We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“" Identity theft"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crimson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“" Identity theft"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

On Saturday April 14, 2012, my boyfriend and I had decided to stay over night at the Crimson Hotel. Since it was so close to the beach. All the other hotels were booked in the area except for The Crimson Hotel. So we arrived at the Hotel at 7pm and decided to check in for the night. The room was pretty decent with out any problems at that time. As we Checked out in the morning everything seemed to be fine until 15 minutes after we left to use our credit card. We had received an alert from our bank, regarding that someone had tried to use our account number for a charge of $ 5,000. The Hotel didn't seem to care about that issue at all. I was very upset! I was just trying to warn the manager of what kind of place his staff was running. Very unprofessional and bad experience!! So of course we changed all our account info. Be careful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    35
    37
    23
    33
See reviews for
28
43
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My partner and I have just returned from the States where we spent three weeks. During this time we checked into the Crimson hotel on three separate occasions (we also spent some time in San Francisco and Vegas).
We spent very little time in the room, using it only for a place to sleep, therefore our expectations were based on the fact that it was cheap, clean, comfortable and in a good location.
Each time we checked in we slept in a different room and there was not one bed bug to be found. Our room was clean and serviced every day by the maid. The superking sized bed was comfortable and there was no hint of any of the rooms we slept in ever having been smoking rooms. Overall the room was basic and "beige" but it was cheap and clean and more that met our needs.
The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was cereals, fruit, fruit juice, tea, coffee, muffins, crumpets etc and this seemed to be a pretty consistent interpretation of a continental breakfast as it was similar to the other hotels we stayed in Vegas and San Francisco.
Don't think we saw the same member of staff more than twice (other than the woman who done the breakfasts) but they were all friendly and polite.
The free underground parking was a bonus and the location great. Manhatten beach was within walking distance, lots of restaurants and shops nearby, relatively close to the airport and access to main freeways / motorways close by.
For us this hotel was value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I took my family of 5 on vacation and stayed here.We had a family suite which was perfect for us! Breakfast was good, just no meat as stated in the online description.The price was excellent for what we got! The staff was very friendly and helpful.Close to a variety of restaurants and stores! We will be back next spring for sure!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donkeypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here as our online reservation at another hotel did not go through. All other hotels in the area were booked except this one, and now I understand why. The only room available had a queen bed and was a smoking room. I didn't know motels in California still had smoking rooms! The room smelled absolutely horrible. We didn't notice that there were ants until the middle of the night, when we felt them crawling all over us. The ice machine just outside of our room made ice every 20 minutes or so all night, making sleep next to impossible--combined with the fact that the people staying on the floor above us partied until 4am, very loudly with management not intervening. The fan in the bathroom doesn't go off when you turn the light off--also precluding sleep in the middle of the night. Parts of the bathtub had holes in them, the carpet was filthy. This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed at-definitely nowhere hear as nice as a Motel 6. Oh yes, the clerk at the front desk was extremely unpleasant as well!

Room Tip: Top floor, non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erynruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manhattan Beach hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

On Friday March 4, 2011 we checked into the hotel. Upon waking up Saturday morning, I saw a small bug in the bed, and dismissed it as just a bug in the room. However, waking up Sunday morning, there was the same type of bug in the bed again. After further examination of the bed and sheets, we found several bugs on different layers of the bedding. Spots consistent of blood were found on sheets as well. After finding this, I researched the different type of bed bugs, to confirm what we found. When checking out, we reported to the front desk about the situation. Front desk staff was brought to the room to validate what was found. He witnessed dead bugs, and one crawling on the bed before all parties left the room.

Here were the front desk staff solutions:
50% discount on room rates (not accepted)

After returning home, I ended up getting bed bugs. I was bit all over my body. I have had to have my house fumigated three times, carpets shampooed twice and had to wash every piece of clothing, towels, sheets, blankets I own. The management of the hotel has not replied to any email or phone call I have sent him. He has informed me that we were refunded for the nights we were there.

Customer service at this hotel is unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Azgreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

The shopping centre (inc Macy's and supermarket) is in walking distance, there are enough restaurants nearby, beach is close and it is in the safe neighbourhood. I requested a quiet room in the back, so that was good. You need to call the hotel to get the shuttle from the airport and it took about 20 mins. For some reasons, they charged me for the "safe" in the room, so if you don't want it, you need to mention it at check in. I was there for a stop over to break my long flights, so that was good enough - did my shopping and went to the beach for a walk and had a nice meal at the Thai restaurant around the corner. There is one PC at the reception for internet use, it worked, did not have to wait, so I was happy for that. Wish there is a printer attached to it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B747-400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Room was comfortable and hotel had parking underneath. I needed to check in for a flight and print a boarding pass and when I hit the print button, I was told there was no printer available. I found this inconvienient

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kharmannghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.6 km away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
1.8 km away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 km away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
2.6 km away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Property: Crimson Hotel
Address: 850 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5925 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing