We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
Ranked #1 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The renovation is a total success. We still feel the atmosphere of the place, with its great vegetation, great pool. The rooms are extremely comfortable (even if it has too much un-useful technology to our taste), fabulous breakfast, excellent restaurant, extremely professional service - friendly, helpful & not to stiff -. A dream place for vacation, business, celebrations..
By far the best option in L.A!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlivierReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAManager, Owner at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is an honor that you consider us the “best option in L.A.” I will pass along your kind words to our team. We hope to have you back with us again very soon!

Best regards,
Jonathan Mattis
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bel-Air
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

I must first state one thing: I love the Hotel Bel Air. Always have. It is a dreamy location nestled in the canyon and who wouldn't love the swans and the bridge over the winding paths. And, I must add that the valet staff is fabulous-always friendly, so eager to run back and grab something you left in the car, help you load children and bags, get you a water, etc.
But the rest of our stay was an unmitigated disaster. I should now mention THE NOISE. All day long, trucks are backing up in the street behind the hotel and they must be large trucks because they have constant back-up beeping noises that sounds like you are spending the day in a CostCo warehouse. What was all that clanking in the back alley ALL NIGHT, EVERY NIGHT? Apparently the restaurant is emptying out trash and bottles every hour on the hour. And the restaurant employees were smoking, talking and just being incredibly noisy all night in the alley. The new room decor is OK, although already a bit outdated. The hotel staff is super friendly-but watch out for the AWFUL RESTAURANT STAFF who are mainly just nasty and snippy. The hostess could not have been more unprofessional and rude. Never going back. I was glad to leave. Please let me know when the hotel changes hands once again, and my favorite charming Bel Air can be proud and free of this mess once again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't noisy-good luck!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 5starsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAManager, Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Bel-Air. I am extremely concerned to hear of the difficulties you encountered during your visit. Please rest assured that we have discussed every detail of your comment with the appropriate departments.

I hope your recent experience will not deter you from considering Hotel Bel-Air on a return visit to Los Angeles and I would be most grateful for any opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. I will personally supervise your booking arrangements; ensure extra special recognition is given to you and that we upgrade your accommodation.

Once again, please accept my apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Bel-Air in the hopefully not too distant future.

Best regards,
Jonathan Mattis
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were frequent guests of the hotel before the refurbishment and we will be even more loyal now. This hotel is still an oasis in Los Angeles. The garden area kept its classical charme and the rooms were very tastefully renovated. We can imagine that some older guests who have been visiting the hotel for many years dislike the new rooms. However, we believe that it is stylish, classy and made of top quality materials.
The staff was very friendly and efficient. We would like to mention especially the bell desk which is very often a weak and forgotten department in luxury hotels. Luggage was delivered and picked up very fast, the car was always ready when we arrived and the gentlemen were entertaining and helpful (should also mention their stylish dresses).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAManager, Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the new designs. I will share your note with our Bellman as they will appreciate the comments very much. We pride ourselves on providing five star service to each and every guest and we are pleased it made your stay more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon in the coming months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I used to regard the Hotel Bel-Air as a wonderful escape. Unfortunately, a lot of the magic of this idyllic property has gone. Whilst the renovations to the hotel rooms were necessary, the whole culture of the hotel has changed. I had an unpleasant experience at the restaurant one night that became indicative of the change that has taken place and which was enough to alienate me from the hotel and instead to go to the comfort of the restaurant at the Peninsula Hotel. The restaurant clearly now brings considerably more people to the hotel and this is great for hotel revenue and exposure, but can be very stressful for guests. To what extent hotel guests receive preference now is debatable. The Bel-Air is no longer a 'hideaway' and the new restaurant may have produced a situation whereby the carrying capacity of the resort is exceeded to the detriment of hotel guests and those seeking a quiet place to exhale and enjoy the privacy of the Bel-Air culture that once was.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy-helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAManager, Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Nancy8888,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression of the newly re-opened Hotel Bel-Air.

Having been closed for a few years, the culture of the hotel is very new as well. Having worked here for 11 years, I understand your point of view and as time passes I can assure you our revitalized culture will further developing over time. We had 65 years to build it! Our new staff members, as well as the number of former employees who work with them are just as passionate to provide you with the signature Hotel Bel-Air bespoke service as before. We hope to have the opportunity to show you the magic of our unique paradise again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was my first visit following recent refurbishment. The magnificent setting - the pool, pond, gardens, and swans remain untouched - provide an oasis of calm with LA just outside your door. I had booked a five day stay through WhataHotel, which came with the added bonus of a continental breakfast, although no room upgrade was offered.The newly styled interiors are superb, with beautiful and thoughtful design features providing elegant, modern luxury. The rooms are very well finished with heated floors in the bathrooms (although surprisingly not in the loo), B&O TV's, La Prairie soaps,superb linens and fluffy robes. Although some die-hards may prefer the old club style bar, it too is now lighter and far less stuffy. The ballroom would make a wonderful spot for any celebration. There's a new spa and gym, both state of the art; although the gym could offer several sizes of Swiss ball, and also make sure there are plenty of clean headsets! The staff were apparently all replaced (except 11) after the two year shutdown; the new waitstaff, bellboys, and cleaners are all wonderful, where you're really made to feel extremely welcome. A small niggle - some of the day to day restaurant managers could be more client focussed; on several occasions it took far too long to get seated for breakfast or dinner.
Wolfgang Puck's restaurant is still settling in; the food is competent, although a little more innovative menu will be required if the restaurant is to receive many star accolades. At the prices charged for dinner there were surprisingly no ameuses bouches on starting dinner, or extras around dessert. There's a great wine list, if you have a reason to celebrate, with knowledgeable sommeliers. The house white, a Gruner Veltliner, offers the best value.
All in all, this is a unique hotel, with a great provenance, now brought in to the 21st century.
With a little attention to some of the teething issues above, the hotel will retain its position amongst the top 2-3 hotels in the US. I can't think of a better choice if relaxation is what's called for.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room or better with a patio.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melanosporumandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAManager, Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback.We are happy to say we’ve added several new Swiss balls to our gym as a result of your comments. We apologize for there not being clean headsets; we have asked our Housekeeping staff to visit the gym more frequently to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

We are thrilled you consider us to be one of the top 2-3 hotels in the US, thank you! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

They welcome you at your car at the Bel-Air and then walk with you on the bridge over the water with the swans to get to the lobby.The new lobby is very old Hollywood and Art Deco with a fabulous large square fireplace in the center,all in black and white.The walkways are lined with trees and flowers and fountains and look like Italy.The rooms are all high tech with everything controlled by the i-pad and are black and white. The bathroom is serene and has an amazing rainfall type shower.It is very quiet and relaxing.The bed is perfection!The service is very helpful but not bothersome.It is my favorite hotel !They seem to do everything just right.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a private outdoor patio,which was lovely.My brother did not have the patio but...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancythis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAManager, Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a true honor to be called “your favorite hotel.” We hope you will be back to visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Have been going to the Hotel BelAir since 1966. It is the best hotel you can possibly imagine. It's worth a trip to LA

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio, not near the road.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAManager, Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you for the kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,183 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
740 reviews
Beverly Hills
Montage Beverly Hills
Montage Beverly Hills
#10 of 15 in Beverly Hills
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077-2909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $785 - $1,789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. This Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing