We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightfully Creepy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dearly Departed Tours

Dearly Departed Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Dearly Departed: The Tragic History Tour of Los Angeles
Ranked #13 of 234 Tours in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Murders, Deaths, Scandals and fun things happened all over Los Angeles. But it's light hearted. Promise. Dearly Departed Tours is a 3 hour tour of the Deathstyles of the Rich and Famous. Legends from Mae West and Bela Lugosi, to Whitney Houston and Michael Jackson. With a side of Hugh Grant and Chris Brown and Rihanna thrown in for good measure. "Creepy, Hilarious, but not for kids or the prissy." - Lonely Planet Also available, The Helter Skelter Tour - based solely on the Manson Murders. Join Scott Michaels, the host of the documentary, The Six Degrees of Helter Skelter will unravel this bizarre time in American History. American Horror Story based their "Eternal Darkness Tour" on us and we've been featured in Anthony Bourdain's The Layover, E! 20 Most Horrifying Hollywood Murders and The Girls Next Door. Hundreds of unedited positive reviews online, Tripatini, Yelp, Yahoo Travel and Tripadvisor. *** Because of our recent move, the MUSEUM is closed until mid to late April.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightfully Creepy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Exactly the dirt we wanted to know! Great job! We have passed your name on to everyone we know!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank zoey9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    26
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not really what is advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We booked this tour expecting to visit all the macabre places in LA.

We did enjoy the tour, but found that really only about 1/4 of it actually had to do with anything related to murders or deaths.

The rest of the tour was pointing out obscure actors homes, most who I've never even heard of, and places where movies like "Pretty Woman" were shot!

We were dissapointed that we didn't even see some of the real famous sites such as the OJ house or the Manson Murders site (I know the house is no longer there, but I'd prefer to have seen where it was than some of the other rubbish that was included).

There were too many sites to list here now, that I would have EXPECTED to be on a tour such as this, that were not there.

My suggestion to the operators is to cut the rubbish about Beverley Hillbillies and Little House on the Prairie unknown "stars" (if I just wanted to take a tour of stars homes I'd take a different tour), and concentrate on the really famous "crime and death" related places!

I was dissapointed - maybe I expected too much :(

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank odyssey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quit looking for a tour - - - you found the BEST here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Only having a few days in LA, I searched the web for a bus tour that wouldn't waste my time. I stumbled upon Dearly Departed Tours & scored!! Brian picked us up right on time. His narration/commentary kept us all interested. . . and laughing. The notebooks with pics provided for us helped with visualizing the cases. The tour was about more than just dead people, it was about Hollywood and the people that live there. This little company fills a nitch that bigger bus tour companys could not do effectively. Thank you for a great afternoon Brian!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GenCo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A unique tour in a mad city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Booked ahead through zerve.com after reading other reviews here on TA.
Flew in for the day especially for this tour whilst over in Las Vegas such was the draw of the subject.
Arrived early outside of Larry Edmunds book store on Hollywood Blvd which is where you start and finish the tour. Dearly Departed have no office, they only pick up at this point.

The store is well chosen and worth your time to look around it either pre or post tour.
Saw Brian parked up around the corner cleaning and polishing the Dearly Departed tour bus, this is a good start and a theme for the whole day, professionalism.

Bang on time the tour started and our Zerve tickets were collected (remember to take them along with you). The bus was immaculate and air conditioned, Brian put us at our ease right away and he is a shrewd judge of his clientele, pitching his material accordingly.

Well, the next three hours were the most informative time I have ever spent in L.A.
Brian not only has a deep understanding of his trade and material but can deliver its content with fun and a wonderful insight. His enthusiasm kept us literally on the edge of our seats.
The tour also has an element of interactivity which I will not spoil, if you are even considering this tour then trust me it really is for you.
Top tips, think on about your drinks, the restroom break is about one and a half hours in. So don't go guzzling sodas before the tour. On the same theme, only soft drinks to be taken on the tour and no food. The tour bus is immaculate and this is how it is kept that way.

We got to the tour by two buses from LAX and bus times can be found on metro.net all buses are $1.50 or use can use a tap card.
After the tour we caught the subway from Hollywood and Vine all the way to Union Station. From there we caught the 42 back to LAX.

So, if you do book on to the tour stand by for the most interesting one in L.A.
Brian is a real professional and you will not only be looked after but entertained and informed. The mere fact that you are considering this tour tells me that it is right for you.
It does not revel in death or morbid thought, but, we've all gotta go sometime.

Take a look at our travel map, we joined TA late in life and only review the places we have been to since joining. You may wish to trust our judgment on this very special tour.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank konstanze454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Well worth the money. You not only see the death sites of famous people, but an overall tour of the city, complete with celebrity homes. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, and the 2.5 hours completely flew by. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank am84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dearly Departed Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dearly Departed Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing