We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$274
US$236
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$272
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$444
US$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$504/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$159
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$308
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
US$107
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$539/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$385
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$405/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveller rating
453
595
421
177
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
595
421
177
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity walkclub roomtheme parkfree shuttlewalking distance to universal studiosvisiting universalself parkinglobby barhollywood hillsshuttle serviceconciergecitywalkburbankconferenceconveniencefreewaystarbucks
Filter
Updating list...
1,292 - 1,297 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

After staying at the Westin Bonaventure for one week for a convention on our last night in LA we stayed here. We had a great view, loved the club room and services. The hotel smells so clean and pretty. Staff very nice except young lady working in gift shop did not barely speak to us or ask us if we needed help with all the tshirts we were looking through, but that was ok she maybe had a rough day. My son was numbed the hot tub was down but then again it is January and cold. We were able to take the little universal bus up the hill to universal studios and city walk and it was close enough to the metro subway that we could go see the Chinese Graumans theater and snap photos of famous actors foot prints and hand prints. I am for sure coming back to this hotel in Hollywood.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. Your comments are most valuable and will be shared with the managers involved . I am glad to know that you had a great visit and enjoyed the hotel and convenient location that allowed you easy access to some great sightseeing spots. It is our hope that you will return again soon, and thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the staff superb, the rooms were clean and comfortable. I was only disappointed by the amount of noise I could hear from the adjacent room and the hallway. We were in a corner room on the 17th floor. We could hear every word from the people next door. This certainly dampened our experience as it made me super conscientious. Not a good match for a romantic getaway...Once we chatted with the staff at the front desk they immediately explained the hotel was booked to capacity and they offered us another room on the club level. It was a bit smaller than the previous one but so much quieter. I only wished I had made the request much sooner.

All in all a good stay for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: If you like privacy ask for a room without neighbors if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_vacationing10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write and I sincerely apologize for the noise issue from the adjacent room. We certainly would make any accommodations to assist. Your comfort is our first and main priority. It is great to read that the staff made you feel at home and assisted as quickly as possible. We do hope you decide to return so we can help create for more great memory’s for you , here at the Sheraton Universal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a concert to attend, and we could not find anyone to take care of our wonderful household mascot, our long haired dachshund.. We decided to take her with us on her first trip, and searched for a hotel last minute. Other reviews showed that the Sheraton was very pet friendly, and they indeed were.

I was happy to see upon arrival that othes had doggies as well, so I didn't feel awkward. We were greeted warmly, and were told where the relief areas were..The staff was super friendly and easy going.

The rooms were nice, the bathroom is a little cramped and a little dated, but overall were clean and nice.

You can't beat this hotel for the location and amenities though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zepol95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest, we certainly are pet friend and we know how important pets are to our guests, they are part of the family! I’m happy that you felt comfortable upon arrival. Your feedback on the rooms are crucial and will certainly be shared. Please keep me as your contact for any future visits. We would be happy to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As soon as we pulled up in front of the hotel we experienced top tier customer service. That continued right through until we departed the next day. Check in was quick and friendly with all staff willing to help out where needed (we were travelling with 3 teenagers and one pre-teen).
While Universal Studios is a short walk from the hotel the shuttle was a convenient lifesaver.
The hotel staff was also accommodating for a late checkout on one of our rooms when one of our children fell ill.

The only complaint of our stay had to do with the connectivity to the wifi. While the signal said full strength, no one in our travel party was able to establish a full wifi connection with any type of device (phone, laptop, ipad, itouch, etc...)

It is quite likely that we would stay at this hotel again when visiting Universal Studios.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22suzieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest, we certainly appreciate the feedback and thank you for letting us know about he wi-fi connection issue. It is great to see that we assisted with a late check out , especially if a family member is not feeling well. The comfort and convenience of our guests is the highest priority for the Sheraton Team. We are happy to read that you may return again. It would be our pleasure to invite you back again soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here in December 2012 for 2 nights.

The room was what I would expect from a Sheraton hotel. Check in was quick.

There is a reasonable restaurant, which also provides a buffet breakfast.
During bar closing hours in the day, you can purchase coffee here, my only disappointment was being given a table to sit and drink at, and then have a manager/supervisor have a go at the other staff for sitting me there as it was made up for lunch. This could have been done out of my earshot rather than next to me.


Universal park and City walk are about a 5-10 minute walk, although there is a complimentary shuttle that runs roughly every 15 minutes from the Sheraton and Hilton hotels up to to Universal.

I was given a complimentary late check out as I was not being collected for the airport until about 1600, as i had Starwood Preferred guest (SPG) membership.

The underground is a short walk down the hill and across the main road which gives access to other areas of LA.
Since my last visit, you now have to purchase a TAP card (Similar to Oyster/Myki/Octopus, depending where you are from). There is a small charge for the card, and then you top up as necessary. Once topped up, very easy to use.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest, we certainly appreciate the feedback. It is through concerned guests such as yourself that we gain insight into areas that may have otherwise been over looked. It good to know that you encountered some great associates that help make your experience at the hotel a good one. We do hope that you will visit us again soon and it would be my pleasure to assist with your room reservation .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews