We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome hippy dwelling in Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An awesome hippy dwelling in Hollywood”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

What colours, what hippy LA style!
My husband and I had a ball at this hostel!
It was cheap, in a reasonably good location in Hollywood (about a 15-20min walk to the Kodak Theater), and the staff were AWESOME!
We had a private double room, it was pretty small, but bearable.
The breakfast was pretty basic, but there is a grocery store just pass the Kodak Theater so we bought some fresh food and stored it in our refrigerator which worked a TREAT!
We booked all our activities through the hostel and we weren't disappointed, the bus tour of LA that the hostel ran was great!
The rooms were a little shabby, but cleaned every day, there was always a social event in the evenings, and it could get quite loud- if your not interested in partying or unable to sleep with background noise this is probably not the hostel for you.
If we had time we would have loved to split our stay in LA between the Hollywood and West Hollywood Banana Bungalow Hostels- both are positioned fantastically!
Carmen & Ross
Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenannwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    165
    88
    33
    28
See reviews for
10
81
105
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in a private room at the Banana Bungalow aka Vibe Hotel. We arrived late in the evening but check-in was quick and friendly.

The room was basic, but homely for a couple of travellers. It's a clean, bright, loud and funky! The bathroom / shower had a few ants but on the whole was good. Sleeping was occasionally disturbed by loud traffic on a busy Hollywood Blvd.

The place itself provides a free breakfast, cereal and toast. The staff are friendly and happy to help. They also run various social events at the hostel including FREE pizza night.

Tours can be booked directly from the Hostel which was extremely convenient.

Location is great, just a short walk to main Hollywood and the Subway.

All in all, a pleasant stay.

Tom & Fi - http://gonetravel.in

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandfigonetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had a 1 night stopover with a friend in LA before carrying on to Orlando. Was very handy to explore the tourist spots of LA that we had to see given the short time we were there. Arrived early in the morning so appreciated being able to have a shower after a long flight and store our bags until check in.
There was a hostel party that night which was a really good idea and so much fun but we were exhausted so didnt stay long.
Would recommend staying here for being right in the middle of Hollywood Boulevard!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just had a layover for the night in LA. Room was clean, staff were friendly and let me hang out after check out till was time to head to the airport. Wifi worked great. Shower was good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comradeotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights, paid to have a private room with ensuite.

Great location, just a short walk to the heart of Hollywood. Free breakfast was a plus. TV in the room was also a good touch for lazy evenings after busy days.

The hotel was mainly just used as a base - we'd leave in the morning and return in the evening so we didn't really use any of the facilities or free activities they offered. A great touch was the free internet and free to use computers - there were computers right outside our room which was really good.

There was quite a lot of noise from within the hostel which we found very annoying when trying to sleep. The actual hostel entertainment would always end at 11 or 12 which was good, but that didn't stop other travellers from carrying on.

You get what you pay for and this place was cheap for a private room compared to motels and hotels in Hollywood. Can't argue with how great the location is, so for that reason I'm glad we stayed here. If I went back to LA I would definitely pay more to stay somewhere less noisy than this hostel though (and this is coming from someone who had spent the previous 3 months staying in hostels).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hostel was pretty basic just some beds and a bathroom to be shared with a group but it's location on Hollywood Boulevard was so convenient with the Walk of Fame right outside your door and Grauman's Chinese Theatre just a 15 minute walk. You can also see the Hollywood sign from the hostel. However, it was excessively loud as other guests in the room and around the hostel were drinking and coming in and out of the room all night. The beds were squeaky almost to the point where you would wake up everytime someone in the room moved in their bunk. We were given an 8 bed dorm when we paid for a 6 bed and when we spoke to management they said all the 6 bed dorms were taken which is strange because that's why you book in advance, to guarantee a room. Also, when we walked into the 8 bed dorm it was excessively hot and that's when we discovered the oven in the adjoining kitchen had been left on at the highest temperature, bit unsafe, who knows how long it had been on for. Also everyone at the hostel smokes marijuana, including the staff, when we checked out for an early flight at 5am, the people in reception were rolling joints as they bid us farewell. A decent place if you're not too fussy and on a budget. Also to end on a good note: email them about the shuttle bus, if you stay for 3 nights, the hostel reimburses you for your trip from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgiaKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

if your looking for somewhere to stay in Hollywood look no further, this is the one. stayed in an eight bed dorm which actually had two four bed rooms in it, an awesome kitchen and a bathroom. free parking is the perfect bonus in LA, and not having to leave the hostel to party makes life a little too easy. free beers every night and even free dinner on our second night, toast and cereal for breakfast, wifis good, security is perfect and you can see the hollywood sign from the veranda. loved having parties in our room and down stairs, everyone was really fun and the guy that checked us in was a super hottie too!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#73 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 85 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#7 of 85 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#10 of 85 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#6 of 85 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. We provide awesome rooms and dorms with many conveniences so you will definitely be comfortable. Our staff is cool and friendly, they will hook you up with Hollywood and LA. In the morning you can enjoy a free breakfast in our Tiki Garden, meet up with other travelers and plan your day. We offer many daytime activities or you can venture out and explore the city. Then in the evening we have nightly gatherings where you can meet and greet new people, plan your night and then head out into the coolest party city in California. We also offer many night time activities or you can hit the town with your new international friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing