We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice unique design”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice unique design”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The service was great. The design is unique with the outdoor/indoor corridors. There is a nice pool area and a really relaxing lounging area nearby. The suite was wonderful and comfortable. It was the end of our long trip through the States and this was such a bonus. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. The breakfast room was too small with not enough tables and the staff couldn't keep up with demand. There was no hot water for my tea each day and I had to ask for it each time. When going to the airport, make sure you get the private driver the hotel calls. It's $30 trip but worth the extra comfort and care. The hotel is walking distance to the Marina, the canals and Venice Beach. Walking along Venice Beach is a wierd experience, but it's worth seeing at least once. It's been likened to an open air asylum - now I know what they mean! I'm glad we didn't book closer to Venice Beach! The area near the hotel is safe and the shops nearby are good. The highlight was discovering the Cheesecake Factory overlooking the Marina. Yum!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewTraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    535
    131
    32
    11
See reviews for
508
413
52
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 week and booked it after months of looking at reviews. Our first room was facing Washington bvd and was quite noisy. I spoke to reception in the morning and they happily changed our room which was great. Breakfast was a challenge as it only seated 18 people and no matter what time we went for breakfast it was packed. If your patient you will get a table or you can take it back to your room. The breakfast overall was good and saved us at least 20 to 30 bucks a day ! Really great staff especially Jason who was very chatty and helpful. Great room small bathroom loved the fridge and microwave.

Room Tip: Eat at c&o cuchina walking distance it's amazing and if you bring back any leftovers you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Positive: Decent hotel, clean rooms, large rooms, comfy bed, free parking, very friendly staff, Free breakfast. Let us check in early.
Negative: small pool, small breakfast room, breakfast was just ok, nothing special, our room was close to the busy street so lots of traffic noise all night.
In all it was a good hotel for the price in this area,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VDB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days over spring break. It's a great location, with a nice, on site parking garage. The front desk staff are super friendly and act like they are happy you are staying at their hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious. Nice to have a small fridge and a microwave in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larvik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotels is located on a higly trafficed street, Washington Blvd and the entrance to the reception and garage was directly from the street. Our room was OK, the beds and pillows nice, but all common space in the hotel seems to small. Garage is small and doubleparking is required (leave keys in the reception). A very tiny pool and a small courtyard inside.The walk down to the southern end of Venice beach was about 15 minutes fast walk (not 10 as promised). We walked all the way to Santa Monica Pier but that is a really looong walk. Plan for a taxi back. The breakfast room is too small and both our mornings we had to line up to get seating. Thus, quite stressfull to eat breakfast since a lot of people vere desperate to get your seating.
There is only one elevator and this is the only way to get to the rooms. I did not like the fact that there was no possibility for using stairs.

Room Tip: Washington Blvd has quite heavy traffic and the rooms facing the street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oyvind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was a very well situated hotel for us. Clean, and comfortable. The staff was very nice. Free breakfast, and parking. The hotel had recently been remodeled and everything was clean, and fresh. No noise problem, close to restaurants.

Room Tip: We liked our room, it was large. Don't know about others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soyyo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Wonderful all the way around, location, value, staff and rooms are great. I did ask for a room away from the pool and away from the streetlights. Parking is complementary. The continental breakfast is expanded with hot and cold selections. We were very pleased with our stay.
They have a washer and dryer which are available 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and the streetlights. Others have suggested this in their reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
753 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,284 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,237 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
676 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Property: The Kinney
Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing