We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is of low quality relative to the price they are charging for rooms. There are few choices in Malibu and this hotel has decided to take full advantage. Better to stay in Santa Monica, better beach, much better restuarants and much better first class hotel choices. Futhermore, there is no fitness center.
MDB

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

We're so very sorry to hear that your experience of Malibu was disappointing. We appreciate that you choose to stay with us during your visit, and we are grateful for your open, honest feedback, as it provides us with the opportunity to learn from your experience and work to improve in the areas that we can. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Malibu Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is our second stay at this boutique beach hotel, and I have to share some disappointments.
During our first visit, the beach was beautiful and wide. Since then, a considerable amount of errosion has occured making it impossible to walk from the Inn to the South past all the great Malibu beachfront homes. You can still go North, but in about a quarter mile, the public surfer dominated beach starts, and while its great to watch the surfing action, it lacks the charm of the southbound trek.
Additionally, this stay we requested a room with a king bed. Unfortunately, this room was right next to the restaurant deck/firepit, and we were obliged to keep our blinds drawn as any patron sitting in this area had a somewhat unobstructed view of our king sized bed. Keeping the drapes closed is not a good thing when at a romantic beach front Inn. The rooms with queens and fireplace on the other floors offer much more privacy.
Make Sunday brunch reservations early as it's a local favorite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again. We’re glad that enjoyed your stay, but we're sorry to hear that the beach and the location of your room didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your feedback with us, and we hope that you'll still consider staying with us again the next time you're looking for a beachfront getaway in Malibu! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We enjoyed our one-night stay in this hotel, which is spectacularly located right on the beach. Our room had a great view of the beach, both north and south, and was very private and quiet. We had no issues with noise and the room was quite nice and well-appointed. Dinner in the restaurant on the balcony, even though it was a bit chilly, was lovely - food and service were good and the outdoor heater kept us warm. We were able to have desert, coffee and port in the lounge inside. Overall we found the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoxyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I've been wanting to stay here for awhile and finally decided on a quick getaway from everyday stress. The Inn did not disappoint. My favorite thing was the completely-private balcony overlooking the waves crashing on the beach - I left the sliding door cracked all night so I could be serenaded by the surf. The fireplace was a nice touch, too. The smaller size of the property was just right for me... I felt comfortable alone on the dining patio, and equally comfortable going back and forth to my room. There were a few minor mishaps with food orders and a delay getting my bag up to my room, but I am not deducting anything from my rating because the hiccups were handled with courtesy and grace by Courtney at the front desk. Additionally, when I found myself soaked fully-clothed by an unexpected wave on the beach, she went out of her way to see to my comfort. I can't wait to book another getaway!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted that you chose to stay with us, and we're so grateful to hear that (even with a few hiccups along the way) everything met or exceeded your expectations. Your feedback is so very much appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was by far the most superb accommodations that I have stayed at in the United States to date. No detail was left undone. The ocean front view was stunning. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable as well as the couch and chair. Recessed lighting and the fireplace were nicely added features. The drawers that pulled out completely for clothing, the bathroom with top of the line fixtures and any needed accessories were also appreciated details. I was concerned prior to booking that their might be too much traffic noise or noise from other rooms, that was not the case, I stayed on the South side of the building and the noise was limited only to when you were near the door. I was traveling solo for a business seminar in LA and treated myself to a few days at the beach upon completion. The front desk was MOST helpful in offering ideas for places to eat or walk. I was supposed to meet up for a day with a friend a few hours away but that didn't happen and I was quite happy to enjoy all the Malibu Beach Inn had to offer solo! I would absolutely return to this establishment and I highly recommend it. It is well worth the price!

Room Tip: I stayed on the South side and there was not an issue with noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clevegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiam for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Love this place.. Nice, cozy, comfortable, nice restaurant, tasty food, many celebrities around)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, Silvia! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was in Malibu for a Conference and stayed here. The room I had was literally on the beach.

Perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepidtravelerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your "short and sweet" experience with us! :) We're glad that you had the opportunity to stay with us, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,896 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
973 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range: $638 - $1,121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing