We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Malibu Island-Artist House stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Spectacular View
View from the large private hot tub
Front porch
Early morning sunrise
2nd Bedroom with queen & single bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Malibu, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
neiloh42
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“Malibu Island-Artist House stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Wonderful! Grand & glorious views & light! Inspirational! I expected, from hearsay, it would be good, but this was as dreamlike & peaceful a haven high up a canyon above the Pacific Coast as I-or anyone-could ever wish for. Had all you could possibly need for a solitary or romantic, creative stay. You'll surely want to return as I most certainly will.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for coming... I'm so pleased when my guest loves the place.... Chantal Gillberg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michalk30...
1 review
“House far apart from Civilization”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you are looking for a house away from anything its great place. You will not hear almost any cars or anything if you just want to escape city life, however stores and beach are only 20min away by car.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Thank you so much. It was a pleasure having you stay at the Artist House. I'm glad you enjoyed the peaceful quiet of the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharan196...
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

On arrival we were very disappointed with the property. The interior photographs are misleading as it is not set up as shown. All very dated and shabby and could do with a good clean. All the appliances are old and need replacing. The kettle was so dirty we could not use it and had to boil water in a pan.
The water in the hot tub was green and very murky. Not very welcoming. We actually cleaned it out ourselves and got it looking and smelling better.
No curtains was a problem especially in the mornings. Also it meant no privacy.
The location is further from the beaches than expected and also deeper into the canyon. Although the views were spectacular.
Although we kind of settled into our holiday here we ended up leaving 2 days early which was a shame.
Not what we expected for the money paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
I am very surprised to hear of your disappointment AFTER you stayed in the house for a week! Why didn't you call me or come by to tell me if the house was not clean. Of course, we clean it well between each renter, so I do not know what you found to be unclean, but you should have told me while you were still there so we could have taken care of it for you. We are in the mountain, and wind can bring in dust every time the door is opened. That's why there are brooms there.

The appliances are practically new. The dishwasher is brand new, so I'm not even sure what you mean by dated and shabby.

The hot tub water was blue and clean as a whistle!! The day we brought over the new cover, we could see the nice clean water. I even took photos of it today and it is blue, clean and clear. I have no idea what you are talking about! And why didn't you contact me during your stay, to come and clean it, if you were not satisfied?? I live right next door! And my groundskeeper is on site 5 days a week! He could have come any time to clean the hot tub, if you had only asked. Leaves fall in the water all the time, of course you would have to clean that, it's normal.

When I talked to your husband, he said everything was fine and you were all happy, so I am very surprised to hear of your complaint now, when I have no opportunity to remedy the problems.

I am sorry for your disappointment.

Thank you for staying with us, nonetheless.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A
London
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Californian countryside”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at a fabulous location and with the lovely owner next door to help with any questions and who also invited us to join her birthday celebration during our stay. House was 30 minutes from Santa Monica and the sights of LA, 10 minutes from the beach and 15 minutes from shops and bars but far enough away for peace and quiet.
No hesitation in recommending the Artist House for a family or large group because it can sleep 15 at a push although 6-10 would be comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A pool would have enhanced the property but we knew that in advance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteffenSc...
Halle (Saale), Germany
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frafra
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing