We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Angeleno(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$504
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$276
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$389
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$145
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
110
177
94
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
177
94
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree dinnerown bathrooma private double roomgriffith observatoryfree parkingchinese theatrethe room was niceshort staysanta monicavenice beachmetro stationuniversal studiosbeverly hillshosteldormfamebackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in a private room at the Banana Bungalow aka Vibe Hotel. We arrived late in the evening but check-in was quick and friendly.

The room was basic, but homely for a couple of travellers. It's a clean, bright, loud and funky! The bathroom / shower had a few ants but on the whole was good. Sleeping was occasionally disturbed by loud traffic on a busy Hollywood Blvd.

The place itself provides a free breakfast, cereal and toast. The staff are friendly and happy to help. They also run various social events at the hostel including FREE pizza night.

Tours can be booked directly from the Hostel which was extremely convenient.

Location is great, just a short walk to main Hollywood and the Subway.

All in all, a pleasant stay.

Tom & Fi - http://gonetravel.in

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandfigonetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had a 1 night stopover with a friend in LA before carrying on to Orlando. Was very handy to explore the tourist spots of LA that we had to see given the short time we were there. Arrived early in the morning so appreciated being able to have a shower after a long flight and store our bags until check in.
There was a hostel party that night which was a really good idea and so much fun but we were exhausted so didnt stay long.
Would recommend staying here for being right in the middle of Hollywood Boulevard!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just had a layover for the night in LA. Room was clean, staff were friendly and let me hang out after check out till was time to head to the airport. Wifi worked great. Shower was good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comradeotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights, paid to have a private room with ensuite.

Great location, just a short walk to the heart of Hollywood. Free breakfast was a plus. TV in the room was also a good touch for lazy evenings after busy days.

The hotel was mainly just used as a base - we'd leave in the morning and return in the evening so we didn't really use any of the facilities or free activities they offered. A great touch was the free internet and free to use computers - there were computers right outside our room which was really good.

There was quite a lot of noise from within the hostel which we found very annoying when trying to sleep. The actual hostel entertainment would always end at 11 or 12 which was good, but that didn't stop other travellers from carrying on.

You get what you pay for and this place was cheap for a private room compared to motels and hotels in Hollywood. Can't argue with how great the location is, so for that reason I'm glad we stayed here. If I went back to LA I would definitely pay more to stay somewhere less noisy than this hostel though (and this is coming from someone who had spent the previous 3 months staying in hostels).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hostel was pretty basic just some beds and a bathroom to be shared with a group but it's location on Hollywood Boulevard was so convenient with the Walk of Fame right outside your door and Grauman's Chinese Theatre just a 15 minute walk. You can also see the Hollywood sign from the hostel. However, it was excessively loud as other guests in the room and around the hostel were drinking and coming in and out of the room all night. The beds were squeaky almost to the point where you would wake up everytime someone in the room moved in their bunk. We were given an 8 bed dorm when we paid for a 6 bed and when we spoke to management they said all the 6 bed dorms were taken which is strange because that's why you book in advance, to guarantee a room. Also, when we walked into the 8 bed dorm it was excessively hot and that's when we discovered the oven in the adjoining kitchen had been left on at the highest temperature, bit unsafe, who knows how long it had been on for. Also everyone at the hostel smokes marijuana, including the staff, when we checked out for an early flight at 5am, the people in reception were rolling joints as they bid us farewell. A decent place if you're not too fussy and on a budget. Also to end on a good note: email them about the shuttle bus, if you stay for 3 nights, the hostel reimburses you for your trip from the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgiaKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews