We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Melting Pot Food Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Melting Pot Food Tours
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$59.00
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
495
39
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
39
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farmers market pasadena tour old town pasadena market tour food tasting east la tortas walking food tour brazilian bbq great tour food stops interesting history highly recommend this tour tacos la history small group booked this tour
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 543 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

This is a great and informative tour done by Alex. Followed by wonderful meats, cheeses and of course their signature dish, paella. Served with wine to share among the new friends we meet on the tour. Great time!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank dburnsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tifosa23, Owner at Melting Pot Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Thank you for being our guests at La Espanola and for sharing these very kind words. We agree that this event is truly a special and unique experience - and incredibly delicious too. We hope you'll explore our other tours soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We had great food and our guide was very informative! We learned a lot about Pasadena and tried different culinary cuisine along with way! Can't wait to give it a try again!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lillian994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tifosa23, Owner at Melting Pot Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

We are sure that Old Pasadena is waiting to welcome you back with open arms! Thank you for being our guests and for posting this very kind review, please join us for another tour soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Andrew was our guide and gave an exceptional tour with great knowledge. This was a very fun and interesting way to see the farmer's market. I would highly recommend Melting Pot and requesting Andrew if available.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank MauiDiner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeltingPotFoodTours, Owner at Melting Pot Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

We love that your tour with Andrew and the Market was such a positive one, and thank you for your recommendation! We hope you'll tour with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Diane Scalia head of MPFT and Alejandro of La Espanola Meats were consummate guides. Alejandro took us through the factory portion of the tour letting us in on the various processing & curing rooms for their signature Chorizo & Salsicha. Every aspect about making Spanish sausages was demonstrated or discussed by Alejandro. Diane was our hostess for the Paella lunch clueing us in on what the various foods were on the table as well as serving us generously the Paella in a huge metal pan.

The tour took about an hour, and then we retreated to their small covered patio where we indulged in a colorful, beautifully presented land & seafood paella that included shrimp, mussels, chicken, rough ground pork sausage, peas, slivers of green bell peppers, white beans. Red piquillo peppers & orange-yellow saffron tinged rice made of colors that reflect the Spanish national flag.

Nice bottles of white wine Albarino & a red Tempranillo were served as well as bottled water for those who abstained.

Previous to the main dish, a plate of thinly sliced dry cured Spanish sausages & salami, Manchego cheese along with cured Castelvetrano olives & whole garlic in a vinegary brine in which you can dip Spanish bread into were the appetizer.

The sweet end to the meal was Tortas, a thin,crispy, sweet flour "tortilla" flavoured w/ anise, and Rosco de Vino Mata, a dry cookie flavoured w/ wine & cinnamon.

Lastly we perused the small market that is chock full of Spanish comestibles. A whole leg of Jamon Iberico de Bellota can be bought for $1,000.00, but slices of it are also on sale so no need to panic. I find that the Spanish Jamon is overall superior to Italian Prosciutto di Parma, German Schwarzwald Schinkin, & French Jambon. Interestingly, all these cured "ham" locations were under the rule of the Roman Empire over 1,600 years ago.

I discovered the most amazingly addictive Turron de Alicante by Pablo Garrigos Ibanez. Basically it's a Nougat based in a sweet, chewy, slightly gooey egg white infused w/ Rosemary flower honey that adds a smokey, oily herbal undertone that accentuates the toasty crunchy Marcona almonds. Truly a confectionery Manna.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank garyiii2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeltingPotFoodTours, Owner at Melting Pot Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Thank you for this complimentary and comprehensive review of our La Espanola event! We love that you enjoyed the experience and have such a deep appreciation of this treasure in our own backyard! Alex and his family will love your comments, we hope you'll visit them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017

I did the East LA tour and it was great. A real slice of authentic Mexican food and history. Our guide Nick was personable and very informative. We visited many places and tried many foods giving me a real feel for this type of cuisine. Highlights were tamales for breakfast and a tortilla factory. If you want to experience the Hispanic side of Los Angeles then this is definitely your tour.

Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeltingPotFoodTours, Owner at Melting Pot Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

We love that you enjoyed and appreciated our Latin Flavors tour so much, and we really appreciate your very kind review and recommendation! Thank you for being our guests and for including us in your travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews