We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magic Castle Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$531
US$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$529
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$364
US$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$271
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$430
US$342
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$266
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$299
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$145
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,210)
Filter reviews
3,210 results
Traveller rating
2,393
608
129
55
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,393
608
129
55
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree snackspopsicle hotlinefree laundry servicehollywood boulevardice cream machinemelrose placeone bedroom suitefull kitchenheated pooldvd playerchinese theatreapartment complexuniversal studioscontinental breakfastdining tablesofa bedhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,970 - 1,975 of 3,210 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a fantastic hotel!
Took it on recommendation from trip advisor reviews and have not regretted it.
It s the little details that make for a great experience.
The location is incredible especially for the price. There is parking. A heated pool in a shaded courtyard perfect for the kids. Greeted with a smile and welcome drinks on arrival.
Complementary snacks and drinks, great continental breakfast next to the pool. Info on tables telling you what day it is(!), weather forecast for day and what sport, concerts and other things going on that day. Free DVDs to borrow. Front desk so helpful. Only downsides - noise at night if light sleeper, room a bit drabby and when we were there lots of other Brits staying!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed three nights at the Magic Castle Hotel and loved it. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The apartments were very spacious and had everything we needed. They are a little old around the edges but we didn't even care as the service, location and facilities were excellent. The swimming pool is heated and there's a laundry! There are also free snacks and drinks and a free breakfast! Unbelievable value in a brilliant location! If we're ever back in LA we will definitely stay here again. The kids have both compared every other hotel since then to the Magic Castle Hotel and found them wanting.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front as the street noise can be disturbing.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melb-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed at the Magic Castle for nine nights and was pleasantly surprised by the fantastic service, given the price. The hotel is located one street behind Hollywood Blvd, so it's close to restaurants, attractions and more.

The staff were fantastic - from the security guard, to housekeeping, to the front desk - and were happy to provide directions to notable spots like the Hollywood sign (although they neglected to mention the three mile hike up the hill to get the best pictures!). The free mini bar was a treat and the breakfast was fantastic, which made up for the properties one flaw - the ridiculously sized parking structure. It's small,yet there is enough public transport nearby to not need a vehicle. We stayed in a one room suite which was clean, complete with all the basic amenities including a fridge and a safe. Loved the bathrobes, free wi-fi and the cookies in the lobby. Sparkling lemonade on arrival makes guests feel like they're staying at a four or possible five star. Gary and Nick were extremely helpful.

Loved the turn down service! Housekeeping provide chocolates and even a weather report for the following day right to your door.

Would definitely visit again - yet would opt for the full suite if we were to stay longer. I would recommend this hotel to families too. If you're looking for a hotel with a laid back atmosphere at a decent price in Hollywood, this is it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannaJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

One block behind the Chinese Theatre and walk of fame...the perfect location! You can walk to all the Hollywood sights and the Hollywood / Highland subway station is just under the mall - and just one station to Universal Studios. We chose a smaller room ( Next time I would opt for a bigger one!! ) but the service more than compensated for the tiny room on the 3rd floor (no elevator)...sparkling apple juice on arrival, great buffet breakfasts and unlimited snacks and sodas...Reception staff were extra helpful, and the coin laundry (free powder) a real bonus at the end of our trip. Great outdoor pool too. The only place to stay in Hollywood!!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a larger room...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for three nights in 1 bdrm suite while in LA. Quick 5 min. walk to Hollywood Walk of Fame and Graumanns Chinese Theatre. Also near Madame Tussaud Wax Museum. Service was great. Everyone at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Parking was very reasonable at $11/night and always found a parking spot. Free snacks, drinks and breakfast were also a plus.

We did switch rooms after the first night b/c of the street noise. Our room was facing the main street. The second room was better even though I still heard some street noise. It wasn't as bad as the first room. I will say that the rooms are dated and old. But it was clean and all the other perks make it worthwhile. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1moretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews