We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, however”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Long Beach
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Very good, but: check in/check out much too long, restaurant highly over-prized, bar ok, - if Mr. Hermie is on duty. Very good room standard. Lifts not to reliable, excellent reception, the gentlemen at the entrance are doing a marvellous job indeed, front hall very good, reception desk can learn a lot.

Room Tip: take rooms far away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank froehmcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

As a business traveler, the simple fact that I have to pay to use the business center (as a paying guest) is beyond ridiculous. I would understand if this was a Motel 6, and the management was trying to turn a profit. But hustling guests in a Westin is completely unexpected, and not suitable of an SPG property.

Room Tip: Elite status gets you an upgrade to a smoking room. : /
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthew/Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hello Matthew/Nikki P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We certainly appreciate your candid insight regarding the additional cost for business center use. Though we certainly offer complimentary lobby WiFi access to all of our valued registered guest, free use of the business center is not an option. We will most certainly evaluate your feedback. We trust that, outside of business center, your stay with use was pleasant.

Warmest regards,

Michael Singleton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Travel for work stayed at the Westin Long beach. The room had a very musky odor. It was a large room with plenty of space. It just seemed very dated and I was unsure if the scent was coming from the carpets or the walls. We sat in the bar area and there was a scary man walking around who decided to fixate himself on my friend. We called over the hostess and she quickly came over and he left. Good location near the beach and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meganahigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Hotel_Manager, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hello Meganahigdon,

Thank you for the time to provide this feedback and for staying at the Westin Long Beach. We are disappointed to know that your stay wasn’t what you expected it to be. We have addressed this issue regarding the room and your experience at the bar. We sincerely apologize for the issues which compromised the quality of your stay. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to Jeff Bonds at to discuss further how we can ensure your next stay is a positive experience 562-499-3306.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

as we fly around and stay in deferent hotels we start to recognize small things
what i love about westin are the concierge especially me Osmin he always helps the crew and go the extra mail
as we are from different cultures and backgrounds we ask for advices and directions and he is a good trusted man

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank hasan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This is a good hotel, There are not scary people coming in off the street, as a couple of these reviews suggested. The swimming pool is small--and therefore ideal for kids most of the time. It wasn't at all crowded during our stay, Good location,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BorgoBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Nice hotel, well maintained and close to restaurants and bars.
Stayed here a few times for work.
The rooms are updated and clean, the staff are friendly and its right next door to the office.
They have ample amenities for businesses travels or vacationers.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My daughter booked a block of rooms at this hotel for her wedding back in March of 2017 for dates in January of 2018. She signed the contract for the rooms on March 16, 2017 but broke off her engagement one week later. When we called to see if we could cancel the contract they refused and are holding us responsible for the $9,807.33 guarantee, even though they clearly had over 9 months to book the rooms, and could have booked them at a higher rate than the "deal" they gave us. I'm sure they wanted us to pay that amount and cancel so they could double book the rooms. We refused to release the rooms since we have to pay for them. We're thinking of having a big party and letting all of our friends stay free, but needless to say, it's a sad day for my daughter so I don't know if anyone will be in a celebratory mood. I feel like they were very heartless about the whole situation. If anyone knows someone getting married in Long Beach on the weekend of January 26, 2018....we've got a great rate on 30 rooms for the 26th and 27th.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank kings4queens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Hotel_Manager, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello Cindy,

Thank you for voicing out your concerns. We were hoping to have a follow up conversation in regards to your decision to either cancel or keep your block which unfortunately did not occur before this post. Please know that our management team is aware of your circumstance and are working hard to come to a solution that is both fair to you our valued customer and to our hotel. Please look forward to hearing back from your dedicated sales manager Dean Oribello to follow up on your previous discussions. If for any reason you do not hear back in a timely manner we ask that you call (562) 499-2009. Again thank you for your time and understanding.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
2,595 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,346 reviews
0.3 km away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.5 km away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.6 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
6,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Address: 333 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $182 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing