We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Chinatown
from US$84.00
More Info
from US$22.00
More Info
from US$70.00
More Info
from US$125.00
More Info
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
79
108
96
47
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
108
96
47
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese architecture shops selling downtown la trinkets culture parking clothing vendors hundreds los
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whether your are in the market for alabaster turtles from Pakistan, authentic outfits form Vietnam, jewelry, clothes, toys, shoes, whatever, if it exists, Chinatown has it. In fact, I found the selection of Asian women's fashion better than in Hong Kong or Singapore. And, of course, the food is plentiful and cheap. There are so many restaurants to choose from, you can find anything. including the latest hipster rage of Howlin' Ray's Nashville Fried Chicken, where the lines can stretch for blocks. Go once, go often. Chinatown is always fun.

Thank lollydepaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I believe we should have gone on a week end versus the middle of the week because the towns was quiet. We were fortunate enough to have a few stores open and an honest to God Chinese bakery which we loved. After try the delicate pastries in China on our trip in 2019, we fell in love. They are delicious but not quite as sweet as American pastries. So glad to see this in China town. We also had a delicious fresh food for lunch.

The shop that was open had beautiful Chinese art and nic nacs similar to what we saw in China. Owner was pleasant

Thank JennamurskiRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Chinatown while I was on the hop on hop off tour to Downtown LA. It's an area where Chinese emigrants community has settled in Los Angeles. You will instantly notice the Chinese architecture from the special houses, temples and statutes. Shops selling Chinese goods and specialized restaurants are everywhere.

3  Thank Osman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

One of the worst China Town I’ve ever seen. The whole area needs to be restructured. The restaurants are good though.

Thank steelriver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We were disappointed by the number of shops that were closed in Chinatown, but did like Realm very much. Realm sells some high end gifts; whereas, many of the other stores focus on souvenirs. We ate at the Plum Tree Restaurant that has reasonably priced, delicious food. Lots of leftovers from our dishes of noodles, sweet and sour pork, and spicy eggplant. The atmosphere is pretty modern and the waitstaff was knowledgeable and accommodating.

Thank joan632015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Nothing special, fairly clean and safe. Parking is accessible, expect to pay to park. Plenty of food, restaurants and low quality merchandise. Fun experience

Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

I expected so much more. Friends always raved about finding household and clothing items at great deals! I was utterly disappointed. I went during a weekend day, and expected crowds but the streets were empty and stores closed. I didn't find any of the items I went there searching to buy.

Thank Mailao V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

It was a fun visit! I enjoyed stepping into the herbal, medicinal and specialty stores. We visited a temple, shopped for exotic fruits and vegetables from street vendors.
Prices were good, l got three large bags of lavender, chamomille and hibiscus flowers to make infusions, all for under $15.

Thank emmanuelled826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

In order to help tourism to chinatown during the summer there are events called 'chinatown summer nights" which take place. At these events there is demonstration cooking, the old chinatown plaza comes alive with bands and food trucks scatterred around.
Frankly if you are the type that likes art there are a number of art galleries located in this section of town.
Otherwise, if you are interestd in dimsum there are a number of restaurant here that serve this in fact i like to visit abc seafood or cbs seafood since they have a connected deli for takeout

Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We thought it would be a cool place to explore in the evening after landing in LA. But most places were closed at 8:30pm when we arrived. However the food was good and there are many restaurants to choose from.

Thank Jenbriecorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews