We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malibu Beach Inn
Nearby Hotels
The M Malibu(Malibu)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surfrider Malibu(Malibu)(Great Value!)
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$259
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Native Hotel(Malibu)
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
US$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$204
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Agoura Hills(Agoura Hills)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel(Agoura Hills)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$142
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
362
142
42
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
142
42
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarbon beachocean frontvalet parkinghigh tideoceanfront roomturn down servicelounge chairssound of the wavessanta monicabeautiful roommini barworth every pennybalcony doorthe pacific coast highwayprivate beachspent nightsboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 595 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just returned from a stay at Malibu Beach Inn. The room was nice and the beach was great. The restuarant was also good- though service was slow. The desk staff however were uninformed. I booked spa treatments for a group at Cure spa (great by the way) on the recommendation of the hotel. On the day of, the hotel staff had no idea where the spa they recommend was! They consulted 3 different staff members and then gave us walking directions in the complete opposite direction of the spa. The next day we had a similar experience when we asked for a local restaurant to lunch at. The sound of the waves crashing may have made is all worth while but for the cost of the room, I expected better service. The exception was the housekeeping staff who were, prompt, accommodating and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willtherebecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Welcome to TripAdvisor! We’re sorry to hear that your stay at our property didn’t meet your expectations. We always do our best to ensure that our guests receive outstanding service and a wonderful experience. We consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we utilize the comments to perfect our service from a firsthand experience. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your feedback and we’ll review the necessary adjustments. Thank you, The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with amazing service, however, it is very small. Each and everytime you come or go, the whole staff greats you. There is no way around it and it felt weird. We tried to joke around with our servers but they will not joke back or crack a smile. They are seemingly too nervous to do so.They have every service you could imagine here though,including turning down the bed at night. It is too over the top in my opinion. If you like being pampered and are totally helpless, this place is for you though.You have to request the espresso/coffee machine for example and have them bring it to you each time. There is only valet parking here too so it is a big pain to leave. The outdoor patio for food and drinks is amazing but small and super pricey. A Jack and Coke will run you $18 for example. Their FB page makes it look fun with a drink of the month etc but when you are there it is never mentioned. No drink menu was even given to us or any suggestions made. I would not go back here even though the room is super romantic with a fireplace and all. The beach is beautiful though. I would recommend this hotel if you will mostly stay in your room. For that it is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TooSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, but we're also sorry to hear that your experience didn't match your expectations. We always do our best to ensure that our guests receive outstanding service and a wonderful experience, but we understand that our style of service may not be for everyone.We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your constructive feedback, and we will absolutely take it into consideration going forward. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My partner and I made a New Years Resolution that we were going to do a getaway once a month to focus on us. When I heard about the Malibu Beach Inn through my participation in Jetsetter.com, it seemed like the ideal place to be our first weekend. I was enchanted by the sound of the ocean waves and seagulls on the hotel's website - that is exactly what I wanted to fall asleep to. The hotel offered 2 room categories through Jetsetter -Ocean View and Pier View, the latter being the lower rate. The photos for the Pier View room still looked beautiful, with a head-on view of Malibu Pier.
The hotel is located right on PCH, a busy 5 lane street. When the reception clerk walked us to our room, I was horrified when he took the right turn down the corridor away from the each to the very last room, Room 219. While the room itself was nice enough, I opened the window and the primary view was of the parking lot next door, with PCH on the right. The pier was visible in the distance across the parking lot. And the only noise was the loud roar of cars screaming down PCH. Not a wave could be heard. It was horrible. I went down to the front desk to see if we could change rooms, or even move to a pier-view room that was further from PCH, but they wouldn't do anything. We were supposed to stay here 2 nights,and now it's the morning after the first night and we're considering checking out be ause this is not at all the beachside experience we were looking for.
Overall the hotel looks very nice and I believe if we had been in an Ocean View room, we probably would have had a nice experience. I read several of the reviews on this site before booking the room, and I didn't see any that mentioned this issue.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gajinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We’re so sorry that your room was not what you’d expected. However, we're very grateful that you spoke with us in-person on your second day, so we could accommodate your move to the nicest room in the category for which your reservation was booked. We hope it allowed for a more enjoyable experience on your second night.

If we have the chance to host you both again, please give us a call so our Booking Agents can help you find a room that better suits your expectations. We'd love the opportunity to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This small Inn is a true gem stuck right in the California coast. The staff strives for perfection in service and
does this using the true spirit of hospitality. What a refreshing change from the norm of snooty upscale hotel staff members! The Rooms, the F&B and the ambience created by such a wonderful ocean side ( a few feet away) location make this one of the finest lodging experiences available today outside of a full service large resort.
CAUTION: This hotel is pricey especially on weekends. Make sure that you know the fare ahead of time so you don't faint at the front desk while checking in. With the Malibu Beach Inn, you truly get what you pay for and then some!!! A MUST SEE AND STAY!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front and are tastefully decorated with everything you need including a stocked small refridgerator with all of your favorite beverages - liquor, beer and softdrinks. A large snack basket awaits while you ponder you beverage choice.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

Thank you so much for such an outstanding review! We are delighted that everything met or exceeded your expectations, and we are so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Before making your next reservation, be sure to check out the Specials tab on our FB page or our website for some great deals and package rates. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Simple luxury is what your will get when staying here; clean and comfortable rooms, fresh flowers, handwritten welcome notes, and excellent amenities. More than that, the water-front views remind us every time why we stay here. From sunrise to sunset, you have one of the best views in town. (I love sitting on the patio at night to watch planes take off and leave all the way over at LAX) We stay here from time to time, even though we live close by. Sometimes the best places to get away are already right in front of our nose!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We always love the opportunity to welcome our neighbors, and we're happy to hear that your return visits have continued to delight. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you both again when you're in need of a another getaway! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews