We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
475
252
79
24
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
252
79
24
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boogie boards local yolk free bikes highland avenue steep walk bedroom apartment two blocks within walking distance standard room office staff a great place to stay stayed longer bike ride the penthouse restaurants and shops staff was very friendly and helpful laid back
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 868 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2014

I went out to Manhattan Beach to visit a buddy who lives in that town. The town is not a tourist attraction but is right on the beach. I was given then name of this establishment due to it being three blocks from his home. I should have investigated further. I traveled and only needed a studio. Obviously, relaxation in the room is not a priority.

My room was a 1980's porn set with all the trimmings. The hotel itself is four block from the beach and there are very limited rooms that even face the beach, so lets first give that a negative. There was however plenty of parking but that's from first observation.

As I entered my room and expected to see the pics on the site I was thoroughly mistaken. EVERYTHING was old including the very horrible sound quality TV. In any other city this hotel would be a 50 buck an hour place. Its the location that allows it to price it self the way it does.

The bathroom had rust and dirt everywhere. ALSO, my handle on my shower was broken. The fire alarm battery was dead on a fire alarm that looked as though it had never bee replaced since the building went up in the 80's.

It was enter, see bed, see bathroom! that's it. So I got to thinking why in the hell would they have put so little effort into the studio apt. Well, as the title says, if you looking to sit in your room, hear the waves and enjoy a tasty beverage while doing so, this is not the place. This place is for doing nothing more than leaving your room and sitting at the beach all day. Which would make since if the tow wasn't what it is. Its not a touristy (<----- I know, not a word) place. And I new that, before I got there so I did not expect to be wowed by views. I thought it would be a nice place to relax, visit my buddy, maybe watch some late football and unwind from life for a view days. Heck, I didn't even want to be in the room.

Again, if your not there to surf and beach it up, don't bother.

My opinion on a quote:
1. “You can't get a better deal and location in Manhattan Beach.” ( There are not other hotels in town!)

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 622shawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2014

We just stayed for 4 nights for our 10 year anniversary! We stayed in room 107, had a GREAT view, could people watch & sit on the balcony at night, and had a newly done room also. I was worried about the pool ( I couldn't find ANY hotels with pools), but it was great! The strand was AMAZING to run on, the walk back up wore me out after ( if you're old or really out of shape, be prepared), but we loved it! There were several buildings. Everyone of the staff was great! The bikes were one of our favorite parts of the trip. We took them one afternoon and rode to Redondo Beach, stopping for lunch on the way. We had a great time, and would stay again! THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay, the Sea View Inn is a reasonably priced hotel in a great location.
The staff was great, they answered all our questions about things to do in the area. The complimentary bikes, boogie boards, towels, etc was a big plus, as well as the free parking,
The only problem we had was the internet didn't work very well, took forever to connect.
We will definitely be back.

I'd recommend the two bedroom, worth the extra $20.00 per night over the executive room.

Room tip: Coffee makers are not included in the least expensive rooms. If coffee first thing when you wake up is important, bring one along. There are restaurants that serve coffee right next to the hotel.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank melodyj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Bargain rates, free parking, beach towels/chairs and bikes while you're an easy walk to the beach bike path and the Pacific Ocean - that should seal the deal for you especially since this is affluent Manhattan Beach.

The yummy bakery (scones, pretzels, muffins, breakfast sandwich, cookies, etc) across the street opens @ 8 am but there are other options for breakfast a few doors over (Local Yolk etc) if you're an early morning riser and don't want to drive.

Breakfast on the beach made this visit here special.

A small neighborhood market is across the street, a dry cleaners is next to the parking lot and even a laundromat a block or 2 away.

I'm tempted to use this inn as a future family/friend reunion site. They have suites on the property too.

It helps that the staff is quite gracious too. Thumbs up!

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlington_VAHawaii50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The Inn as stated in previous reviews is very low key and bare boned. Tiny bathroom, but with an ocean view, you actually see the ocean as you shower which is fantastic. The shower has great water pressure. But there is no room to even put a toiletry bag. One nightstand. Noisy. Super nice front desk. Great bikes. Beach chairs are ok. Umbrellas are very good. Walk to beach is down a very very steep hill (about 3blocks) and steps then walk down to the beach. I'm in good shape and it was not easy. Taking the bikes back after riding on the strand is a killer.
But there are not many places to stay in the area. Especially for the price.
We had a great time.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank harlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews