We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #104 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 23 February 2012

As soon as we walked in we were swept up into a short film preview reception with appletinis on tap! A totally fabulous place - and one of the most sort after club locations in down town LA! Absolutely perfect for party people - 100% better than the west Hollywood standard unless single and cruising.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LandHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

I had been to the magnificent rooftop bar of the hotel a few times, but staying at The Standard Downtown is even better. I stay in a lot of different hotels and often the ones that focus on image and being hip, aren't that comfortable and fail in generating a great vibe, but not this hotel. I stayed a Friday night and it was all good. I will be coming back.

It's not just about the nice room, good food and superb bar, it's the whole package that works at the Standard Downtown. The front desk staff were really friendly and efficient as was every member of the staff I encountered and everything from the wifi to the elevators worked in a speedy fashion.

The double room was really spacious and the furniture was comfortable, yet original and the room just felt really comfortable. The bed was really comfortable and the work desk is okay to use. The only slight niggle is that for a longer stay, the closet for your clothes is just really small, but theres enough space to keep the luggage around though.

The bathroom wall is glass, so you can see the whole room, but there is, of course, a curtain you can use. The bathroom is all white, the toilet is nicely separated from the rest of the area and the shower is really big and there's lots of room for toiletries. The toiletries the hotel providers like the lotion and soaps are of excellent quality.

The breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was excellent and the small open air area the restaurant has was really nice in the morning sunshines. The coffee was really excellent, I gotta give it a special mention.

The hotel's location is good too, easy to get on the highway and the area is only a few blocks away from Starbucks etc, though downtown LA is pretty shady one block, great another.

If you want to party for a weekend this is a great hotel, but did also fullfil all my business needs as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiotPelaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel is original (room design, roof top) if for business purpose you need to stay in Downtown LA

The corporate rate is OK 170$

Pay just attention not to break your leg with the bed when you wake up : it is on a pedestal

On the negative side, a little bit noisy if your room is on the street and not on the parking side




The rate was excellent for LA about $160. This is a very funky hotel. Located near Staples Center and excellent restaurants with good meeting rooms. The "funk" is in the decor and rooms. The decor is almost entirely in red. Beds are on a pedestal on the floor and are quite low to the floor as is the television set. the bathroom has a glass wall looking into the bedroom area. In some rooms they have a sheer curtain too close to cover the shower from view. The bathroom also has what appears to be a large porcelain bowl that serves as the sink with no real vanity to place anything. was a long table by the windows that serves as a desk/dressing area. T

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at the downtown Standard as I was going to a show at The Palace. The hotel is a short walk to the theater and very convenient to get to from the freeway. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the lobby is very fun with a pool table, ping-pong table, and a DJ in the evening. The lobby bar is small and cozy, and the rooftop bar/pool is simply fantastic with a great nighttime skyline view. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxsteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It feels like they took an old building and added modern designs. The rooms were kind of small and didnt feel clean. I didnt care for the shower window/door being so close to the bed - did not feel clean. Definitely a club scene and would recommend for people looking to party who are not looking for luxe accomodations. Good for mingling on the rooftop deck and in the lobby downstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We held our partner retreat at The Standard. The rate was excellent for LA about $160. This is a very funky hotel. Located near Staples Center and excellent restaurants with good meeting rooms. The "funk" is in the decor and rooms. The decor is almost entirely in red. Beds are on a pedestal on the floor and are quite low to the floor as is the television set. the bathroom has a glass wall looking into the bedroom area. In some rooms they have a sheer curtain too close to cover the shower from view. The bathroom also has what appears to be a large porcelain bowl that serves as the sink with no real vanity to place anything. was a long table by the windows that serves as a desk/dressing area. There is no actual dresser. There is a closet however with the safe. it took some getting used to; however, I go to like the room. It is a bit spartan but for the price was very comfortable. the exercise room is excellent, large, and oddly decorated. it is a red plaid carpet with red baseboards and wood paneling throughout. Nevertheless, it has a charm not to mention great functionality. I found it to be one of the better exercise rooms I have been in in my recent travels

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanHenningsen, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! We're working on some exciting upgrades to our quirky gym so be sure to check it out next time you're here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Standard is not for the bitter sad depressed crowds. This place is happy and fun from the lobby to the rooftop. The lobby looks almost like a nightclub totally my style!! Front desk guy was very helpful and chilled no attitude here. People be generous and please remember to tip tip tip very well it's LA not some flyover place. Tip the front desk too!! The rooms are awsome I really liked the see through shower its built for fun!! Right across my room there is a tall office building that if you open the window blinds they can see you shower so put on a show lol. Great rooftop bar with good drinks and hot chicks. This place is totally my style and vibe. It's like a hotel on Prozac or blow but even better. Guys check out the escort ads right above the urinals in the John by the lobby. The morning front desk girl the blonde is a totall beauty too!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFirully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,201 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#92 of 355 in Los Angeles
436 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#53 of 355 in Los Angeles
741 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $262 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing