We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A hotel with a personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Before staying in Magic Castle Hotel with my family during March 2012, I always felt a little surprised that such a small hotel has been able to maintain its 2nd position in Tripadvisor for such a long time in competition with much larger and more glamorous rivals. After our stay I think I have found the answer. It is the staffs at this hotel, starting from Front Desk to Housekeeping, which has made this a traveller’s favourite. It is not only the service but the way you are getting the service makes a big difference. May be the small size of the hotel helps the staff to cater to individual needs but the main factor here is the positive attitude and it comes through quite clearly.
It is not that everything is perfect at this hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is an old apartment block which has been converted into a hotel with a pool in the middle and some part of the property shows its age. Some of the furniture and fixtures needs improvement and looks and feel dated and if you are staying at the upper level of rooms like us then anybody with a mobility issue will have a problem. Of course the lady at the reception helped my wife with her luggage but as there is no elevator at this property you have to climb a few stairs. But apart from these we do not have any other issues with this hotel. The rooms are actually one bedroom apartments with plenty of space. The hotel provides free soft drinks, snacks and DVD movies throughout the day which was a big hit with our son. The breakfast is a small affair with limited choices but whatever was offered was of good quality and enough to start our day. The hotel does not have a restaurant but if you are feeling tired and do not wish to go out then the staff provides menus of a number of nearby restaurants and will help you in placing the order. We ordered pizza on one occasion and the delivery was fast and the taste was good. Of course being just next to the Hollywood Boulevard there are number of eating options nearby covering all kind of budgets and taste. Major tourist attractions like Madam Tussauds, Kodak Theatre and Grauman’s Chinese Theatre are all within five minutes walking distance as is the Hollywood and Highland metro station from where the Universal Studio is just a station away. The area felt quite but totally safe during our stay and we did not encounter any problem even during late evening. The hotel provides secure parking at the ground level but it is not free. Free Wi-Fi is provided and the connection speed was pretty good. We could not find any convenience store nearby and bought our necessities including water from the petrol station next to Renaissance Hotel which is a short walk away.
All in all we are very happy with our stay at the Magic Castle hotel and it has remained as one of our favourite during our 16 day vacation even though we stayed with bigger properties and brand names at other cities and will not hesitate to come back at all.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms at the back have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    564
    121
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,386
777
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a fantastic hotel!
Took it on recommendation from trip advisor reviews and have not regretted it.
It s the little details that make for a great experience.
The location is incredible especially for the price. There is parking. A heated pool in a shaded courtyard perfect for the kids. Greeted with a smile and welcome drinks on arrival.
Complementary snacks and drinks, great continental breakfast next to the pool. Info on tables telling you what day it is(!), weather forecast for day and what sport, concerts and other things going on that day. Free DVDs to borrow. Front desk so helpful. Only downsides - noise at night if light sleeper, room a bit drabby and when we were there lots of other Brits staying!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed three nights at the Magic Castle Hotel and loved it. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The apartments were very spacious and had everything we needed. They are a little old around the edges but we didn't even care as the service, location and facilities were excellent. The swimming pool is heated and there's a laundry! There are also free snacks and drinks and a free breakfast! Unbelievable value in a brilliant location! If we're ever back in LA we will definitely stay here again. The kids have both compared every other hotel since then to the Magic Castle Hotel and found them wanting.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front as the street noise can be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melb-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed at the Magic Castle for nine nights and was pleasantly surprised by the fantastic service, given the price. The hotel is located one street behind Hollywood Blvd, so it's close to restaurants, attractions and more.

The staff were fantastic - from the security guard, to housekeeping, to the front desk - and were happy to provide directions to notable spots like the Hollywood sign (although they neglected to mention the three mile hike up the hill to get the best pictures!). The free mini bar was a treat and the breakfast was fantastic, which made up for the properties one flaw - the ridiculously sized parking structure. It's small,yet there is enough public transport nearby to not need a vehicle. We stayed in a one room suite which was clean, complete with all the basic amenities including a fridge and a safe. Loved the bathrobes, free wi-fi and the cookies in the lobby. Sparkling lemonade on arrival makes guests feel like they're staying at a four or possible five star. Gary and Nick were extremely helpful.

Loved the turn down service! Housekeeping provide chocolates and even a weather report for the following day right to your door.

Would definitely visit again - yet would opt for the full suite if we were to stay longer. I would recommend this hotel to families too. If you're looking for a hotel with a laid back atmosphere at a decent price in Hollywood, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

One block behind the Chinese Theatre and walk of fame...the perfect location! You can walk to all the Hollywood sights and the Hollywood / Highland subway station is just under the mall - and just one station to Universal Studios. We chose a smaller room ( Next time I would opt for a bigger one!! ) but the service more than compensated for the tiny room on the 3rd floor (no elevator)...sparkling apple juice on arrival, great buffet breakfasts and unlimited snacks and sodas...Reception staff were extra helpful, and the coin laundry (free powder) a real bonus at the end of our trip. Great outdoor pool too. The only place to stay in Hollywood!!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for three nights in 1 bdrm suite while in LA. Quick 5 min. walk to Hollywood Walk of Fame and Graumanns Chinese Theatre. Also near Madame Tussaud Wax Museum. Service was great. Everyone at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Parking was very reasonable at $11/night and always found a parking spot. Free snacks, drinks and breakfast were also a plus.

We did switch rooms after the first night b/c of the street noise. Our room was facing the main street. The second room was better even though I still heard some street noise. It wasn't as bad as the first room. I will say that the rooms are dated and old. But it was clean and all the other perks make it worthwhile. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1moretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I made a call while driving aimlessly around Hollywood and when Gabriela answered that was the beginning of a very nice though short stay. KUDOS to Gabriela and Joslyn at the front desk!! So nice and helpful!!! Nice little outdoor pool, spacious room, discount on the price, free candy/snacks, sodas, laundry soap, wonderful hot cider...and so much more. Pay parking but under hotel gated and safe! Great local near KODAK THEATRE, easy little walk to Hollywood BLVD. Gabriela and Joslyns boss should give them a RAISE!!!! Would very much so stay there again!! ~ Cain

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cain1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing