We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly Staff make you feel right at home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Long Beach
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed 12 August 2015

My Son and I stayed at this hotel while attending the World Championships of Performing Arts in July of 2015. The rooms were clean and spacious. Housekeeping did a great job, daily.

This hotel is perfectly located. It is within walking distance to the harbor, restaurants, attractions, and shopping.

We ate at the hotel restaurant (The Grill) almost daily, as we had a 10 day stay. The food was always excellent. It was fresh, hot, and tasty. My personal favorite was the Shrimp Salad. It came with 5 broiled & seasoned Jumbo shrimp on a bed of mixed salad greens, tomatoes, and parmesan cheese with a light citrus vinagrette dressing. DELICIOUS! The wait staff were exceptionally friendly, and we got to know several of them, quite well, over the course of our stay. While it did take quite some time to receive our food, in most cases, I believe that it was due to the fact that they were so busy the entire time that we were there. The hotel was SOLD OUT for the entire time we were there and most of the patrons were there for the same event.

We stayed very busy during our stay, so we did not use the pool or the exercise room. Therefore, I can not say how either of those were...

The only problem that we ran into, was that 2 of the elevators broke down a couple of times. However, they were being used quite heavily! Keep in mind that this was a SOLD OUT week and the hotel was filled with Performers and their Families.

The small store in the lobby area was quite pricey, but there are plenty of shopping outlets within walking distance that are much more reasonably priced.

I also should mention that, though I loved the hotel restaurant, THE GRILL, the breakfast buffet was quite pricey. It was over $20 per person. Needless to say, we did not partake. Rather than eating there for breakfast, we chose to go to "301 Cafe", located right across the hotel courtyard. Breakfast was freshly made there, Monday - Friday. ( They are closed on weekends.) This little cafe came in quite handy! The food was prepared to order. Everything was tasty, fresh, and hot! There is limited indoor seating, but plenty of outdoor seating in the courtyard.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor side room and you'll have a view of The Queen Mary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Thank you for staying with us! We hope you have a future stay in line so that we may have another chance to surprise and delight you with our stellar service. Safe travels and be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2015

I stayed one night here a few months ago, and in general the hotel is as good as any other Westin. It's a nice location in downtown Long Beach, and if you get a room with a view on a high floor, it's great. The rooms are cookie cutter Westin rooms, but they are large and comfortable with adequate bathrooms. I would not go out of my way to stay here, but if I need a place to stay in Long Beach, I would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

We appreciate your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time with us. Should you find yourself in Long Beach please do consider staying with us again so that we may have another chance at meeting and exceeding your expectations. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

This was my 3rd stay at this property and the hotel staff was one of the best I've seen. The valet not only parked out car but recomended a great dinner spot. The front desk person was extremely friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. I'll be back many more times.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
Thank Carrsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

We appreciate your choosing to stay with us. We know there are many lodging options in Long Beach and are humbled by your decision. Please visit us soon so that we may meet and exceed your service expectations again. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Checked in and out within 10 minutes because the pool wasn't open and they didn't even tell us. They wanted us to walk 2 blocks to use the Courtyard Marriott's pool. I, for one, do not want my 9 year old son crossing the street to use a hotel pool! In the parking garage, the elevator was out of order and the button was on the other side of the elevator. The staff handled our disappointment very well by telling us their reservation specialist would contact Expiedia for our refund because Expiedia's hold time was 59 minutes! Luckily the Courtyard Marriott had rooms available which is where we are right now.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

We appreciate your honest feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for your stay. We try our best to notify room booking outlets of renovations and space updates and in this case you were not properly notified of our pool and gym closures. Although we were not able to meet and exceed your expectations please rest assure that we are working diligently to finish our workout facility renovations so that future guests may enjoy their stay completely. Thank you for your time and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I stayed here the week of August 3, 2015. This place is dark, not customer friendly, super expensive, sad breakfast $22, Bad parking. They really do not care for clients or customers. Look at the non existence fitness dump! Please stay away from this place. The only nice staff were the concierge. Avoid this place. I will not go back even if they give me a free stay. Only stay here if you like to pay for everything at very high price. Otherwise, save your money for a good place that may care for customers.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding our current pool and workout facility renovation. We hope to have these very important amenities up and running in the next few weeks so that future guests may enjoy their stay fully. Again, we are truly sorry for what you have experienced and hope to have another chance to meet and exceed your expectations in the future. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This was our first time staying at this property. The customer service in all areas is excellent, especially for a "chain" hotel. I would have give 5 stars had some of the food been better quality. The restaurant is hit or miss. Some items were good, some not so good. But this place is worth every penny for such excellent attentiveness from all of the staff.

Also, as of when I stayed (August 7th-9th) the pool was being redone, so it is not available. It is supposed to be back in commission by the end of August.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank misspop77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the minor inconvenience you experienced regarding our pool and gym. We are taking some time to reinvigorate and refresh our workout facilities and hope you will return to enjoy the new space. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Hotel pool, deck and pool furniture was FILTHY. I complained to the front desk person, and was told they were getting ready to renovate the pool. I don't care. That's no excuse for not cleaning the deck and furniture, for not keeping the water clean instead of allowing it to get green & cloudy. Also, the pop machines were "Sold Out" on every floor we checked until we gave up. Robe in the room had make-up on it. There's no fridge, those are "coolers" and they don't keep anything cold. Only hotel I've been to in the past 10 years that still charges for Wi-fi. Air conditioning was out for most of a day, due to the chillers needing repair. Apparently ALL the chillers went out at the same time.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the best view, but....really...just choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Janna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Please accept our sincere apologies for your stay. What you have mentioned is not a clear representation of the Westin brand. Please rest assure that your comment is being looked at by our management team in order to make the proper adjustments and changes so that future guests may enjoy their stay fully. Thank you for your time and honest feedback. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
2,610 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,365 reviews
0.6 km away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
781 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.6 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
6,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Address: 333 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $222 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing