We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap”
Review of Maison Giraud

Maison Giraud
Ranked #1,838 of 11,912 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: LAX Area
Cross street: Sunset Boulevard
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

This place is now closed. Really snotty attitude by the wait staff and just ok food. The last time we went there they refused to honor our reservation.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank rj100032655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2016

We were not impressed. Had a breakfast here. Not very tasty, quite expensive. Slow and not very friendly service at all. Will not come back.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Henna_M_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2016

This is a neighborhood establishment which serves very good French food. The owner-chef is in the kitchen preparing delicious variations on classic French cuisine. Home baked breads, nice wine list, attentive service. The restaurant is casual with outside seating that is quieter than the interior. Prices are high but worth it.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2016

I'm torn about Maison Giraud.

The food is good, sometimes very good (like the duck fillet & the chocolate souffle) and so too is the service, both better than you can find in many an LA eatery.

But...

I know what Alain Giraud, chef & owner of Maison Giraud, can do.

I was a huge fan of Anisette, the phenomenal restaurant in Santa Monica he helped envision and was master chef at. At Anisette every meal, and I mean every meal, and I ate there many, many dozens of times, was always filled with surprise and delight. The food was fantastic, the extra touches from presentation to details in preparation excelled, and the décor and atmosphere was such that you could truly believe you were in France for a few hours. And if you were lucky Alain would step out of the kitchen, smiling from ear to ear, lord of all he surveyed, and stop by your table, shake hands, banter a bit and absorb the adulation of the dinners who so admired this magician of the kitchen.

And when I eat at Maison Giraud, these memories come back, and I'm a little disappointed.

Because at Maison Giraud the dishes aren't as special, as magical, as filled with surprise and delight. They seem to have been simplified down, blander, more generic… And maybe this is out of necessity. Maybe this is what the Palisades crowd demands: Predictability, fresh quality ingredients, and nothing outside their comfort zone.

But…

I know another Alain Giraud, one that is truly a masterful magical wizard of great cuisine. A chef who will dazzle you with hyper-traditional French cuisine the way you wish your French grandmother made it, as well as being fully capable of delicious culinary spectacle. A man whose gregariousness is as infectious as is his smile.

And I miss him. Hopefully he will be back soon.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LePirateDeAvalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2016

Love going to the local Pacific Palisades restaurant, Maison Giraud, on Swarthmore. It's a locals favorite and has been for years. We enjoy breakfast or brunch here - usually the Eggs Benedict or Croque Madame. Nice! Hopefully it'll survive the gentrification of the area! Enjoy.....

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Giraud also viewed

 

Been to Maison Giraud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing