We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for retreat and team-building”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Great Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bar Room
The Master Bedroom
Patio
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Stairs
Pool at night
The Twin Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
Bathroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
Second Bathroom
Grounds
Grounds
Second Bathroom
The Pool
Hallways
Grounds
Grounds
guesthouse
wedding on the old grass
wedding on the old grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Los Angeles, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
terrat201...
Pasadena, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for retreat and team-building”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Each year I take a team of teachers (8 people) away on retreat to get ready for the upcoming school year. In the past we've booked hotels, and have had a really good time. We wanted to try something different this year, and this home offered all that we needed, the chance to cook our own food and do some good planning and bonding. The property and views are beautiful We bbqd, played mini golf, and swam late in the pool, waterfall and jacuzzi, and made breakfast and planned our entire school year in the morning. Michael was an attentive and accessible host, and we will definitely consider this option again next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas S
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“This place is fantastic!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I just spent three nights at this mansion together with eight friends. We had a great time at the house, spending most of our time at the pool table and in the outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi.
The house is very big, easily fitting nine people. One king size bed in the master bedroom, three queen size beds and a few mattresses and couches were more than enough to accommodate all of us. The master bedroom, by the way, is huge and features a walk-in closet and bathroom with hot tub and enormous shower.
There are plenty of things to do. Pool table, darts, pinball machines, swimming pool, putting green, and TVs to name a few.
The location is also perfect. Sitting on top of a hill, there are practically no neighbors, and there is a 360 degree amazing view.
The owner is great. Very relaxed and responds immediately to requests to start the jacuzzi or pool lights or any other questions.
All in all, the house is great and I would love to come back, but I would definitely stay for more than three days next time!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josiah b
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful mansion for party rental!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I just had a wonderful birthday party at the Penfield Mansion. We arrived and set up in the kitchen midday and found plenty of bowls and utensils for preparing for a party. The kitchen is spacious and has plenty of counter space for setting out food for guests. The house is spacious and has a wonderful open flow. The décor is slightly dated, it feels 70's, but we actually loved the retro, old school vibe. The pool is amazing. There's a waterfall as well as a wonderful Jacuzzi and you can get outdoor lights and all pool equipment turned on by sending a text to the owner. There's a beautiful ballroom that's wonderful for dancing, but there aren't any speakers from the main sound system in the house in that room. Bring your own sound system if you want to utilize the ballroom. The speakers throughout the house are splendid, you can plug in a computer, iPhone, or Ipod through an auxiliary cord and play your own music. It can range from background music to louder party music even at half volume. The bedrooms are all comfortable and cute and there are bathrooms everywhere. The house does have some clutter in the cabinets and in some little nooks and crannies, but it didn't affect our stay at all. It's prefect for hosting a party or longer stays for families or retreats. There's a Ralph's five minutes down the street as well as a Starbucks and some fast food. The view from the house is beautiful as well. The balcony from the master bedroom looks down on the valley and it's amazing. There's a pool table, pinball machines, trampoline, and mini golf course so there's plenty to keep you busy.

Also, the owner is fantastic. He was super quick to respond to any inquiries and was kind, generous, and friendly throughout our interactions. I definitely recommend the Penfield Mansion for your next vacation or party rental!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, jacuzzi, and yard.
Liked least: The parking was a little difficult for a large party.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie M
1 review
“GORGEOUS HOME!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wonderful home! Celebrated a birthday party here and I'm glad I chose this location!! The owner Mike helped us out a lot, and helped run the process of renting this house smoothly. The house has a lot of space, and many games to play. The house sits on a hill, and you can see the valley; very stunning at night. All the guests were amazed by the amount of space, pool, bar, and dance room. It's a great choice for parties or gatherings of any kind!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing