We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #8 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was my first stay at this downtown LA hotel which I surprised how close it is to the Walt Disney Concert Hall. I will definitely consider staying here if attending an evening concert or event. I would rather stay at an Omni than the nearby Westin Bonaventure. Being a member of their free Select Guest program gets me fresh orange juice or coffee delivered to the door in the morning with the newspaper. I chose orange juice because they had a coffee maker in the room with decent coffee to use. The large flat screen TV was also a nice addition to an already nicely appointed and modern room.

Room Tip: Join their free Select Guest program for freebies at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicago2socal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,774 - 2,780 of 3,824 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here during our layover days on the way to Bora Bora (we are from Texas). I am an Omni select guest because Omni never disappoints. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Omni floor 17 Club. This is a private floor with a lounge that serves free alcohol in the evenings and free food all day as well as great views of the city. The service was top notch as always, hotel was clean, and all employees were very courteous and respectful. Free town car service in a 3 mile radius beats paying for cabs and you ride in style. Nothing negative to say, Omni always does it right.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for your compliments! We hope you enjoyed Bora Bora, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Excellent "downtown" hotel, great stay! Within minutes of my call, the hotel sent a town car to LA Union Station-at 10 o'clock on a Sunday evening. Front desk staff was efficient and personable, my room was exactly as requested and very comfortable-I'd like to buy one of their King size beds! Attractive and friendly bar, and breakfast in the restaurant was wonderful-a little pricey, but expected at a facility of this class. The hotel is adjacent to the LA Museum of Contemporary Art, and a block from the Disney Theatre. Overall, a very good hotel at a fair price. Recommended highly!

Room Tip: ask for a "plaza view" room on one of the higher floors for a great morning view of the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for your compliments! We will share them with our associates, and give them the recognition they deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I would give this hotel 4 1/2 stars if there was such a choice given by Tripadvisor.

We checked in on-line, but when we arrived at the hotel, our key was not ready (How secure is it by the way? It looked like anybody could grab any key on the wall and go into anybody's room.) It was not a big deal - no other guests were at the front desk, so we promptly received our key. However... when we entered our room, it looked like somebody had just left! The TV was on full volume, one of the beds was undone, there was half-eaten food on the table, bathroom had been used. We called the front desk and promptly we received another room.
We had hoped for an upgrade, but it didn't happen. A few hours later the hotel delivered to our new room a tray with fruit and cheese, and a written apology for the initial mess-up. It was a nice gesture.
Other than that - no complaints. The hotel seemed clean and "fresh", everybody was very nice and helpful.
It is definitely worth to sign up for their free loyalty program - you get free wifi, 2 free beverages in the morning, you can request extra towels, extra newspaper, etc.
Also - I highly recommend Noe restaurant at the hotel - pricy, but delicious food, very professional and welcoming service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_citizen_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

We are truly embarrassed and sorry for the check-in error. We are happy to hear that we were able to still exceed your expectations for the rest of your stay. Please rest assured that this issue has been discussed with our Director of Rooms to ensure that this does not happen to another guest. We appreciate your patronage, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

this hotel is located by restaurants and stores that are open during the week. pretty much on the weekend, most of the places are closed. the hotel parking is expensive so we had to park a block away in a paid parking lot. very nice architecture around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do try to stay competitive with the other downtown hotels when it comes to pricing, including our parking rates. For your safety, our valet parking offers security to your vehicles, and we just want to note that some of the surrounding locations do not have overnight surveillance. We hope that you will take that into consideration before selecting a parking location. Thank you again, and we look forward to, hopefully, welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for two nights in January while on a business trip. As succinctly as possible, it's a great location in downtown LA and a beautiful hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed, large, and featured very comfortable beds. The fitness center was a decent size and had most of the amenities required for a good workout away from home. I appreciated that Omni Select Guests get free internet. My one gripe is that I stayed in an adjoining room and the door musn't be sound proof because I found the noise level to be ridiculous for a hotel of this caliber. I heard every conversation and bodily function from my neighbors and there's really no excuse for that. My recommendation would be to stay in a non-adjoining room, if you have the option, to ensure you have a pleasant night's sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy a quiet night's sleep during your stay with us. Our guests are our first priority, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk to request a change of rooms, and we will be more than happy to accommodate, if available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent only one night here in March...took the train up from San Diego to see a concert (Keith Jarett, jazz pianist) at the Walt Disney. I would have liked to have stayed longer...

The staff were great--from doorman to reception to room service to housekeeping (I managed to break a glass, and they came right away and vacuumed and replaced the glass).

Our room was on the 6th floor with a bit of a view (two high-rise condo buildings across the street blocked most of the view). The room was large, with two double beds, a comfortable wing chair, a desk with desk chair and a bureau containing mini-bar, drawers, coffee service, ice bucket and glassware. Atop the bureau was a 48" (?) Panasonic TV. The furniture was walnut. The beds were fitted with thick mattresses with pill-top and wonderfully soft linens and duvet. Very comfy. The decor was pleasing--muted tans and off-whites. Nice art work on the walls. Temperature could be controlled by thermostat.

The bath was spacious; it had a glass-enclosed, nicely tiled shower as well as a separate bath tub. The vanity was contemporary in style with marble top, etc. The bath amenities were high quality. Plenty of plush towels too.

We dined at Kendall's in front of the Dorothy Chandler Pavillion and therefore did not sample the cuisine at Noe's in the hotel. We did pass by it, and it looked very inviting. However, our room service lunch (a curried chicken salad and a soup du jour) was tasty,
generously sized, and at the right temperature (hot soup, cold salad.) It was a bit pricey, but what isn't these days?

It was important to use to be close to the Walt Disney Concert Hall. We needed only to exit the hotel on the third floor onto Grand, walk a block and change, and voila! We were there!
However, a big plus it that the hotel offers a town car for shuttling to nearby venues. (When we left the next morning for Union Station, we were offered a shuttle, but there would have been a 10 minute delay, and we were running late, so we took a cab.)

WE had no complaints, enjoyed all aspects of the hotel that we sampled, and will no doubt return. (The $40 parking fee is overboard, but we did not drive there.)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseM552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms. We hope that you enjoyed the Keith Jarrett concert as well, and look forward to having you back with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,184 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $291 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing