We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Cottage B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Cottage B & B
Ranked #3 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Everything you could want in a B&B - a wonderful, charming, helpful hostess; comfortable clean rooms; a great breakfast, and a fine location. Garden Cottage is a 10 minute walk from the famous old Farmer's Market, close enough to the LACMA and La Brea tar pit museums. Close to several LA metro bus lines, too. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood but with good restaurants just minutes away by foot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoredOfWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    20
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
163
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed with Ahuva and Bob for 5 nights this month and had a wonderful time there. The B and B is beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever had. Ahuva and Bob were very kind and hospitable, we enjoyed chatting with them over breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. The location was ideal, a very nice area with lots of resturants and bars within walking distance and the farmers market just down the road. We felt very lucky to have found Garden cottage and plan to be back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This was our second visit in the last year. This time we stayed in the newly remodeled garden cottage. Once again Bob and Ahuva were great hosts. The location is perfect, near Farmer's Market, The Grove, LACMA, La Brea Tar Pits Museum, Little Ethiopia, and the 3rd Street shops and restaurants. The only complaint is we were not able to stay longer. The cottage is great for longer stays and families since it has its own full kitchen. A street pass makes parking an ease and you can also walk to many of the sites. The breakfast provided is fresh, delicious, healthy and filling. Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We spent a few days in the "garden suite" in August 2011.
Everything was perfect.
Thank you so much to Bob and Ahuda.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripFanCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Really good location in walking distance to Farmer's Market, and transport anywhere. A well cared for place, lovely breakfasts and personalised service. Even when the electricity went off in the suburb, Bob and Ahuva were there to take care of us and the other guests!

Room Tip: We had the garden view room - very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lycetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We live in Southern CA and decided we wanted to spend some time in LA for our anniversary. We were nervous about where to stay, but are dedicated Tripadvisor users and thankfully found this gem! The location is fabulous-- a quiet residential area within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. We walked to The Little Door for a romantic anniversary dinner and would most definitely recommend! We stayed in the spacious Terrace Room, with a comfy bed, WiFi, and perfect private patio. Ahuva's breakfasts just can't be beat--- eggs, fruit, yogurt, cheese, bread-- yum! Bob was fun for my husband to talk sports with, too! We will most definitely be back and will recommend this lovely bed & breakfast to all our friends visiting LA!

Room Tip: Splurge on the Terrace Room and have a great private patio, complete with a peaceful fountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missamiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

If you like a quiet sanctuary where after a hard days work or tourism then this is your place. We stayed with my parents and shared the downstairs two-room suite. This suited us perfectly as it gave us privacy but kept us connected. The beds were super comfortable, great linen and free wifi across the property.

Ahuva's and Bob's hospitality was friendly but not obtrusive. We enjoyed the fruit salad and granola parfaits for breakfast.

We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in LA.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NGRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#29 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#95 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage B & B

Property: Garden Cottage B & B
Address: 8318 W 4th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Garden Cottage Hotel Los Angeles
Garden Cottage Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing