. Lucky me.
Now, there are signs all over saying that this is a nonsmoking hotel, and despite that, my neighbors are most definitely smoking ... just not tobacco. Grrr.
There were two people working the desk, a girl who was working pretty hard, and a skinny guy who was on the phone when I checked in, and was still on the phone when I came back 15 minutes later. I didn’t get any sense that he was a go-getter.
I’m kind of feeling like I should have been offered a room at another Marriott. In fairness, I didn’t say anything because the girl was working pretty hard. Soured my opinion of this place, though.
One last thing, I was concerned that I was in the wrong room because although I checked in on the app at 10:00 this morning, the “Welcome, XXX” name on my TV was not mine.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Manager at Residence Inn Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback from your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for the second time a few weeks ago. The first time was over a year ago. In both cases I had nothing but a great stay at this place. The facilities are well kept and during the day you can see a small army of housekeepers diligently going about their business keeping everything in order. The staff is very friendly ad well.

In between these two stays, I had another trip where I stayed at the place right next door. It wasn't that much cheaper but it was a really really bad experience. So don't bother booking that place just to save a few bucks from what you'd pay at this Residence inn.

I took one star of my review because they could make some improvements to the breakfast buffet, particularly the scrambled eggs. They really should get their mix (as it's obviously not cooked from scratch) from another vendor, as they don't taste great at all. The rest of the food items are good, and they always have sive decent coffee available at the lobby area, should you run out of coffee on your room.
Unlike the place next door, the kitchen is stocked with pots, pans and basic china and utensils.
I'd recommend that if you're a light sleeper you request a room away from the pool area.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews