We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Roger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jolly Roger Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here four nights. I travel very often for work and don't need resort like qualities. This hotel had an almost depressing feel. If you are on a budget and don't want to stay in a hostel this is your best bet for being close to venice beach. If not cough up the extra 20 for something a little less dreary. Plus the manager is a bit of a jerk.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jollyroger2904, General Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Regarding your review, I'm still trying to figure out what occurred as nothing is specified. I don't recall any situation that would warrant such a review. I certainly would not consider the hotel to be depressing. And as for myself I as well as my staff we treat every guest with respect and are always willing to address any concerns that they may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    81
    72
    16
    19
See reviews for
60
81
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Compared to where we stayed when we passed thru LA last August this was much better value. The staff accepted up cheerfully at midnight and we had a comfy night and a average breakfast served by an above average lady. We paid for 2 nights because we weren't flying our until 11pm and needed to shower etc before the long flight back to Oz. It was an easy walk to venice beach and we enjoyed a full day in Santa Monica. The staff ordered us a cab to the airport which was not far at all. Clean and comfortable, no frills but i gladly recommend the Jolly roger.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzznjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Jolly Roger Hotel (MDR, CA) for two nights (April 1-2, 2012) after moving out of my Venice home and just prior to relocating to the East Coast. The staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly and professional form the moment I made the reservation and throughout my stay. Kudos to Awad, Donna and the household staff. My room was large and very comfortable, spotless, and a huge relief after the harrows of moving. I was able to completely unwind and take advantage of the hotel's amenities--good complimentary breakfast, parking garage and jacuzzi/sun-deck. The hotel caters to both an international clientele as well as other North Americans. You can't beat the price, either. I will definitely be back! Thank you.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back (not overlooking busy Washington Blvd) for a peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is quite dated but for the money you can't really complain! Good location plus bonus of breakfast and coffee to start your day. Good pub just round the corner too! Robin who was in the breakfast room was such a character, so refreshing to have staff who are interested in what you have to say!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meander63380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was really impressed with the Jolly Roger. Yes, it's old, but very well maintained and super clean. I got the impression that the owners/staff really take pride in what they do. Plus, the location is great! Close to Venice Beach, lots of restaurants, and just a short drive to the LAX. They also have free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. Just be sure you don't sleep in too long - breakfast was ending just as we got there, but they were nice enough to let us grab a coffee. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraisrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Clean, efficient and pretty friendly. A little dated but then what do you expect for that price?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

While "this ain't the Marriott" is definitely accurate, here are some positives to consider:
- the price is right (about $100+ish per nght)
- it is clean (the sheets were white and clean, the towels were white and clean - though small)
- the people at the front desk are friendly
- there is a vending machine with snacks and soft drinks on property
- there is a gas station next door in case the vending machine runs out of things (diet coke, in my case)
- the parking is easy and safe
-there are 2 good restaurants next door: C&O Cucina for Italian food, and Thai East Wind for Thai food, both within a block and surprisingly good
- the TV had good reception
- the breakfast is nice, as is the woman running it
- there is a computer and printer in the lobby area

Overall, this is a great place for people needing a bed for the night; it is not a hotel to hang out in or be Wow'd by. It is simple, clean. Many international travelers (overheard 3 different languages at breakfast, and got to practice my French).

Room 314 overlooks a nice street and is quiet.

One easy fix for the hotel that would make it much better for me and likely others: please clean the windows inside and out and the screens! :-)

If you are looking for a clean, safe spot where you can save money then this is a-ok 3 star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Hotel

Property: Jolly Roger Hotel
Address: 2904 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jolly Roger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Jolly Roger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jolly Roger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing