We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the numerous good reviews before booking, but the hotel is just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Of Long Beach
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We just got back from Long Beach and stayed at this hotel, so my feelings about it are still fresh. It's just an average hotel. Nothing special, so you get what you pay for.

Let's start with the pros:

- Good nightly rate
- Lobby is clean
- Breakfast is included
- Free secure parking
- Free WIFI with a decent signal
- Good long list of TV channels, including HBO!
- Air conditioning worked!

Now for the Cons:

- The walls and ceiling feel very thin. We stayed on the 2nd floor (which is the lowest floor despite requesting a higher floor when we booked online) and we could hear every single footstep and door from the room upstairs. It was unbearable at times, and was very disturbing late at night.

- Breakfast was simple. There were eggs and sausage, but nothing was good. Just good enough for a quick bite. The coffee was not very good, and they kept running out of milk every morning around 9:00am.

- There is only one elevator, so expect long waits for it in the morning. We waited 10+min on the morning of checkout because we had luggage. There was no air conditioning in the hall ways, so waiting for the elevator was a very uncomfortable experience.

- The pillows at this hotel were some of the worst I've every slept on. My kids rather sleep with no pillow than use their lumpy and hard pillows. My wife complained of neck pain from their pillows.

Other Notes:

- If you are staying here to access attractions in LA or Disneyland, note that it's a long drive to those locations, especially with LA traffic. Expect about 30-40min to Disneyland in the morning, and 40+min to attractions in Los Angeles

- This hotel is close to Long Beach and there are many fast food restaurants around the area.

- Close to the convention centre, but you'll still need to drive or take the Metro.

- The area seems generally safe for families, but we didn't see many pedestrians except for those people waiting at the Metro station across from the hotel

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor possible and facing away from the Metro line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanBq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesandhu, Manager at Best Western Of Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for the detail review, we appreciate you sharing so much you experience during your stay with us, due to structural limitations we were not able to add extra elevator we apologize for the wait, for future guest please do keep in mind the elevator serves 4 floors and can be busy during check out time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

On Friday, August 18th, the hotel desk personnel (Dave) refused to provide shuttle transportation from the Long Beach airport to the hotel when we arrived . My husband I called the desk at 4:40 pm and stated we arrived and had our baggage. We made three phone calls attempting to get shuttle service to the hotel as it is explained on the Best Western Long Beach website. (Shuttle service is available until 5 pm) On the first call my husband was placed, he was placed on hold for over 5 minutes before he hung up. The second call, I called and was told, "My shuttle driver went home for the day." I explained that we were expecting transportation as it is posted on the facility website. Dave suggested a taxi, Uber, etc. My husband and I discussed this. On the third phone call, my husband asked if the hotel will pay for the transport. Dave replied, "No." We asked why and he stated that we used a third-party booking site (Bookit.com) and that the priority for transporting passengers were for customers who booked directly with Best Western. At this point, my husband and I obtained transportation to the hotel and discussed it with the front desk. We were told the same explanation. It is important that the information posted on the website fully explain this to customers before they make reservations. If we knew this, we would have selected another hotel that provides shuttle service. (The cancellation policy states that we would be charged if we did not cancel by Thursday, August 17, 2017.) As a result, we will be confirming transportation policies with hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank bradbern57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesandhu, Manager at Best Western Of Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

I like to apologize for the inconvenience, we are working to improve guest experience and looking into options on how to make the policies a bit more visible for guest to prevent this from affecting future guest, the hotel shuttle hours of operations are from 7:00 AM to 5:00 PM based on availability to accomplish this schedule we accept the last call for pick up at 4:30 PM, so the driver can be at hotel by 5:00 PM to honor the last shuttle drop off this is regardless on the channel our guest choose to make reservations, we do not differentiate third party guest from others, we provide same level of service and respect to all of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Best Western is my "go to" hotel! Whenever I can I look for BW because of their good value and great experience. Having breakfast is definitely a plus! The Long Beach BW has gone "green" and I appreciate them going the extra mile to be efficient and environmentally friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank loridJ5230DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesandhu, Manager at Best Western Of Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

We are a proud to implement green policies to better our world, we thank you for noticing and letting us know you appreciate the green efforts at the property. We are delighted to know Best Western is your to go chain hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

A nice clean hotel. Good internet, good cable TV, comfy bed, and bedding. The rooms have plenty of electrical plugs for laptops and charging smart phones. The front desk personnel are professional and friendly. The lobby is very nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank tomfineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesandhu, Manager at Best Western Of Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for your review, we enjoy learning about guest experience and how we can improve, we appreciate you recognizing the staff efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed in that hotel during a business trip. Rooms were clean and the size of the rooms was quite big. Breakfast was enough and good. I have stayed other hotels in USA but the breakfast was not so good.
Also hotel has a swimming pool. If you want to use it, the area around the swimming pool was fine.
I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Tuğba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesandhu, Manager at Best Western Of Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendation of hotel, we appreciate your time and effort to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I originally chose this hotel because it was cheaper than a lot more local hotels which appear to feed off the tourists who embark and disembark from the cruise ships at Long Island. It is also near a stop on the light rail which runs along the centre of the street. You can take a train from LA airport and change to the light rail without any difficult. YThere are also good connections to points of interest in LA such as Hollywood.In the event family members ferried us around so we didn't use the transport systems at all.
I would have given five stars to this Hotel if their foyer area had been a little better. Also, work was being carried out on some floors which we weren't told about. There was no noise factor but the painters were busy when we arrived and had to move stuff out of our way so we, our cases and our retinue could get to our room.
The room was lovely, no view but it was large and containedthe two King beds we asked for. Tea and coffee available; shower was good but over the bath - not suitable for everyone. Breakfast was included in the price. The breakfast room was overseen by two staff members who worked unobtrusively. The tables and breakfast site were extremely clean with immediate response by staff when spillages occurred. Food was good - a hot buffet, large variety of cereals and pastries and even a waffle maker. my partner had a hot breakfast which he enjoyed. It looks as if there is also complimentary afternoon tea available in the foyer - we were not aware of this so perhaps staff can advertise this a bit more.
There is a large underground car park available to guests and also a smaller outside area for visitors. Charges would need to be investigated.
I found all the staff friendly and welcoming and I think if the tired looking foyer was improved it should receive a 'Plus' upgrade from the hotel inspectors. There is heaps of room to give it the grand entry it deserves and could possibly be a welcome treat for the hardworking staff.
All in all, a good hotel, well priced and close to shops, restaurants and transport. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ScrabbleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesandhu, Manager at Best Western Of Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

We are exited to know how much you experience while staying with us, we appreciate the level of detail in your review, this will clear perspective for future guest, we are happy to know our staff was able to make your stay a memorable experience we hope to see you again in the near future while you visit Long Beach California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The beds were very comfy! Free shuttle to the Long Beach cruise terminal which saved us time and money. The shuttle driver went out of his way to accommodate our electric wheelchair which was very appreciated. This hotel was great for our family. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 queen beds in each room. We also had 2 bathrooms. One door entrance was perfect for our family. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesandhu, Manager at Best Western Of Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us, we are happy to hear we were of help and your family had a pleasant stay, we will see you on your next trip to Long Beach California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.1 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
6,591 reviews
7.4 km away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
2.6 km away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
2,615 reviews
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
1.6 km away
The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Long Beach

Address: 1725 Long Beach Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90813-1931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: C$154 - C$285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Of Long Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Of Long Beach counts with the highest rating in value in the Best Western System. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Of Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing