We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy burgers”
Review of Umami Burger

Umami Burger
Reserve with OpenTable
Umami Burger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 11,892 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner
Neighbourhood: Hollywood
Reviewed April 20, 2018

We ate lunch here after shopping at Amoeba. The server was very kind and helpful and the burgers were so juicy and good!

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

It was terrific to have you stop by for lunch, Lisa. We're proud to hear that the service was kind and helpful, and that you enjoyed our juicy burgers. Please come back to see us! Gratefully, Umami Burger Hollywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 437 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile

Although Umami burgers are high-quality and riddled with creative finesse, the flavors are often too experimental and diverse for the average burger lover. Yet, the quality beef patty’s are deliciously juicy at medium rare, and the fries and sauces are abundant with flavor. My recommendation: take all the sauces on the side and go for a simple burger option. The flavors will be more than enough on their own, without a handful of added pizzazz distracting you from the heart of the burger, the beef patty. Difficult to rationalize for anyone on a budget, if you’re willing to treat yourself, you won’t leave hungry. 3/5.

Thank Josiah David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Your compliments to our high quality, creative, and deliciously juicy burgers and flavorful house-made sauces are appreciated, Josiah. We strive to go above and beyond the average burger to create memorable taste experiences by serving dishes loaded with rich umami flavor, and it's our hope that our guests find great value in every bite. Our team is always happy to help guests find the perfect dish for their taste, and we hope to serve you another outstanding meal soon. Respectfully, Umami Burger Arts District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017

If you want to taste the meat then UMAMI is the place... Took my brother from out of town for lunch... few beers with our burgers and sweet potato fries (excellent).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bigbadjohnlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Thanks for visiting with your brother! The high quality meat in our burgers is ground right here in house, and our Sweet Potato Fries are the perfect complement to any meal. We hope to see you here again soon! Gratefully, Umami Burger Hollywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017

My wife and daughter (9) went here last weekend. With a kid who loves cheeseburgers but is not too adventurous about additional flavors, we were concerned that she might not love it - but she absolutely loved the kids sliders. Meanwhile, my wife said the Umami Burger was one of the best burgers she's had in recent memory, while I had the Sunny Side Up (a perfectly cooked over-easy egg on top of the burger) and it was unbelievably good.

The waitstaff was helpful (they seemingly got our order wrong initially and brought out our burgers in lettuce wraps but quickly rectified it and we got our meal about when we'd have expected it anyway, so no harm, no foul). Additionally, I had a delicious adult beverage - a maple bacon infused Old Fashioned, including a few pieces of bacon in the drink that somehow stayed crunchy (and delicious).

Finally, although we didn't try it here, the restaurant features an Impossible Burger (a plant based burger that still tastes like meat) and I've had it elsewhere. It's a great product that has real potential to help climate change (really!) and it reflects well on Umami Burger that it has added this to its arsenal of great burgers, including sliders versions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

It's spectacular to read that Umami was a hit for the entire family, from your daughter loving the sliders and your wife having one of the best burgers she's ever eaten, to your unbelievably good Sunny Side Burger. Thanks for letting us know that you received helpful service as well. We apologize for the mix up, but it's great to hear that your order was taken care of quickly. Please come back to see us and try one of our yummy Impossible Burgers! Gratefully, Umami Burger Hollywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017

This place sounded great so had to try it out.

Top end of Sunset Boulevard, its a decent walk from West Hollywood. It's also randomly situated down an alleyway so not the easiest place to locate.

Lacks charm inside, just an array of seating with no character to the venue. The staff are friendly enough although again lack the usual upbeat charm you get from an eatery in the states.

The menu is varied and has some unusual options, if you're from the UK it's a lot like Byron Burgers. The service is fine, if a little disinterested. The food arrived in good time and was all very tasty - the sweet potato fries in particular are lovely.

The burger sadly follow the ever increasing trend of creating a huge tower of ingredients that becomes to cumbersome and messy you end up battling to stop it spilling down yourself. Needed to chop it up and remove some of the toppings just to fit it into my mouth. Those with tiny mouths will struggle.

If you're in the area and fancy a more unusual burger option it's worth stopping by.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LadyMooMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

We appreciate you stopping in to try our burgers, and taking the time to share your feedback with us as well. It's great that you thought your food was very tasty, especially our Sweet Potato Fries, but we're saddened that you felt there were too many ingredients on your burger. Guest comments help us to continually improve the Umami experience, so we'll be sure to share this with our leadership team. Thanks for telling others it's worth visiting us for a unique burger. Respectfully, Umami Burger Hollywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umami Burger also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Umami Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing