We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, so-so location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #7 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, so-so location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I spent five nights at the Omni (room 1413) for a conference: I shared the room with an 11 y.o. boy, so I can comment a bit on its suitability for children. First, let me confirm all the positive comments about the staff: the breakfast room people are wonderful; the front door staff, led by Charles, are spectacular. I had a car and regularly had to have it brought around - you could not ask for a better group of people. The breakfast buffet is (amazingly) a decent bargain at $20 [$10 for kids]: McCann's oatmeal; bacon that tastes like bacon; decent bread; drinkable coffee; fresh OJ. Far, far superior to most hotel buffets (and cheaper than lesser buffets at many comparable hotels). The room was pretty standard: comfortable size, two double beds, great view, wonderful shower (blessings upon the person who put in an old-fashioned shower head, with a hard, steady flow). We did not use the bathtub, which looked like it needed to be updated. In addition to breakfast, we had a dinner in the bar: outstanding fish and chips (and we were eating with people from Brighton, England, so they knew f&c), solid burger. The workout room is ok, the pool is a joke - nice deck for sunning, but the pool is tiny and only 3'-6" deep throughout: it's suitable as a wading pool for kids, and that's about it. The concert hall is nearby, as are many office buildings; central LA is not that great a location. We got an excellent conference rate, which made the hotel a genuine bargain for central LA. (Hence the 5 stars for value: I cannot say the same would be true at regular rates, whatever they are.) Downstairs in the plaza, you can get a decent salad for $8 and there is a sandwich place that was so mobbed we could not get in (all the places down there seem to close at 3). Nearby restaurants were ok, but there are surely better food neighborhoods in LA. All in all, 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayarddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,144
    1,044
    211
    60
    34
See reviews for
705
1,044
206
1,036
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Fantastic hotel, great staff. Every single person in the hotel seemed trained to solve problems. Wonderful shower and toiletries. Beautiful lobby and comfy beds (pillows might have been better). Delicious food in Noe and at breakfast. Was attending a conference, and the Omni staff went above and beyond for us to have a wonderful meeting, even though we were competing for space with an NBA team staying in the hotel. I don't normally get my hopes up about conference hotels, but the hotel absolutely exceeded my expectations, and everyone at the conference raved about it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Person2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The is the best of the LA hotels I have stayed in recently. The rooms are beautiful and clean and recently updated. The hotel seems to be a little quieter than some of the others in the area (in a good way) but still has the same amenities and feel. I would recommend, and will stay here again when visiting LA!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfitzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here with family for combination business / vacation. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. The front of desk staff are all very efficient and courteous. The pool / exercise center is clean and well-appointed. No hot tub or sauna, unfortunately, and the pool is outdoors so it can get cold and windy.

The milk and cookies provided every evening was a great touch, and adds to the family-friendly appeal of the hotel. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants but relied heavily on a late-night convenience store with a wide array or prepared foods. Again, a family-friendly alternative.

The hotel provides a town car service for around downtown, which can be convenient especially since parking is insanely expensive and, like most of Los Angeles, you do need to drive to get anywhere.

The hotel is right on top of MOCA and the Disney Concert Hall, which can have its drawbacks especially if a special event is booked (as it was when we were there, and the noise was deafening). Other nearby points of interest include Calle Alameda, an outdoor Mexican market, and Little Tokyo. The Staples Center is nearby as well.

The downtown core is no longer the cultural wasteland it once was, and this hotel offers a convenient and very comfortable place to get to know the area.

Room Tip: Remember that a nice view of the Disney Concert Hall can also mean a noisy night. Check MOCA and Dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Omni for her birthday getaway. Everything about the hotel was first class. The service was outstanding...from the front desk to the cleaning staff. The hotel even sent up a small birthday cake! The Omni Club was a great surprise. Both restaurants, Noe and the Grand Cafe, were outstanding as well. Walking distance to the Ahmanson Theatre if you feel like walking. If not, the hotel even offers complementary town car service to the shows.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLEMS0N91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We're happy to hear you had a wonderful birthday getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemet, ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

If you are going to LA to visit the WD Concert Hall, Dorothy Chandler or MOCA this is an excellent location - within 2 short blocks. Plus it is adjacent to a plaza with mini marts, restaurants and a Starbucks.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennie349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I just want to highlight the excellent service from everyone here, which was above and beyond a normal 4-star hotel. The staff at breakfast was really pro, and I even saw the chef coming out to inspect the buffet and make the slightest changes. There is also a nice bar with good service, but it can't shake the business hotel bar vibe. The bellmen were happy to hail cabs, take luggage and provide directions with a smile. When I missed a bus to the convention center they rolled up the hotel car and drove me there.

Outside of the great service, it is a stock 4-star hotel infrastructure. Rooms were very pleasant and clean though not remarkable. But it is distinguished by the people there. I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nyquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing