We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful experience”
Review of Hollywood Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Pensione
Ranked #15 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed at Hollywood Pansion for good 2 Months. It was one of the most beautiful experience. I was in NYC and was visiting LA for some work. I started searching for places and found this place on the net. I spoke to Dougald & Erika and discussed everything on phone and email. Deposited the money. When i arrived at LAX Dougald came to receive me in his car. (he never charged me for the pick up). when i reached the place it was clean and people were very friendly as promised in mails and phone. I started staying there and what ever i asked for was fulfilled by the hosts (Dougald & Erika). it was like a family. next, i had to visit Vegas and i was not carrying credit card. then came Dougald the savior who not only gave me his credit card to book the flight ticket and Hotel he also drooped me at the airport that too 4.am in the morning.

well, staying at Hollywood pansion was like living with my family. one day there was a little problem of water that too for just 10 minutes and to compensate for that Dougald & Erika gifted all of us staying there with a bottle of wine and fruits including next day huge breakfast. in today's world when everybody think of only themselves and have no time for others, this family treats the guests as a family member. there are so many times when Dougald dropped me to different location and that too with a smile. no complains ever.

I highly recommend this place. Value for money, clean, friendly hosts everything

well i can proudly say i have a family in LA :)

Regards

vivek Tewari
INDIA

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tewariviveck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

I've stayed several times at the Pensione - usually alone for business. The rooms are meticulously appointed, the living spaces are accommodating and the hosts are warm and gracious. I was pleasantly surprised by how well the Pensione suited a larger group - 6 adults, visiting LA for a wedding. With multiple, private rooms we were able to relax and have private time when we needed to, or gather, talk and share meals in the living and dining rooms together. Safe, spotless, stylish. What's not to love.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I live in L.A. in a one bedroom duplex. My sister and her wild boys needed to stay at my place, so I took a little vacation in my hometown. Erika and Dougald were so lovely and warm and made an extra effort to accomodate me last minute - I feel like I've known them all my life!! To be honest, I wanted to keep on at the Pensione rather than return to my real home in Mt. Washington. Best bed I've ever slept in and the linens are so soft!! It's in a very convenient location and I could walk to dinner at night (not something I'm used to doing in LA). The warmth and charm of the old Craftsman style home redone with a clean Feng Shui serenity. Loved the "green" details: bamboo towels, water purifiers, special paint, etc. I really do wish it was my house! Can't wait for family to come back to town so I can indulge again!! Also way cheaper than the hotels I looked at in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The is my second extended stay at the Hollywood Pensione. The first occurred three years ago when Erika and Dougal first opened shop. The Pensione is every bit as charming as I remembered it. The rooms whisper serenity. Lovely chocolates and a bottle of wine greet you and set the tone for the stay. The beds are incredibly comfortable, both mattress and organic linens, the colour palette is soothing and the hosts are very welcoming. The layout combines the privacy of your own suite with the conveniences of common lounge area and kitchen. There is also a secluded, furnished porch to enjoy a glass of wine and good conversation or you can enjoy the solitude of your lovely room. The location affords easy access to the Hollywood Hills and some wonderful hikes, as well as an easy walk to prime Hollywood. It truly is a wonderful place to unwind after navigating the crazy currents of this sprawling city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregBryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The Hollywood Pensione is not what we expected. It was supposed to be We are an Eco-friendly Boutique Hotel, housed in a 1915 Craftsman.
Featuring: Eco-Pure rooms with luxurious organic mattresses, fine organic bed linens by Anna Sova, spa-like amenities, and state of the art in-room technology.
Hollywood Pensione was designed for the discerning traveler and professional seeking the privacy of a hotel, with the comforts and conveniences of home, for short and long term visits to Los Angeles.
What we got was peeling paint, a wood block to prop open the windows, a shower that didn't work, stairs that hadn't seen a vacuum in awhile, an unkempt exterior and a dicey and noisy neighborhood. The last straw was the telltale brown stains from nighttime drool on the pillows inside their pillowcases. A 3-night, 4-day stay turned into a 1-night nightmare. This might be ok for someone just out of school looking for an adventure, but then again with a $165 per night price tag, maybe not. This is definitely a part time business for a stay-at-home mom who is too busy to take care of business. We can only hope that the proprietors will refund our money for the 2 nights we didn't stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank miken515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywoodpensione, Owner at Hollywood Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2011

This review saddens me, and it's hard not to take it personally as this is my home and full-time business. Our one employee, Michelle, a meticulous woman who makes her own non-toxic, organic cleaning products was still cleaning when these guests arrived 2 1/2 hours early. We don't show our Pensione in this condition, but the guests asked to use the (just cleaned) bathroom. When they entered beds were stripped, blinds pulled up and windows opened to air the room (including one that requires a small block of wood). Our showers absolutely work - they have a water-saving device that allows you to shut them off while you soap up. Our rooms are very clean: our beds, linens, towels, and bath robes are of the highest quality. My husband maintains the exterior of our 1915 Craftman's home and yard with great pride. Our neighborhood is safe. My neighbors are young artists, old Armenian families, and other young families like ourselves. I do understand that Hollywood is not everyone's cup of tea, and like many cities there are parts of Hollywood not recommended for walking alone at night. Dougald and I make ourselves very available should a guest need our help, but otherwise respect their privacy. We are also very open to constructive criticism: comment cards are available in our guest book. Instead, these guests have gone on more than one website with reviews that are increasingly exaggerated - now calling their stay a "nightmare." We are guilty of having to do some paint touch ups in the door jams (non-toxic paint requires more maintenance) and if you arrive hours before check-in, you may see a full garbage can and a stairway that hasn't been vacuumed yet. If this constitutes a nightmare, I think your life is blessed. We are grateful for the many wonderful guests (from every corner of the world) who have come to share the light and love within our home, and we look forward that continuing in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Erika and Dougal are friendly and generous hosts. The rooms are decorated more like a home than a hotel. The beds area very comfy and unique. They are made in Hollywood and I looked into purchasing one myself, but they are pretty pricey. The location is is very convenient - right in Hollywood and an easy drive to downtown. You are in a residential area, which is nice, but there were a few times that I had to shut the windows because of neighbors. Very economical weekly rates.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed for just 2 nights in June. Very friendly welcome by Dougal who allowed us to leave our bags and offered to call us when the room was ready as we arrived quite early.

Room in itself was lovely - clean, modern and the bed was very comfortable. Wine and chocs in room a nice touch.

Area was quiet and would recommend the Alcove Cafe & Bakery - about a 15 minute walk away - they do amazing breakfasts in a nice setting but it is quite pricey.

Quite convenient location with bus routes near ish and only approximately a 20 minute stroll to walk of fame and theatres etc. Would still recommend a car in LA though as the public transport system isn't great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catface_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,193 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,034 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,143 reviews
Universal City Area
El Royale Hotel Near Universal Studios Hollywood
Central L.A
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 94 in Los Angeles
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Pensione

Address: 1845 N Wilton Pl, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: $226 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Pensione 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Pensione is a Newly Renovated Eco-Conscious Boutique Inn in specializing in weekly and monthly stays. We cater to International travelers and artists from all over the world. The Pensione offers all of the comforts of home with the privacy and amenities of a luxury hotel. All or our rooms are Newly Renovated Suites with private bathrooms inside each room. Each room comes with new Luxury Queen Pillow Top Mattresses, 1500 Thread Count Egyptian Cotton Linens, a 48" Smart TV with DVD Player and Writers Desk. Two of our rooms feature very large bathrooms with classic Claw Foot deep soaking tubs and shower. All of our bathrooms feature our Luxurious Organic Hotel Towels and bath amenities. Our newly renovated Guest Kitchen, offers our guests state of the art appliances equipped with a Stove, Oven and Culinary Tool Essentials making it easy for all guests to enjoy. Each suite has individual refrigerators located in the guest kitchen for their private use along with self-serve laundry facilities. You may also enjoy our Guest Lounge & Balcony. We are located in the heart of Hollywood in the Franklin Village less than three blocks west of Griffith park & three blocks east of the Hollywood Sign. We are walking distance to hip cafe's, restaurants, bars, boutique shops, hiking trails and the metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing