We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a hostel, area cool but may be a bit "edgy" for some...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good for a hostel, area cool but may be a bit "edgy" for some...”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at Stay on Main for two nights in November as a stopover on the way to New Zealand. I was staying on my own and had a double room with a wash basin.

The staff at the hostel were very helpful at check in although they do ask for a pre payment on a credit card for security which I overheard one lady complaining about very vocally!

The room was clean and had been refurbused in a modern style, there was a plasma screen with cable channels. The room was cleaned every day although I would have liked more pillows. There were complimentary tolietries I hadn't expected from a hostel.

There was unfortunately only one shower room and toilet for the whole floor of the hotel. It was clean - ish but very cramped and did see some people queuing to use it. I have defineletly experienced worse hostel facilities however.

The area the hotel was in was in central downtown and admittedly it did get a bit scary after about five or six pm with lots of groups of homeless people hanging around. It was fine during the day however and the hostel had good security. Also felt like a proper experience of the city rather than a standard chain hotel in a more touristy area.

On a positive note it was really near all of the downtown attactions (Olvera street, Disney concert hall, cathedral etc.) and there was an excellent diner a few buildings down which did an amazing breakfast. (Nickel Diner). Also there was a really posh bakery/cafe nearby which had to best macaroons I have ever tasted! (Bottega Louie).

Overall good value for money, better than expected if you have stayed in hostels before and a realistic impression of Downtown LA.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnyboy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    252
    260
    132
    173
See reviews for
61
284
213
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2011

An excellent value. If you're used to staying hostels, then you'll likely think Stay is pretty great. I had a clean, nicely designed private room that was perfect for my needs. Close to some cool locations downtown, great coffee shop just downstairs off the lobby. Some nearby streets seemed a bit dodgy at night but I didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hostel was excellent for what we needed, we needed to be in downtown LA, be walking distance to bars and attractions. The hostel was pretty nice, very clean, and accomodating. I stayed with my bf in a dbl bed room. It was pretty much a hotel room. It was nice, trendy and chic. Very clean, the bed was comfortable and it even had a super really cool lamp. If you're staying for a weekend in downtown LA I highly recommend this hostel. There's a restaurant close to there called the Nickel Diner, super good food and home-made pastries!

Cons: Just don't ask the front desk to call you a taxi because they'll call a party charter company that will charge you a leg and an arm for that ride. Just call any taxi.

Room Tip: Book with through their website, it's cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolarox86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We were trying to book a place in L.A. online and as most travellers/backpackers will know, when travelling to several destinations (on a budget) it is often very hard to find a place that is safe, comfortable and affordable. I do not have high expectations as in my view i am there to see the city. We had some bad experiences with other places being falsely advertised or in bad neighborhoods with little assistance for staff sitting happily behind a desk.

Here however, it ticked our boxes. YES- they do have shared bathrooms. I was NOT keen on this but we were running low on money and it was towards the end of a very long journey so the price was the most important factor. Even though i had been nervous, we actually had a great experience. They gave us a room on a quiet floor down a quiet corridor meaning i dont think anyone else actually used the bathroom that was consistantly clean.

Also, as many have mentioned, the entrance and lobby are beautiful, though it doesnt reflect the rooms, it is a very nice welcome and very comfortable if you are down waiting for your laundry to finish, the laundry is very reasonably priced too. They also have free wifi. Our room itself was just a double bed and a sink, with a bedside locker, lamp, approx. 36 inch tv (not flat screen but what-evs) and some dresser drawers. Staff were friendly enough to us and helped us when we had problems or questions and have leaflets on everything.

This is NOT a 4 or 5 star hotel but if you are considering it then i presume you are on a budget like we were. the price for us could not be beaten and though the area of LA itself is not 100% safe, it is close to transport and we as two 21 year old girls didnt have an issue. Maybe we're just brave though. :) Hope i've been of some help because surprisingly, even just to save a few bob, i would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a less occupied corridor and i believe some rooms have quite decent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JustMC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is really a mix between hotel and hostel and if you#re used to hosteling then this place is bound to strike you as amazing! The room I was in was shared only with one person and it had an ensuite toilet (the showers weren't en suite) and was impeccably clean and quite lovely! The beds were made everyday and there were all the free little extras you expect in a hotel like soap and shampoo. You're basically staying in a young and trendy hotel, the only thing hostel about it is that you share a room with a person you don't know. Taking that into account the price, a normal hostel price, seems like a steal. It's best to book with a hostel site though as prices are dramatically cheaper.
The staff were friendly and helpful, there was plenty of information about local places of interest and there was a laundry on site. There was also a fairly unimpressive free breakfast (cereal) but, as it's included/free, who's complaining!?
The only downside might be the location. I didn't find it so but I understand why people might not be so impressed. It is near transport ( a short walk from the metro and from buses) but there's very little to do in the immediate area and the it's not the best area of town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

All upgrades were in the front entrance and lobby., rooms, beds, bathroom have to be the worst I have ever seen.. 1 channel tv with snow, 1 iron for the whole hotel.. Need I say more!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grmclane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Good hotelroom, small bathroom, not internett in the room, but in the lobby.

no micro og fridge, but coffeeshop in lobby.

nice bed, walkingdistance to subway and busses

Room Tip: bathroom in rooms are small, but better then the ones in the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 422anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#208 of 351 in Los Angeles
84 reviews
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#84 of 351 in Los Angeles
407 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#90 of 351 in Los Angeles
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#57 of 351 in Los Angeles
703 reviews
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 88 in Los Angeles
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Property: Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing