We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repose in Hollywood”
Review of Hollywood Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Pensione
Ranked #16 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Hollywood Pensione offered a calm and friendly retreat in a great location near Griffith Park in Los Angeles. Owners Erika and Dougald renovated their Craftsman home beautifully to include 3 guest rooms on the second floor, complete with shared kitchen, sitting area, and outdoor balcony overlooking their shady backyard with off-street parking. Woke up each morning to a breakfast surprise. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is the place to which I'll return year after year! It is a house. Almost a B&B experience with a sweet continental breakfast of homemade pastries and fresh fruit with coffee and tea. The owners live on the bottom level of the old beautiful and large two story house that was gorgeously refurbished and so artfully furnished. Each of the three guest rooms is upstairs with its own bathroom. Each guestroom also has an ample refrigerator in a kitchen just for guests that is well stocked for cooking and dining in. Oh and there's also a washer dryer for guest use.

The neighborhood is safe. There is a small active night scene very close by, along with an upscale market and good dining choices. It's smack in the middle of residential Hollywood so it's ideally situated to many of L.A.s cultural and movie land attractions.

Check it out. If you want a homey experience with privacy and comfort, this is a great choice. It definitely works for me!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This was such a great find. It was a true home away from home, and a very inviting place to stay. The rooms are really large and comfortable, and no detail has been overlooked to make your stay enjoyable. The kitchen is great, and you can make yourself at home there, not just for breakfast. And speaking of breakfast, the warm freshly made daily pastries are divine! Dougald and Erika are great hosts, very helpful and friendly. Don’t think twice about staying here – you will have a great experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet, but the ones facing the front of the house get wonderful morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalTraveler047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Great place to stay with excellent hosts!! Dougald and Erika went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Their hospitality was well beyond expectations.... Got some great tips on places to visit and walks around Hollywood. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We've stayed here in July 2011 for a week. Really loved our stay! First of all there is the Hospitality of the owners. Present but not intrusive, whenever you need something it is taken care of. The house has oodles of charm. Loved the breakfast every morning! Freshly baked pastries with fruit, an excellent way to start our day. The kitchen is great, everything you might need is present. The room was great as well. Loved the bed linen! Made of bamboo, feels silky! Cleanliness is excellent. The seating area at the back is nice and quiet, great to enjoy a sunny afternoon drink.
Free WiFi of excellent quality, parking facilities at the back.
The location suited our needs well, supermarket, nice restaurants, sights nearby. I agree with all other positive reviews, they are true!

If you want to stay for a vacation and you want to wind down, this is the place to stay!

For a future trip to LA my choice of where to stay is a total no-brainer: The Hollywood Pensione! Thank you Erika and Dougald!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaspervZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We spent 9 days here in total and wish we could have spent more.
The room was great, a nice size bathroom and the biggest clothes space of any hotel we stayed at in our 4 week US trip.
The area is ideal. leave the house and turn right and you are 10 minutes away from the red metro line (which takes you to most places) and turning left takes you to a very nice grocery store and deli/cafe.
The street the house was in was very quiet and with little traffic.
The kitchen is great. Each room has it's own fridge with is very handy. There is also a kettle and oven aswell as a separate washer and dryer which saves you walking the street looking for a cleaners.
But the best thing for me was the morning cakes and fruit. Doog (one of the owners) would bake each morning. We would wake up to pastries and cakes still warm from the oven surrounded by fresh fruit.

Also I proposed to my girlfriend there so it will always be a great place for me!

Room Tip: All the rooms were similar but only one has a shower only so you might want to ask if you are that c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We spent two nights at the Pensione while visiting our son and his girlfriend. The hosts are welcoming and gracious. The facilities are very clean, well-appointed and comfortable. The fresh fruit and homemade breakfast pastry were perfect for us. We plan to return every time we go to LA to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,194 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,038 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,145 reviews
Universal City Area
El Royale Hotel Near Universal Studios Hollywood
Central L.A
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 94 in Los Angeles
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Pensione

Address: 1845 N Wilton Pl, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: $226 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Pensione 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Pensione is a Newly Renovated Eco-Conscious Boutique Inn in specializing in weekly and monthly stays. We cater to International travelers and artists from all over the world. The Pensione offers all of the comforts of home with the privacy and amenities of a luxury hotel. All or our rooms are Newly Renovated Suites with private bathrooms inside each room. Each room comes with new Luxury Queen Pillow Top Mattresses, 1500 Thread Count Egyptian Cotton Linens, a 48" Smart TV with DVD Player and Writers Desk. Two of our rooms feature very large bathrooms with classic Claw Foot deep soaking tubs and shower. All of our bathrooms feature our Luxurious Organic Hotel Towels and bath amenities. Our newly renovated Guest Kitchen, offers our guests state of the art appliances equipped with a Stove, Oven and Culinary Tool Essentials making it easy for all guests to enjoy. Each suite has individual refrigerators located in the guest kitchen for their private use along with self-serve laundry facilities. You may also enjoy our Guest Lounge & Balcony. We are located in the heart of Hollywood in the Franklin Village less than three blocks west of Griffith park & three blocks east of the Hollywood Sign. We are walking distance to hip cafe's, restaurants, bars, boutique shops, hiking trails and the metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing