We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Pre-cruise night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

OK, booked a 4 night cruise on the Carnival Splendor and was searching options, and found that the Hotel Maya (A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel) had a great rate and even a deal on leaving the car at the Hotel during the cruise (You can find the full details at TA's sister company, the Cruise Critic Boards).

Since it was Super Bowl Sunday, we got there early, and they had a room available, so checked in and then took the free Shuttle system, the Long Beach Transit Passport System, a group of buses that run frequently in the main tourist areas of Long Beach. Runs frequently and there is a stop right near the front desk inside the Hotel's parking lot. This way we had a chance to go watch the big game and have a few adult beverages and didn't have to worry about driving after the game.

Then we used the free Hotel Shuttle service to and from the Long Beach Cruise Port, which is next door to the Queen Mary and close to the Hotel Maya. (The shuttle driver, Gopal, was excellent and friendly).

The Hotel is Non-Smoking, but has a couple of nice "smoking areas", one on the waterfront, and one near the Front Desk (Hookah Lounge - Outdoors).

The grounds are very nice, and right along the waterline.

The Hotel is a series of multi-story towers.

The room itself (I did pay a bit extra for an upgraded room when you look at the photos) was very nice, well themed, flat screen TV, large rooms and all come with a Balcony, or a patio on the ground level. Beds were comfy, the coffee maker is a Keurig, they provide basic coffee and decaf, but you can always bring your own K-cups if you prefer speciality coffees, cocoa or tea. Small fridge was in the room, but no microwave. Free WiFi that worked well and had a decent speed level. Tolietries were Crabtree and Evelyn.

Had breakfast at Fuego, their restuarant, great service, the food was fairly good, though a bit pricey.

Will be happy to recommend this Hotel to anyone that needs to stay in the Long Beach area.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the water, and IMHO, worth paying for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darkbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thank you for your very detailed comments. I will pass along your comments to Gopal. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to spend some quality time at Hotel Maya again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Don't let the secret out... This is the place to stay in Long Beach. I love the decor, the pool, and the fitness path just outside. Only concern is that once a day you smell an aromatic odor - I assume from the drilling rigs down the harbor.

Love it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Thank you...we want the secret to get out. :) come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I'm not really the "hotel as destination" sort, but the Maya may have changed my mind. Granted the decor might be a bit over the top, but in a fun way - I really did feel transported to an exotic destination. The grounds were lovely, the view of Long Beach fantastic, and the breakfast buffet was excellent.
The room was spacious, bed comfortable with good linens and plenty of pillows, and the bathroom lovely, though the glass pocket door took a bit of getting used to.
This is not a traditional highrise Doubletree, but rather a resort style complex of individual buildings, and although they had a golfcart available to transport guests and their luggage, we found it easier to walk - but I can understand how this might put some folks off.
We didn't have dinner at their restaurant because there are so many options in the area, all easily accessible by a free shuttle, but it was very pretty and looked to be doing a good business.

Room Tip: Although the views by the pool are great (building 4) , I imagine the rooms can be noisy in peak sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your comments....thrilled you were able to enjoy the hotel so much and our tropical resort feel. We are actually building a man made beach this year so come back again and relax on the beach with a cocktail and enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spent a Thanksgiving weekend at this property using a Travelzoo voucher, a return visit for us. Love the location...tranquil, with a lovely view of Long Beach across the water. Unhappy about the extreme musty, moldy stench in the room and with a deflating dinner on the property of coarsely prepared entrees, greasy sides, cloying desserts that appeared to have sat in the fridge too long.
Particularly bad taste in the mouth following two attempts to engage the hotel manager, an email, then a fax, neither of which was answered.
Loved our first visit under previous management; felt a more corporate, less intimate, less genuinely caring vibe during recent visit under new management.
Had previously recommended highly as a near-to-home vacation getaway. Would be reluctant to do so any longer.

Room Tip: Check out the room and make sure it isn't moldy before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eitanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your comments in regards to your Thanksgiving stay. As I return every email and have not received any from a guest over Thanksgiving, I am not sure who you may be writing to but perhaps it is the wrong person. Feel free to email me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com and we can discuss your stay. It certainly does not seem to be the normal experience as evidenced by the rest of tthe reviews so we certainly want to address immediately. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

For being rated number 4 of 47 hotels, we were not impressed. Dated appearance, worn, dingy carpet, but with a premium price. Nice front desk people, great bar service and personnel, and close to cruise dock. Not impressed for the price paid. Have stayed at DTs elsewhere and have always been pleased. This location, not so much.
Also, this location is so loud by its echo chamber design, that they supply ear plugs.
In one word, this hotel is "serviceable".
Rated poor, rather than average, due to the cost/value ratio.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Realcouplereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your comments. As I have said in previous reviews, we are not for everyone. If you are used to a typical DoubleTree, you may not like us. We are a boutique style tropical resort in Long Beach and not a standard Doubletree business hotel. We were completely renovated in 2009 and won numerous design awards however not everyone likes the open air experience. I think if you return in the summer when the pool and water sports activities are in full swing, you may have a different opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great view of the downtown Long Beach skyline. Very quiet inspite of all the activity around the hotel.

Room Tip: Building 3 on the 3rd floor provided a nice view of the Queen Mary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG620LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Glad you enjoyed your Birthday stay! Come back and stay again soon.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel Maya, proir to leaving on a cruise. We were looking for a place to feel pampered & relaxed before leaving & we got it.
We reserved a king room with balcony and water view. At check in they had us in a 2nd floor room so I asked if we could move to a higher floor for a better view. The young woman at the desk was very accomodating & offered us a 5th floor room in building 2. We accepted & went to our room. The room was very nice & spacious with a good view of Queen Mary, but a wall (that makes the balcony private) blocked our view of Long Beach & the rest of the harbor. After looking around a bit my husband decided a room just a bit to our left would give the view we wanted so he called the front desk and asked. Again, very accomodating & sent a bellman to meet him and allow him to view a couple of rooms. He chose a room on the fourth floor, building 2 that had a wonderful view.
The rooms are very open & simple but nice. The bed was soft & comfortable without being mushy. There is a desk with a reading lamp & data connection (if you need it), otherwise there is wi-fi. We were going on vacation "unplugged" so we didn't have a laptop to try the connection.
There is a Keurig coffee maker on the desk with a sampling of coffees. This is our first experience with this type of cofffee maker & we liked it. Very simple, hot coffee with good flavor & fast. Very nice touch.
There are bathrobes for your use, they were a bit scratchy, but otherwise nice. We used them to keep warm while we sat on the balcony & watched the lights on the harbor.
In room safe worked fine. Just big enough to put our video camera & wallets in.
Bathroom has a very nice rainfall type shower head, plenty of hot water. Nice plush towels. Hair dryer in bathroom also. Small vials of shampoo, conditioner & lotion and small bars of soap. All smelled nice. I didn't try them since I really prefer my own. I do like the hand lotion, which I did try. The only thing that would have made the bathroom nicer would be more counter or shelf space to set hair dryer/flat iron/make-up, etc while getting ready. Oh, and the bathroom door was...interesting (see photo). It was enough privacy for hubby & I, but with kids would have been just a tiny bit awkward. There is a 1" gap when the door is closed, and the door is all glass. Blocked out, but shows shadows.
The floors & walls feel very solid. We did not hear any noise from the rooms around us.
Large flat screen tv was nice, we watched a quick tv show in bed before turning in for the night.
We paid to park our car there while on our cruise ($17/day). I know this is more expensive than most, but the parking lot is gated, and we didn't want to try to navigate the cruise terminal. It was worth it to be shuttled to & from the cruise terminal. We scheduled our departing shuttle when we checked in. The driver gave us a hotel business card & we simply called once we were off the ship & the shuttle arrived within 7 minutes & returned us directly to our car.
We didn't use any of the other services so I can't say what they are like.
We enjoyed our stay here & would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 2407, in bldg 2 on the fourth floor has a beautiful view of the Queen Mary, cruise ship termina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsMommaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thanks for staying with us. I am glad you found the perfect view...I couldnt have described it better myself. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,497 reviews
0.9 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,299 reviews
1.0 km away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,284 reviews
1.7 km away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
919 reviews
1.3 km away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $247 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing