We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of home in Hollywood”
Review of Hollywood Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Pensione
Ranked #16 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 January 2016

After a huge trip to Mexico and Cuba it was absolutely wonderful to find a home away from home here. Beautiful room and ensuite ( bed was a heavenly bed) and the welcome on a Thanksgiving Eve was amazing. We will be back, thank you.

Room Tip: Fresh muffins and fruit for breakfast every day. Communal kitchen, laundry and living/dining area f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

New owner new management

Gaile ist extreemly helpfull and friendly. Even though the theme of the B&B will be changed early 2016 we found this place spotless clean.
Hollywood pensione is in walking distance to Hollywood boulevard and there are Shops around the corner. This is helpfull in case you like to use the kitchen for cooking.

Thx again for the hospitallity, Ohr expectations have been matched perfectly.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank thomasundsilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

-Excellent location within walking distance of Hollywood sign/Griffith Observatory/restaurants/supermarket and public transport
-very comfortable rooms and good washroom facilities
-Dougald the host is delightful, baking fresh goods along with fresh fruit for breakfast, leaving you chocolates on the pillow and sparkling wine in the fridge as well as going out of his way (eg researching 4th July in LA celebrations! And going out to buy us more of our favorite tea) for his guests
-wifi is good and parking available if you need.

Cant recommend enough would definetly return when in LA!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank btr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

I cannot say enough great things about our stay at the Hollywood Pensione. My mother and I stayed here after a recommendation from a friend, and we were SO glad we did!! This B&B is one of a kind - it has incredible charm, a peaceful atmosphere, and had absolutely everything we needed.

Our room was very clean, spacious, and the beds were comfortable. The owner (Dougald) lives downstairs and the 3 bedroom B&B is located on the 2nd floor via a private entrance. There is a communal living room, kitchen (where each guest had a private fridge for storing food), and outside deck area for enjoying the sunshine in the morning. There was a even a bottle of complimentary sparkling wine for us!

Fresh baked muffins and pastries and fruit were provided every morning and were DELICIOUS! Dougald accommodated us early, and there was free parking in the back of the house (we rented a car to get around town). There were local bars, grocery stores, and restaurants in walking distance, and it was just a 5 minute drive to the heart of Hollywood Blvd. Dougald was helpful, provided recommendations to us, but yet remained very quiet and "hidden" downstairs. It was like we were living in LA!

I highly recommend anyone to stay here if you are looking to get away from the crazy hustle and bustle of Hollywood after a long day. If we ever return to the LA area, we will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

So glad I found the Hollywood Pensione. Other accomodations that I was finding for the area I wanted to stay in either seemed like "dives" or were too ritzy/party-ish for me. The property has the charm and character of an older home and the comfort and calm of the Zen-like decor. Dougald is a gracious and helpful host. He was able to accomodate an early check-in for me, but would've been able to hold my bags had the early check-in not been possible. Fresh baked pastries and fresh fruit every morning make a great start. Breakfast on the balcony is a calm start to the morning. It is only a ten minute walk to a Metro subway stop, grocery, restaurants, local shops. DASH bus and Metro-bus stops are at the ends of the block. I would definitely stay again if return to LA. (I did not have a car with me, but off-road parking is available for those that do).

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christa4of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We had our eyes set on this place for months, after not feeling okay with shelling out huge amounts for "another" chain hotel. The photos sold this place, as did the idea of homemade breakfasts.

This small Bed and Breakfast with three rooms is perfect as a base for Honeymooners (like us), tourists, business visitors and more.

A bottle of sparkling wine met us in our designated fridge in the shared kitchen, we had facilities to cook and wash clothes and we were in walking distance of a great supermarket called Gelsons (with a deli) which is a left out of the door, then left again down Franklin for 2-3 mins.

The aircon was effective, the rooms are very private, but allow for seeing other guests in the communal areas if you wish and sitting with a coffee on the balcony by the kitchen is very recommended.

The bed was more than just comfortable and made us dread heading home to our own bed.

The hotel served as a base for visits to Hollywood, Burbank, Pasadena, Downtown, Santa Monica even as far afield as Anaheim for Disneyland (we didn't have a car and used public transport, but there is parking space for cars). We also made sure to sample the selection of books scattered around the communal areas that covered USA's best road trips and even historical information about LA.

We will never forget this place as being our honeymoon spot, but in all honesty it lived up to expectations and more. Dougald the host, was knowledgeable, helpful and made great tasting breakfasts.

We hope to visit again some day in the next few years.

Room Tip: We stayed in Zen, peaceful room with nice size.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Great place where to stay in LA. Location is very good. The host is friendly and very helpful. The small pensione is lovely, very clean such a nice alternative to chains.. And with the same comfort. Actually a lot more! Lovely breakfast included for a very reasonable price. Definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,193 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,037 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,145 reviews
Universal City Area
El Royale Hotel Near Universal Studios Hollywood
Central L.A
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 94 in Los Angeles
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Pensione

Address: 1845 N Wilton Pl, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: $226 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Pensione 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Pensione is a Newly Renovated Eco-Conscious Boutique Inn in specializing in weekly and monthly stays. We cater to International travelers and artists from all over the world. The Pensione offers all of the comforts of home with the privacy and amenities of a luxury hotel. All or our rooms are Newly Renovated Suites with private bathrooms inside each room. Each room comes with new Luxury Queen Pillow Top Mattresses, 1500 Thread Count Egyptian Cotton Linens, a 48" Smart TV with DVD Player and Writers Desk. Two of our rooms feature very large bathrooms with classic Claw Foot deep soaking tubs and shower. All of our bathrooms feature our Luxurious Organic Hotel Towels and bath amenities. Our newly renovated Guest Kitchen, offers our guests state of the art appliances equipped with a Stove, Oven and Culinary Tool Essentials making it easy for all guests to enjoy. Each suite has individual refrigerators located in the guest kitchen for their private use along with self-serve laundry facilities. You may also enjoy our Guest Lounge & Balcony. We are located in the heart of Hollywood in the Franklin Village less than three blocks west of Griffith park & three blocks east of the Hollywood Sign. We are walking distance to hip cafe's, restaurants, bars, boutique shops, hiking trails and the metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing