We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the original restaurant; superb dumplings, stellar service”
Review of Din Tai Fung

Din Tai Fung
Ranked #855 of 11,900 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We wandered into this busy, huge, new space in the Century City Mall on a crowded Saturday afternoon and were glad we did! Despite the line out front, they seated us at the bar immediately and we had an excellent lunch and drinks (wine by the glass; craft beers).

We dined on shrimp and truffle shumai, noodles with minced pork sauce, shrimp & pork dumplings, spicy vegetable & pork wontons, sweet & sour spare ribs & sautéed Taiwanese cabbage with garlic. Every single dish was outstanding and delivered hot and with lightning speed. The staff is extremely quick and efficient and there is very little wait on food even when they’re super busy. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank WehoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

The atmosphere is pleasant
Our server was so knowledgeable and nice

The food... oh the foooodddd
Had one of the best experiences with different tastes and spices

Everything impeccable and clean

And I felt in love with their chai
I could go there every week!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank coolmammaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018

This franchise is a well-oiled operation, with efficient service and interesting ambience, focused on the dumpling production behind glass walls. It was a convenient place for lunch, regardless of the 15-minute wait.
The menu and drinks list cater for most tastes. However, while most of the dishes were flavourful and attractive, the much-vaunted dumplings were only average, and not worth all the hype...

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Ok....the lines were out the door (no reservation policy), the waitress was nice, and the atmosphere was pleasant, the cooks making dumplings in a glass enclosed room ....nothing could help, in my opinion, with respect to the food. Four of us shared one sour soup, one short ribs, one mushrooms, one vegetarian noodle dish, one noodle dish with chicken, one pork and one vegetarian dumplings....all shared by the four of us. Nothing was above average. Cost was moderate at $41 per couple. Look, when there are that many people in line to eat at the establishment, you have to give them the benefit of the doubt.....but it is not for us.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lovevacationtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I couldn’t be happier that Din Tae Fung opened in Century City. As usual, the food was stellar! Dumplings to die for, spinach with garlic, and those cucumbers! New discovery: DTF ice tea! Whoa!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Suzmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Din Tai Fung also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Din Tai Fung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing