We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but don't count on the shuttle service”
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
Ranked #45 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great room. You're on the 405 Freeway, but Bel Air's celebrities tolerate it just across the way, plus the Getty is just above. The TV and TV connection are so good, they may be better than home, and the Wi-Fi is free.

My reservation was a little complicated, and the staff messed it up. Overall, the staff were all right but really didn't seem as in tune with things as at most fine hotels.

The Web site mentions a shuttle service, but it seems to be one very over-extended van. My first night I called for a pickup from Westwood Village, and they said it would be a 3-hour wait. Next morning I reserved a ride from the hotel, but so many others did we had to squeeze ultra-tight to fit in.

Room Tip: The hotel is round. It is right on the busy 405 Freeway. If that's going to be a problem, ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xWRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear rafael100,

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno.

I apologize for the issue you had with our courtesy car. Many of our guests use it, so it is best to make a reservation for it when you check in.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and how we can improve.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Hotel Angeleno while visiting UCLA. Although there was nothing within walking distance, the hotel was only a short drive to UCLA, Getty Center, Santa Monica Beach, Hollywood, Beverly Hills and only 20 minutes from the airport (if you are lucky to not hit traffic) The hotel staff were super, all very pleasant and accommodating. Great comfortable bed. The easy access right off the highway was convenient but did add a bit of noise throughout the night. Valet parking was ok until the last day when they tried to give me two cars which weren't mine which was a little worrisome. Restaurant had great views with a good breakfast although it was a bit pricey. Hotel price was great compared to much lesser hotels which charged more. Would definitely stay again if ever in that area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel opposite the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear LISKIBUM

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff and our hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Hotel Angeleno on our first visit to LA from the UK, we were alarmed to find we had arrived at a Hotel in the middle of a freeway, it seemed to be miles away from anywhere. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and booked the free shuttle for us every morning and the drivers took great pains to drop us in various locations so that we could find our way around.
Our room was very comfortable on the 12th floor and faced Church Street so the traffic noise did not bother us. It was very clean and had lovely King size bed.
The bar on the top floor was a great place with great views over LA although the drinks were on the pricey side.
When we arrived home we found that we had left some items behind and emailed the hotel to enquire if they had been found. The Housekeeping Manager was very helpful and arranged for them to be mailed to us.
Thank you Hotel Angeleno

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Barbara C

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff and especially our Housekeeping Manager. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I live five minutes from the Angeleno. We recently spent two nights there on last-minute bookings because we were driven from our home by the stench from a burned-out appliance motor.

The Angeleno has well-equipped, well-designed rooms, and a top-floor restaurant and bar with fine views.

All the staff we interacted with had pure pro demeanors and capablities; whoever trained them understands what the hospitality trade is about. The second night we were checked in by Chris, an especially friendly, sympathetic young night clerk who made sure we got a very quiet room on an upper floor. (To be fair, the first night, our room was on the third floor and was acceptably quiet--be sure to ask for a room that doesn't face the 405 freeway.)

From now on we'll be recommending this place to our out-o-f-town friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosAngelesLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear LosAngelesLenny

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff. We take great pride not only in our training but in who we hire. Also, Chris thanks you for the very kind mention. Thanks also for recommending us.

I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

We will see you soon,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Loved our stay at the Angeleno Hotel. Initially, was very worried when I saw its location at the junction of about four four-lane freeways! But needn't have worried. Even though we were only on the second floor, the traffic noise was not a problem at all for me and I have a HUGE aversion to being kept awake by the noise of thundering traffic. It was an incredibly peaceful and comfortable stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well-maintained, although they could do perhaps with upgrading the shower system, as it was a work of art to get it to work! I loved the panoramic views of LA and the Pacific Ocean (in daylight and after dark) from the 17th floor restaurant and the service from the waiters at breakfast was first-class. I recommend the granola for a healthy start to the day! We saw TV execs having breakfast meetings to discuss scripts which was very exciting, as well as a fun type of speed-dating (which I think was called 'hurry-dating') on one occasion. I think this is a very convenient and attractive location to stay in Los Angeles. Yes, the gym was small, the pool overwhelmed by inconsiderate swimming tutors and their charges but the fire by the poolside in the evening was a lovely touch. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Higher level room perhaps, if traffic noise annoys? We were on 2nd floor and had no problems, howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Bryles

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our hotel and West restaurant. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Angeleno during a weekend trip to LA. Like others, we booked the room through hotwire. Although the rate was reasonable, this is not a 4-star hotel. It is 3 stars. Although we requested a king bed, we were promptly informed by the front desk person that hotwire reservations were for double beds only. We immediately felt as though we were being penalized for booking through the discount site...what a warm welcome. The room itself was clean and nicely appointed. The double bed that we ended up in was very comfortable although not ideal for a couple. I would have preferred a door on the entire bath area - not just the toilet and shower - but for one night it was a minor inconvenience. As others noted, the real issue is the location. Not only is the hotel on the freeway, it's actually in the middle of a major
freeway construction project. While we did not stay for breakfast, the top floor restaurant was well designed and the breakfast spread looked delicious.

Room Tip: If you end up staying here, turn on the AC unit to drown out the noise of road construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Jennifer D

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel.

I apologize for the issue you had with wanting to change your room type. Usually we would be more than happy to give you a different room type than what you booked, but on this day we were sold out and had to honor the rooms our guests booked.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and how we can improve.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it. We asked for a high floor and got one that looks at the Getty. The rooms are very comfortable -- nice large and well appointed bath room. Not much closet space though which isn't an issue for us.
We have stayed in this hotel several times. We like it because it's close to the Getty and the Hammer Museum and it's easy to find -- nice for the geographically challenged.
We enjoyed the evening wine tasting in the main lounge. It was fun to have a glass of wine and talk with fellow travelers.
The bad news is that you can hear the freeway noise. However, it was less noisy than the hotel we stayed in later in Anaheim which had a very noisy HVAC system.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor not facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EE192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,162 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#77 of 353 in Los Angeles
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#118 of 353 in Los Angeles
308 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Westside
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $192 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in June 2016 Hotel Angeleno, is centrally located at the crossroads of Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Century City and Westwood, Hotel Angeleno offers complimentary daily wifi to all guests along with stunning views of Los Angeles. Easy access to UCLA, Century City, The Getty and Skirball Center and West Hollywood. Our new affiliation with Uber allows guests to request Uber from our Front Desk and have Uber charged directly to your room. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. Experience our We are NOT Square independent culture and sign up for our Inner Circle rewards program for more benefits and amenities including Complimentary Parking when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing