We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really, really grim” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Ranked #188 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really, really grim”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had such mixed thoughts about this place - the location to the Hollywood Boulevard is great, in fact it is literally on the back door of the Kodak Theatre.

Check-in was friendly. We had a 'suite' which was anything but. Everything felt dirty. The kitchen was large but devoid of any utensils, toaster etc. The room layout was terrible, lacking mains outlets and random furniture everywhere.

The main socket in the kitchen fell to bits in my hand (see photo), and the telephone was filthy and complete with someone's hair (see photo).

Breakfast was absolutely the worst attempt at catering we have ever experienced. Undrinkable dishwater-coffee, children's watered-down orange and all served in the smallest room imaginable. It really can't be that difficult to get this so wrong?

Although it was a budget hotel, we wouldn't ever come back here but instead try the other budget hotels nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    68
    64
    49
    95
See reviews for
71
105
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I loved our room and location. We got a suite which included a comfy king bed, a huge bathroom area and a kitchenette. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was awesome. Literally 2 minute walk to the mall, hollywood blvd, kodak theater and chinese theater. Very quiet hotel. No complaints at all. The people at the front desk where very helpful and friendly. I would totally stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoiledinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I recently booked a room at Liberty Hotel, at LA. The room was not that great, they stated two queen beds but the room had only two double beds. The flooring in the toilet was horrible, the tiles were cracked and even the toilet was tilted slightly. The good thing about this hotel is it location, less than 5 minutes walk to the hollywood area. The parking is behind the hotel in a narrow ally and the space is not sufficient enough for all the cars. I had to leave the keys at the front desk, so that they could park my car at some other location.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor as the hotel doesn't have escalators. Do not expect any great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prashbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was out first hotel for our holiday - The location was very good as it was not too far from the airport and very close to a large shopping complex and bus routes and some attractions.

The rooms were old but clean and basic.
The people at the front desk were not very helpful at the best of times and they had a complimentary breakfast but the room was way too small for the amount of pople that were trying to get in!

All in all if you are looking for a small cheap but clean place to stay that is in a great location then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZNA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

A European style hotel - two story, no elevator, simple breakfast (coffee, muffins, bagels), coin operated washer and dryer on site, WiFi, and TV and free parking in lot behind - no frills. Can't beat the convenience to mass transit and to walking Hollywood Boulevard. The mall at Hollywood and Highland (one block) has numerous restaurants and stores and some entertainment. Other restaurants are on the boulevard along with theaters and stores of all kinds.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSUgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Aus
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We booked this hotel basically because we couldn't afford Beverly Hills. If you want a hotel close to Hollywood Boulevard then this is great. The rooms were made each day which was also great.

However, from check in the people that greeted us were rude, spoke in foreign language in front of us, and didn't seem to even know about our booking through expedia.

The rooms were old, run down, and smelt if the a/c wasn't on. The shower was terrible, and the toilet was disgusting.

Pay extra and stay somewhere better, Hollywood is crap

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnojnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Went to this LA hotel with a friend (we're two girls in our early 20's) 23rd June - 30th June 2011

We got to the hotel at 9pm at night (after missing a connection in Chicago! Argh!) and we were checked into our ground floor room fast and efficiently. There were two double beds in the main room, with a chest of drawers containing a TV with lots of cable channels and there was a large table in the corner. No door to the bathroom but this never caused a problem the whole week we were there so don't let this startle you. The toilet did have a door and was at one end of the bathroom and the shower was large, and was very easy to use, it was great.
The reception staff were always friendly and didn't mind looking after our passports the whole week (recommended) . The room was cleaned and beds made daily and towels were changed every other day and the maids were very friendly and even washed a towel for me i brought from home without me asking. Nothing went missing from our room at any point in the week.
The room was basic, but this hotel is all about the location, its a 1-2 min walk from the main blvd which has the Chinese Theatre and the Walk of Fame. and a 3 min walk from the underground metro station which will get you everywhere you want to go for a very great price.
Lots of great restaurants in the area including The Rolling Stone lounge, Hard Rock Cafe, California Pizza Kitchen, Boho (who do an AMAZING steak) and Hollywood Grill. Lots of other places to eat along hollywood blvd.
All in all I highly recommend this hotel, the bad reviews must have been unlucky? The location is second to none and we got a great nights sleep in the room every night.
If you want something more glamorous there is the Renaissance Hotel right next door, but it is double the price, why pay more??
Loved the stay and cant wait to go back =)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicky_starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Highland Gardens Hotel
#235 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#134 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood La Brea Motel
Hollywood La Brea Motel
#185 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Cityview Inn & Suites
Hollywood Cityview Inn & Suites
#250 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Property: Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Address: 1770 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4303
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Liberty Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel is a hotel where each guest is delighted by a clean, well-maintained room, a friendly staff, and by travel value in the amenities of each hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Budget Places so you can book your Hollywood Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing