We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay, Great Staff, Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
Ranked #44 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Toronto
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Staff, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hotel Angeleno definitely exceeded my expectations! After realizing it was located directly beside the 405 I had reservations but this did not pose a problem whatsoever. The location is great if you have a car, if not, it might be a bit far from touristy spots. However, in my opinion you cannot live or travel to LA and not have a car. Everything in this city is very spread out and it would be tough to rely on the shuttle they provide or cabs (although I am sure the service is great). The hotel staff were always very friendly and the free valet and wiFi was a definite perk! The pool area is beautiful (a bit noisy from the freeway, but nothing to be concerned about). I have lived in LA as well stayed on the Sunset strip a couple times and I would definitely return to Hotel Angeleno. I think the location is great (Westwood/Bel Air area) and the value is the best I've seen in LA. Oh and the beds are amazing! I hope nothing changes with this great hotel before my next visit. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -Taradise15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Taradise15

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our service and our hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

It sounds like we will be seeing you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    581
    232
    82
    70
See reviews for
328
477
161
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great room. You're on the 405 Freeway, but Bel Air's celebrities tolerate it just across the way, plus the Getty is just above. The TV and TV connection are so good, they may be better than home, and the Wi-Fi is free.

My reservation was a little complicated, and the staff messed it up. Overall, the staff were all right but really didn't seem as in tune with things as at most fine hotels.

The Web site mentions a shuttle service, but it seems to be one very over-extended van. My first night I called for a pickup from Westwood Village, and they said it would be a 3-hour wait. Next morning I reserved a ride from the hotel, but so many others did we had to squeeze ultra-tight to fit in.

Room Tip: The hotel is round. It is right on the busy 405 Freeway. If that's going to be a problem, ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xWRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear rafael100,

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno.

I apologize for the issue you had with our courtesy car. Many of our guests use it, so it is best to make a reservation for it when you check in.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and how we can improve.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Hotel Angeleno while visiting UCLA. Although there was nothing within walking distance, the hotel was only a short drive to UCLA, Getty Center, Santa Monica Beach, Hollywood, Beverly Hills and only 20 minutes from the airport (if you are lucky to not hit traffic) The hotel staff were super, all very pleasant and accommodating. Great comfortable bed. The easy access right off the highway was convenient but did add a bit of noise throughout the night. Valet parking was ok until the last day when they tried to give me two cars which weren't mine which was a little worrisome. Restaurant had great views with a good breakfast although it was a bit pricey. Hotel price was great compared to much lesser hotels which charged more. Would definitely stay again if ever in that area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel opposite the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear LISKIBUM

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff and our hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Dorset. UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Hotel Angeleno on our first visit to LA from the UK, we were alarmed to find we had arrived at a Hotel in the middle of a freeway, it seemed to be miles away from anywhere. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and booked the free shuttle for us every morning and the drivers took great pains to drop us in various locations so that we could find our way around.
Our room was very comfortable on the 12th floor and faced Church Street so the traffic noise did not bother us. It was very clean and had lovely King size bed.
The bar on the top floor was a great place with great views over LA although the drinks were on the pricey side.
When we arrived home we found that we had left some items behind and emailed the hotel to enquire if they had been found. The Housekeeping Manager was very helpful and arranged for them to be mailed to us.
Thank you Hotel Angeleno

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Barbara C

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff and especially our Housekeeping Manager. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I live five minutes from the Angeleno. We recently spent two nights there on last-minute bookings because we were driven from our home by the stench from a burned-out appliance motor.

The Angeleno has well-equipped, well-designed rooms, and a top-floor restaurant and bar with fine views.

All the staff we interacted with had pure pro demeanors and capablities; whoever trained them understands what the hospitality trade is about. The second night we were checked in by Chris, an especially friendly, sympathetic young night clerk who made sure we got a very quiet room on an upper floor. (To be fair, the first night, our room was on the third floor and was acceptably quiet--be sure to ask for a room that doesn't face the 405 freeway.)

From now on we'll be recommending this place to our out-o-f-town friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear LosAngelesLenny

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff. We take great pride not only in our training but in who we hire. Also, Chris thanks you for the very kind mention. Thanks also for recommending us.

I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

We will see you soon,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Loved our stay at the Angeleno Hotel. Initially, was very worried when I saw its location at the junction of about four four-lane freeways! But needn't have worried. Even though we were only on the second floor, the traffic noise was not a problem at all for me and I have a HUGE aversion to being kept awake by the noise of thundering traffic. It was an incredibly peaceful and comfortable stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well-maintained, although they could do perhaps with upgrading the shower system, as it was a work of art to get it to work! I loved the panoramic views of LA and the Pacific Ocean (in daylight and after dark) from the 17th floor restaurant and the service from the waiters at breakfast was first-class. I recommend the granola for a healthy start to the day! We saw TV execs having breakfast meetings to discuss scripts which was very exciting, as well as a fun type of speed-dating (which I think was called 'hurry-dating') on one occasion. I think this is a very convenient and attractive location to stay in Los Angeles. Yes, the gym was small, the pool overwhelmed by inconsiderate swimming tutors and their charges but the fire by the poolside in the evening was a lovely touch. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Higher level room perhaps, if traffic noise annoys? We were on 2nd floor and had no problems, howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Bryles

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our hotel and West restaurant. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Angeleno during a weekend trip to LA. Like others, we booked the room through hotwire. Although the rate was reasonable, this is not a 4-star hotel. It is 3 stars. Although we requested a king bed, we were promptly informed by the front desk person that hotwire reservations were for double beds only. We immediately felt as though we were being penalized for booking through the discount site...what a warm welcome. The room itself was clean and nicely appointed. The double bed that we ended up in was very comfortable although not ideal for a couple. I would have preferred a door on the entire bath area - not just the toilet and shower - but for one night it was a minor inconvenience. As others noted, the real issue is the location. Not only is the hotel on the freeway, it's actually in the middle of a major
freeway construction project. While we did not stay for breakfast, the top floor restaurant was well designed and the breakfast spread looked delicious.

Room Tip: If you end up staying here, turn on the AC unit to drown out the noise of road construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Jennifer D

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel.

I apologize for the issue you had with wanting to change your room type. Usually we would be more than happy to give you a different room type than what you booked, but on this day we were sold out and had to honor the rooms our guests booked.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and how we can improve.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#27 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#74 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#101 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Westside
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Property: Hotel Angeleno
Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in June 2016 Hotel Angeleno, is centrally located at the crossroads of Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Century City and Westwood, Hotel Angeleno offers complimentary parking, daily wifi to all guests along with stunning views of Los Angeles with fantastic service, comfortable accommodations and easy access to UCLA, Century City and West Hollywood. Our new affiliation wiht Uber allows guests to request Uber from our Front Desk and have Uber charged directly to your room. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. The pool, outdoor fireplace, and spectacular penthouse-level restaurant continue the warm and sophisticated atmosphere. Hotel Angeleno is just minutes away from Hollywood, Westwood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, and the San Fernando Valley with close proximity to the Getty Center, UCLA and the Skirball Cultural Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing