We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Long Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Long Beach
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed at the Long Beach Super 8 on two separate visits to the Long Beach area and both stays were excellent. The staff, in particular, Edwin, were very pleasant and would stop at nothing to make sure my stay went well. The breakfast is great and gives a good start to the day without having to pay for breakfast in a restaurant. I recommend the Long Beach Super 8 to anyone staying in the area. The money you can save can be used for other things and I don't think you'll get better service at a much higher -priced hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shrimp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    411
    152
    48
    31
See reviews for
393
283
109
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

booked this hotel for a business trip.  The first night I got there a large wet spot on the carpet soaked my socks and got my feet wet.  Down the walkway was a room with 2 gangsters who blasted their car stereo in the parking lot.  Along with them was their scantily clad hooker female.  The locks on the gate were damaged, another obvious sign of criminal activity lurking in the area.  Just down the street on Coast Highway there were drug dealers moping around on every corner.  The bedding was old and obviously well used with stains on the sheets.  This place was old, dirty, and in a disgusting armpit of an area.  Just spend a little more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Koa619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

If you book a Super 8, you're not expecting much. I did not and would not book this kind of hotel but my husband did and I went along with it because it was convenient and I ran out of time. The room was fairly clean nothing really awful about it. It was in the middle of a mixed commercial(including a community hospital)-residential neighborhood. But it was quiet when we were there--didn't feel unsafe. The bed was kind of hard for my taste and the bed linen was pretty flimsy. There was no iron/ironing board in the room....thats important for me...but I didn't ask for one so maybe they could have provided it. Based on reading the reviews before staying there, I tried to get the top floor but was too late. Consequently, we heard the guest above us walking. Fortunately, they didn't stay up late but did get up early....but that was ok because we did too. And we were out most of the evening. I would not want to be under a family with kids or late night party guests. The breakfast was fairly decent...fresh fruit and you could make hot waffles.....but if you desire low carbs, you would be out of luck. I've stayed at hotels that were supposed to be higher rated but was no better than this one. Bottom line, it served the purpose adequately but don't know if I would risk staying at one again.

Room Tip: try not to get the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsGME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here for one night on a stop over to a cruise.

Here you get what you exepct and what you pay for. It is a decent budget motel. Location is close to a lot of restaurants and some shopping is within walking distance. A few nice features were the pool, appies in the afternoon and a Wii that can be used by guests. The room was huge. Would definately stay again on a stop over.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor have access to a larger patio and direct access to teh pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitecapsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The room was fine. Clean. Bed and room were big, breakfast was plentiful and good. But if you're a light sleeper, this isn't the place for you. Very thin walls and if you're on the bottom floor, you WILL hear the people above you get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Stay on the second floor and it will be better.

It was OK for me for one night and it's close to LB State.

One other thing, I couldn't get the shower to stay at the same temperature.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joethejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This has to be the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed at! Our visit started with a friendly, personal greeting and went up from there. Our room was spacious and clean (though it could use some updating and painting). The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. The price was excellent. The breakfast was delicious (much more than I had expected) and snacks in the evening were a nice touch. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the area!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slym39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is the best Super 8 I have ever stayed in and the friendliest staff I have ever met. We stayed here in January 2012 for 3 nights before going on a cruise and for the 2 star price we paid, we had 4 star accommodations and Treatment. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I was in Long Beach without a rental car.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PropsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
6.0 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,629 reviews
4.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
1.6 km away
Hotel Current
Hotel Current
#16 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Long Beach

Property: Super 8 Long Beach
Address: 4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Long Beach Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Aquarium of the Pacific, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, Queen Mary and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Long Beach offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Orange & Apple Juices, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Oatmeal, and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments - Red & White Wines, Sodas, Popcorn, Chips & Party Mix. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa, In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Free WI FI throughout entire property. Guest Business Center, Complimentary DVD Players and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN, ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. Allow us the pleasure to make your stay in Southern California a comfortable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Super 8 Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super Eight
Long Beach Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing