We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
6
13
6
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
13
6
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 31 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2016

After reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor, and knowing how long we would be on the road did we decide to reserve a room. Be forwarned, it's a truckers / field workers Motel in that 90 % of the people are Loud & Obnoxious and could care less that others are trying to get some much needed rest. The spent the afternoon laughing, drinking, and shouting at each other. When we checked in the "Host Girl" could have cared less if we where there or not, so in the middle of nowhere, and Maricopa is in the middle for sure, you do not have a choice. The room itself was very clean, everything did work fine ( flat screen TV, bathroom, bed was fine too ) and in the morning after 7 am you have coffee in the Lobby, nothing more. Wi Fi was total crap, never would stay on...Pool was very clean, If you want to raise Hell and no one to care if you do, then this is your place, neighborhood Dogas barked all night too... $55 bucks a night. But better to stay on the road and go elsewhere...

Room Tip: go elsewhere....
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank UtahDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2015

I have reviewed Motel 8 before, but I so much enjoy the place and the surrounding area, I wanted to give an update. This is a family-owned location in a little town that is near Carrizo Plain National Monument, Wind Wolves Preeserve, and the Los Padres National Forest. The motel is reasonably priced, and the rooms are simple, basic and clean. The pool is sparkling clean and refreshing. Motel 8 is a great base for exploring the area. Unlike some other parts of California that are packed with visitors from all over the world, here you can visit some naturally beautiful areas and enjoy the quiet and solitiude. It's also relatively close to Los Angeles (120 miles) so you can do a weekend visit without too much driving.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JackKerowack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2015

The room was clean. There was nothing crawling around. Wifi was a bit sporadic. The shower head is a bit low. A 5ft person would have to stoop to wash their head. There are no other attractions in this location/area. I would visit again if in the area but the Internet service has to be better.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jerome A. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2015

Stayed one night on the way to Mono Lake. Clean room and very good price. Not the most glamorous place but perfect for our needs. Would recommend to people like us who just want a place to sleep over.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2015

We arrived late at night. Actually we were on our way down to LA but on the coast we could not find ANY rooms for a reasonable price that is why we ended up in Maricopa. It was ok for one night, room was clean and the shower ok. WiFi was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stellina71276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews