We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We've been looking for this kind of wave sound for years. Only negative is the $26 parking fee. Otherwise it was a perfect couple of days spent here while our house was tented for termites.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compulvisetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    127
    36
    27
    18
See reviews for
93
238
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just returned from a stay at Malibu Beach Inn. The room was nice and the beach was great. The restuarant was also good- though service was slow. The desk staff however were uninformed. I booked spa treatments for a group at Cure spa (great by the way) on the recommendation of the hotel. On the day of, the hotel staff had no idea where the spa they recommend was! They consulted 3 different staff members and then gave us walking directions in the complete opposite direction of the spa. The next day we had a similar experience when we asked for a local restaurant to lunch at. The sound of the waves crashing may have made is all worth while but for the cost of the room, I expected better service. The exception was the housekeeping staff who were, prompt, accommodating and nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtherebecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Welcome to TripAdvisor! We’re sorry to hear that your stay at our property didn’t meet your expectations. We always do our best to ensure that our guests receive outstanding service and a wonderful experience. We consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we utilize the comments to perfect our service from a firsthand experience. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your feedback and we’ll review the necessary adjustments. Thank you, The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with amazing service, however, it is very small. Each and everytime you come or go, the whole staff greats you. There is no way around it and it felt weird. We tried to joke around with our servers but they will not joke back or crack a smile. They are seemingly too nervous to do so.They have every service you could imagine here though,including turning down the bed at night. It is too over the top in my opinion. If you like being pampered and are totally helpless, this place is for you though.You have to request the espresso/coffee machine for example and have them bring it to you each time. There is only valet parking here too so it is a big pain to leave. The outdoor patio for food and drinks is amazing but small and super pricey. A Jack and Coke will run you $18 for example. Their FB page makes it look fun with a drink of the month etc but when you are there it is never mentioned. No drink menu was even given to us or any suggestions made. I would not go back here even though the room is super romantic with a fireplace and all. The beach is beautiful though. I would recommend this hotel if you will mostly stay in your room. For that it is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TooSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, but we're also sorry to hear that your experience didn't match your expectations. We always do our best to ensure that our guests receive outstanding service and a wonderful experience, but we understand that our style of service may not be for everyone.We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your constructive feedback, and we will absolutely take it into consideration going forward. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My partner and I made a New Years Resolution that we were going to do a getaway once a month to focus on us. When I heard about the Malibu Beach Inn through my participation in Jetsetter.com, it seemed like the ideal place to be our first weekend. I was enchanted by the sound of the ocean waves and seagulls on the hotel's website - that is exactly what I wanted to fall asleep to. The hotel offered 2 room categories through Jetsetter -Ocean View and Pier View, the latter being the lower rate. The photos for the Pier View room still looked beautiful, with a head-on view of Malibu Pier.
The hotel is located right on PCH, a busy 5 lane street. When the reception clerk walked us to our room, I was horrified when he took the right turn down the corridor away from the each to the very last room, Room 219. While the room itself was nice enough, I opened the window and the primary view was of the parking lot next door, with PCH on the right. The pier was visible in the distance across the parking lot. And the only noise was the loud roar of cars screaming down PCH. Not a wave could be heard. It was horrible. I went down to the front desk to see if we could change rooms, or even move to a pier-view room that was further from PCH, but they wouldn't do anything. We were supposed to stay here 2 nights,and now it's the morning after the first night and we're considering checking out be ause this is not at all the beachside experience we were looking for.
Overall the hotel looks very nice and I believe if we had been in an Ocean View room, we probably would have had a nice experience. I read several of the reviews on this site before booking the room, and I didn't see any that mentioned this issue.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gajinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We’re so sorry that your room was not what you’d expected. However, we're very grateful that you spoke with us in-person on your second day, so we could accommodate your move to the nicest room in the category for which your reservation was booked. We hope it allowed for a more enjoyable experience on your second night.

If we have the chance to host you both again, please give us a call so our Booking Agents can help you find a room that better suits your expectations. We'd love the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This small Inn is a true gem stuck right in the California coast. The staff strives for perfection in service and
does this using the true spirit of hospitality. What a refreshing change from the norm of snooty upscale hotel staff members! The Rooms, the F&B and the ambience created by such a wonderful ocean side ( a few feet away) location make this one of the finest lodging experiences available today outside of a full service large resort.
CAUTION: This hotel is pricey especially on weekends. Make sure that you know the fare ahead of time so you don't faint at the front desk while checking in. With the Malibu Beach Inn, you truly get what you pay for and then some!!! A MUST SEE AND STAY!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front and are tastefully decorated with everything you need including a stocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you so much for such an outstanding review! We are delighted that everything met or exceeded your expectations, and we are so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Before making your next reservation, be sure to check out the Specials tab on our FB page or our website for some great deals and package rates. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Simple luxury is what your will get when staying here; clean and comfortable rooms, fresh flowers, handwritten welcome notes, and excellent amenities. More than that, the water-front views remind us every time why we stay here. From sunrise to sunset, you have one of the best views in town. (I love sitting on the patio at night to watch planes take off and leave all the way over at LAX) We stay here from time to time, even though we live close by. Sometimes the best places to get away are already right in front of our nose!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We always love the opportunity to welcome our neighbors, and we're happy to hear that your return visits have continued to delight. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you both again when you're in need of a another getaway! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here for business last night and I must say I ll be back for holiday. Really a great spot. Comfortable bed, nice sheets, fireplace, exceptional view and balcony - nice terrace for breakfast - no gym though - highly reco - loved it.

Room Tip: all of them seemed fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Malibu Beach Inn and sharing your recent experience with us! We're delighted to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next holiday! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast
Beach Inn Malibu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing