We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Old Los Angeles Style Roast Beef” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philippe the Original

Philippe the Original
Ranked #7 of 9,667 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic Old Los Angeles Style Roast Beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Located a block and a half from Union Station, Philippe's is a fantastic throwback with great sandwiches. Ask them for the sandwich "double dipped" for just the right amount of au jus soaked into the baguette. Don't forget to read over the expansive menu of sides to find just what you're in the mood for. Coleslaw? A favorite of mine. Coffee? I think it's up to 45 cents a cup. Lemonade? 75 cents.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleFlyerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    444
    145
    38
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great roast beef!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Home of the original! I'm not a meat eater but I enjoyed a good, hearty, juicy bite. My boyfriend polished the whole sandwich off in no time and wanted a second. Super spicy mustard, so good we purchased a bottle before we left. Super cozy, casual atmosphere (sawdust on the floor!) and packed with locals. The banana cream pie was more like a banana mousse pie, and very good. Wish we had known they served breakfast! We will try that next time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a great sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a Los Angeles Landmark. Great french dipped sandwiches at very reasonable prices. The 1930's decor and environment are a pleasant change from the normal environment you find in L.A. eateries.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jerrykritzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
267 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Awesome food but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just a great palce to get that French dip sandwhich!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank F5993GMericd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quitman, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good roast beef sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Had the roast beef sandwich was good food at a good price

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Philippe the Original also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Philippe the Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing