We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
83
18
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
18
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszen roomevery morningparking is tightoff street parkinggrapefruit treecompact carlonger stayliving roommy home away from homeroom was cleansitting areaboutique hotellocation is greatwould definitely stay here againstayed nightssupermarkethollywood
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 105 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This was such a great find. It was a true home away from home, and a very inviting place to stay. The rooms are really large and comfortable, and no detail has been overlooked to make your stay enjoyable. The kitchen is great, and you can make yourself at home there, not just for breakfast. And speaking of breakfast, the warm freshly made daily pastries are divine! Dougald and Erika are great hosts, very helpful and friendly. Don’t think twice about staying here – you will have a great experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet, but the ones facing the front of the house get wonderful morning sun.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalTraveler047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Great place to stay with excellent hosts!! Dougald and Erika went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Their hospitality was well beyond expectations.... Got some great tips on places to visit and walks around Hollywood. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We've stayed here in July 2011 for a week. Really loved our stay! First of all there is the Hospitality of the owners. Present but not intrusive, whenever you need something it is taken care of. The house has oodles of charm. Loved the breakfast every morning! Freshly baked pastries with fruit, an excellent way to start our day. The kitchen is great, everything you might need is present. The room was great as well. Loved the bed linen! Made of bamboo, feels silky! Cleanliness is excellent. The seating area at the back is nice and quiet, great to enjoy a sunny afternoon drink.
Free WiFi of excellent quality, parking facilities at the back.
The location suited our needs well, supermarket, nice restaurants, sights nearby. I agree with all other positive reviews, they are true!

If you want to stay for a vacation and you want to wind down, this is the place to stay!

For a future trip to LA my choice of where to stay is a total no-brainer: The Hollywood Pensione! Thank you Erika and Dougald!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaspervZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We spent 9 days here in total and wish we could have spent more.
The room was great, a nice size bathroom and the biggest clothes space of any hotel we stayed at in our 4 week US trip.
The area is ideal. leave the house and turn right and you are 10 minutes away from the red metro line (which takes you to most places) and turning left takes you to a very nice grocery store and deli/cafe.
The street the house was in was very quiet and with little traffic.
The kitchen is great. Each room has it's own fridge with is very handy. There is also a kettle and oven aswell as a separate washer and dryer which saves you walking the street looking for a cleaners.
But the best thing for me was the morning cakes and fruit. Doog (one of the owners) would bake each morning. We would wake up to pastries and cakes still warm from the oven surrounded by fresh fruit.

Also I proposed to my girlfriend there so it will always be a great place for me!

Room Tip: All the rooms were similar but only one has a shower only so you might want to ask if you are that concerned about such things.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We spent two nights at the Pensione while visiting our son and his girlfriend. The hosts are welcoming and gracious. The facilities are very clean, well-appointed and comfortable. The fresh fruit and homemade breakfast pastry were perfect for us. We plan to return every time we go to LA to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews