We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Long Beach
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Rates are a little high when you include the hotel tax, parking fee $17 per day. Room is nice, coffee maker with Starbuck's and tea in room. Two shower heads, They only give you 1 robe for the room. Staff is pleasant. Room safe in the room. Room size is typical for a hotel room. Easy walking distance to the wharf. There is a store that has $1 per book near the wharf. Beds were nice if you like them soft. The other reviews were right about the hotel, but you can only park for a limited time on the street with the meters. They have a nice exercise room, but the pool is very small with a small spa.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was the beginning of a 2 week family vacation in Southern California and was only planned as quick and convenient stop into the area after a long day of travel. The location was superb.

As a long time SPG Member (Lifetime Platinum), this was exactly what we needed. Our rooms were ready upon arrival, it had the extra bed in it already completely made up, we had plenty of space for our family of 5. Parking and access to our vehicle was easy and there was plenty of shopping nearby.

Thanks to Marc Choplick and his staff for making sure everything was just right and it was a great stay, with no unexpected surprises.

Room Tip: Great location, close to everything - nice to see plenty of stores and restaurants to choose from cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scratchcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I'm a Starwood fan and staying at various properties during the course of a year. Normally I like Westins but this one is sub par compared to others I have tried.

Location is pretty good though, walking distance to the marina and lots of other attractions.

The best thing with this hotel was the room. Nothing fancy though, everything just worked and it had a good vibe to it.

Staff not so friendly, both check in and check out involved grumpy staff.

And, what is up with the temperature in the lobby?It's like they had the ac set to 60 degrees, we were all freezing (and we're not the type of people that normally need a sweater).

I would rate this a 2, but the comfortable room drags it up to a 3 rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birddogilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This hotel has no modern amminites. This is a large property that is in need of some TLC. Dont pay an outragous rate to stay here ot you will be disappointed. Parking is a hastle and they charge. They will try to charge you for random stuff so watch your check out charges closley. They did waive the sneaky charges when I brought it to their attention but beware. Long Beach is so far from L.A. so I would not stay here if I was planning an L.A. trip as the commute can be crazy at times. I stayed here on 4th of July and walked to the Pier. It was within walking distance and that was nice considering that Long Beach charges for parking everywhere. There are quite a bit of chain restraunts within a mile or so. This is great for family of business but there was nothing romantic about it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view if they have it but dont pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked this hotel by mistake. Travelling from Australia, we wnated a few days in a beach hotel near LA, before taking the kids to Anaheim.
Surprise, surprise.....it isn't a beach (technically).
However, we are so glad we booked here. We were truly amazed by the facilities and local attractions.
This was a mistake I am glad we made.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were welcomed and located in our room very promptly with a gracious staff. The room was made up as if by magic every day. The restaurant/bar offered a nice selection of fine tasting food. The hotel is within walking distance of the waterfront with fine array of restaurants, water recreation, a lighthouse and a boardwalk. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Any room is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAH6145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Was there for spur of moment weekend with family for beach and shopping and decided to go with Westin Long Beach. It appears to be convenient on map to beach and from reviews great location for shopping and sites but looks can be deceiving. Access to beach is not easy from hotel and we had to use car. Its also not the prettiest beach in socal. The Pike and nearby Pine Ave district is within walking distance and there are closer hotels if that is your preference. the Westin is directly across the street from the Performing Arts Center and convention center which would be convenient for those visitors. Hotel has a nice entry/lobby. Cgheck in was efficient and our room was spacious with nice tall ceilings on top floor. Used the gym and had decent equipment but the pool was budget motel size with no towels and way too small with not enough chairs. Self parking is $$18/night and spaces are tight and confusing we were on a slow night. My biggest complaint is that during checkout I assumed they charged me twiced for Wi-Fi which is already a rip-off. The front desk informed that no there policy is that since I have an I-pad and an I-phone they charge a per device fee. Their Wi-Fi was already slow to begin with so this was really irritating and I will not stay at this Westin again.

Pros:

- Location for convention center, performing arts center
- tight parking spots

Cons

- Wi Fi fees $9.95 per Device!!!!!!!
- tight parking

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miker422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
2,597 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,349 reviews
0.3 km away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.5 km away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.6 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
6,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Address: 333 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $189 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing