We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay at JW in L.A. Live”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #22 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited L.A. to see the Rams play and wanted a place nearby to stay and we couldn't have picked a better location! The JW Marriott is gorgeous and is located in the heart to the action across the street from the Staples Center. The lobby is spectacular with a great bar area for drinks and watching sports. The Mixing Room on property has delicious food and drinks with a DJ and dancing on the weekend! For late nighters you can enjoy 24 hour room service! The food was superior with good selections. Coffee of a morning at Illy is excellent. The hotel workout facility is fantastic; it has great cardio equipment and their weight lifting machines are top notch, you will be amazed! The JW is connected to The Ritz Carlton if you want to enjoy spa services. We had a gorgeous room on the 20th floor with spectacular views! I recommend the executive suite and request an end room to capture the view of the city at night. We will stay here every time we travel to L.A. I guarantee you will enjoy!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The JW Marriott was the host hotel for a conference I attended. It's been about 15yrs since I was in LA so this was a good time to take advantage and see what's changed downtown since my last visit. I wasn't necessarily blown away by the room I was given however it was clean and had a great view of the Staples Center. The location is great: Many food and entertainment options on site and the lobby bar was cool and modern. In the end, it was a good experience courtesy of my company

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aprilsX8550SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

JW Marriot is an amazing hotel. We have recently returned from our second stay at this hotel. Your hotel’s back door opens right up to the LA Live courtyard with access to restaurants and entertainment and even the Staples
Centre. Imagine swimming in the outdoor pool on the 4th Floor under the neon lights of downtown LA.

Service is very attentive to your needs at the hotel. In particular we would like to mention concierge Joy Wilcox. Her service is warm, friendly and she knows how to treat the customer with care and attention to the finest detail. Thank you Joy for your amazing service. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in
Downtown LA.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff&Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So let me start with the obvious pros:

- Location is great, lots of good food walking distance from the hotel, Staples Center, Metro etc.

- Staff here is really nice, the valets, the front desk and room service staff were all excellent

- The Executive Lounge is among the best (only beat out by JW in Dubai) breakfast is great, staff here is awesome too and always a good selection of late night snacks too.

Now for the one thing that bothered us...the ROOM! We've stayed at this hotel three times and this was the worst room experience at a Marriott in recent experience. The room was a little dirty on arrival, grapes on the floor and a champagne cork, we arrived a little late and had already unpacked and figured it'd be cleaned the next day. Well it wasn't in fact we stayed three nights and the trash was there during our entire stay. The carpet was noticeably dirty and lacking a thorough cleaning, both of us felt stuffy noses from the carpets.

So please Marriott fix this and this will again be a five star property but until then you do not get your moneys worth at this property.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alexhatoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Sr. Administrative Assistant at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Executive Lounge, the amenities and overall service, we regret that your guestroom was not cleaned properly. Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the respective department to make sure this is addressed and corrected. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed at quite a few JW Marriotts around the country, and this hotel falls at the bottom of the list. If you have a room facing the Staples Center and the Microsoft theater, there is a giant, constantly changing electronic billboard on the side of the connecting Ritz-Carlton that is incredibly annoying. It's several hundred feet high and does nothing but light up intensely and flash. It makes it very difficult to sleep, and it doesn't matter if you close your shades. I was here while there was a Katy Perry concert at the Staples Center and the JW though it would be cool to blast her music in the lobby all day. This is not a 5 star property, and a disappointment as a JW Marriott. Bar prices are ridiculous, even for LA. I felt like I was being gouged the entire time. The one positive thing I will say is that the shower heads are fabulous. It's a quote "luxury"hotel that is trying to be too LA "cool".

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the billboard side.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank A2Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Sr. Administrative Assistant at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your honest review. We are terribly sorry that you were not able to have a good night’s rest due to the light. We are working on installing better blackout drapes in the guest rooms. We hope that we will be able to serve you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Exceptional service, food, hospitality, humongous room, beautiful building, architecture, location and customer service !!! Beyond exceptional!! Best beds for those who stayed over to enjoy the ambiance!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Maria Josefina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I truly enjoy this hotel. Whether you are looking for a great place to stay right new to LA Live or looking to throw an event. I can recommend the JW for both. We have thrown events here which the staff of the JW was excellent for, as well as, have stayed here on multiple occasions.

It is within a 5 minute walk to Nokia and Staples so plenty of friends and people stay here after a concert or game. This hotel is very well kept and the staff has always been top of the line.

If looking to treat yourself, your family, or a significant other with a nice room and hotel experience. The JW won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeoNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#9 of 355 in Los Angeles
653 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#82 of 355 in Los Angeles
253 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#62 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,292 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $378 - $868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing