We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
1
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbisongold minegreen housecowboycabinpropertyyard
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2017

When I arrived at the ranch I rode horses Then I found herd Of Buffalo There was also a friendly deer that came around That was dog gentle!! Then I went Down to the Beautiful creek and pan for gold!! I am Looking Forward to coming back again

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 515stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

A true ranch experience with privacy, nature, million dollar views, animal friends, fresh vegetables, fresh eggs, gold mines, river, beach, waterfall, honda 4 seater atv to ride, bbq, campfires, got unplugged and away, kids slept like babies, wild turkeys, pigs, horses, mules, donkeys, deer, skeet shooting, archery range, horse shoe pit, hot tub, no neigbors, no sirens, no street noise, hand crafted log cabins, private skinny dipping hole, miles of hiking trails, accessible and cell phone service just in case i cant say anymore than wow!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2016

Our group of 10 booked a 4 night stay at the big cabin by the front entrance of the ranch. However, when we get there Jerry nonchalantly mentions that he had given our cabin to another group that just happen to check in before us. No apology or anything. So we were redirected to a much smaller cabin in the back of the ranch that only sleeps 6. On top of having 4 people in our group sleep on the filthy dusty floor, we had to pay the same rate as for the bigger cabin. Though we didn't mind sleeping on the floor, Jerry's deceptive practices and negativity made our stay very unpleasant (see list below). So we asked to check out after the second night. Jerry gave us his word he would mail us a refund of $600 as he suddenly got food poisoning while we were checking out, rendering him unable to write a check. We never saw a refund after multiple attempts to reach Jerry.

A few other reviewers that left positive feedback may have gotten lucky and got to stay at the big cabin on the front of the ranch. Our issue wasn't the roughing out part. We are experienced backcountry backpackers and used to roughing it out. But is is unacceptable to pay $300/night under the explicit promise of multiple amenities which we got none of. Given the false advertising and our experience with being defrauded, I could not recommend to anyone to take a risk of staying at Bison Creek.

Other things to note for the smaller cabin in the back of the ranch:
1) The back cabin is a minimum half hour drive from the back entrance through a road Jerry build himself. It's two miles of potholes and sharp rocks all the way. You'd be lucky if you don't get a flat tire unless you have off road tires. Getting in and out is hard so you should have enough supplies for your whole stay.
2) Fridge is old school gas powered. Though it does work, it takes two days to cool down and it will not be turned on until you check in.
3) Jerry promises fresh vegetables from his garden and fresh eggs daily. Do not count on preparing your meals with produce from the ranch. The garden is nonexistent and the fresh eggs were 1-2 a day.
4) We booked a 4 night stay and we were only given enough gas for 2 meals. When we asked for more Jerry acted surprised that we didn't bring our own, when it was never mentioned we would have to bring our own gas.
5) Same thing for the power generator. Only enough fuel for 1 day of lighting and hot water. Bring your own.
6) Jerry also promises use of his two ATV's. Apparently those are exclusive to the big cabin on the front of the ranch.
7) Another empty promise: Horseback riding. You are welcome to ride as long as you can lasso the horses in and mount the saddle. However, you have to bring your own saddles. First of all, we were never told we would need to bring our own saddles. And second, does Jerry really expect that people have half a dozen saddles just sitting around at home?
8) The back cabin does have a hot tub. It's full of bugs and dust because it's never covered. Reason being is that Jerry's idea of heating up the tub is leaving it open during the day so the sun will heat up the water. So if you do wanna use the tub, bring your own generator to heat it up.
9) Do not attempt the hiking trails. The fishing lake trail leads to a 6 inch cesspool. We spend over an hour looking for the lake only to realize that Jerry's map was really indicating the cesspool. Also the river trail leads to a dried up, full of trash/snakes, river bed.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Excellent place to get away and learn about nature. Lost of Deer, Bison and many more species of animals and birds. Very family orientated atmosphere. Great place to ride the quads or horses. We stayed their for 5 night and took 10 of our grandchildren with us and they didn't want to leave and can't wait until we go back next year.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank robertrL6940IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

For Mom’s76th Birthday this year, we tried something a little different. The Bison Creek Ranch is a place in the Sierras just outside Mariposa near Yosemite National Park. It promised a true American experience where you could get back to a simpler time and enjoy the land unencumbered by the trappings of modern craziness. A form of rustic yet comfortable agri-tourism. It sure did deliver.

From the moment we pulled up to the gate and were greeted by Bronse, we seemed to be transported to a different time. A time somewhere in between ‘Dances with Wolves’, ‘Little House on the Prairie’ and the Gold Rush of '49.

We met nice people who were eager to share this amazing place along with all it’s diverse inhabitants. Of which the two little wolf pups who had just opened their eyes the day before were probably the cutest and the 200 pound proud father the most stately and awesome. The bobcat kittens gave the little wolves stiff competition for cuteness and the mighty bison grazing in our front yard were almost as impressive as the wolf parents. Friendly horses, mules and donkeys always stopping by the cabin to inquire about carrots were our closest neighbors. Our dog Juno got along especially well with the Donkeys.

The ride on the Razor and ATV down steep trails to the Merced at the property edge 5 miles away was a trip to the edge of our comfort zone (some steep grades), but so fun and rewarding. The Merced was like an oasis after the hot dusty trail.

You should be aware of what you are in for so that you are not leaving a 1 star review by comparing this place with a 5 star hotel. Prepare to get dusty and understand that what is being offered here is not a posh resort. This is a very comfortable way to 'rough it'.

We stayed in the main cabin at the top of the property, which is the only one that is 'on the grid'. The jacuzzi worked fine and was clean until you opened it and the dust started to make its way in. The BBQ was a big enough to cook a feast on, which we did. The cabin was clean and well appointed. The kitchen was functional with a big modern refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable. We had fun playing horseshoes and flinging dried bison pies with the skeet launcher.

Some recommendations: The lighting is a little dimmer than many people are used to so maybe bring some extra LED lanterns for indoors along with flashlights for get around outdoors. Also, if you come with a big group, it would be good to have a camping shower. The bathroom with the claw-foot tub and shower is great, but there is just the one. If you came with a large group and brought a camping trailer with a bathroom, you would be more comfortable. For a small group, the accommodations are fine as is. We were 7.

Bronse gave us free use of the ATV and gave us a great deal on the Razor vehicle. He says he is upgrading to these Razors and will be discontinuing the loan of the ATV's. I can definitely understand why as some of the trails that go to the river, waterfall, goldmines and other sites of interest are steep and uneven. The ATV's are not as easy to maneuver on these trails for inexperienced riders. The Razors are amazing vehicles that have no trouble on these trails. They are easy to drive and a lot of fun! My sister had never ridden an ATV before and was a little unsure on the Razor at first, but ended up loving it!

The location is about 20 minutes from Mariposa on paved easy roads until the ranch entrance and then well graded dirt to the main cabin. Visiting Yosemite from here would work, but I don't recommend to stay at Bison Creek if your main goal is Yosemite Park. Bison Creek is a destination, not a jump-off point. Bronse, Aaron and the other people on the ranch that we met in passing were very friendly and accommodating. You can tell they feel lucky to be a part of this place.

At the end of our stay we were trying to decide whether we would stay at the same cabin when we return or if we wanted to try one of the two more remote cabins (off the grid). We were about 50/50. We were 100 percent on returning though.

Bronse, congratulations for what you have created and many thanks for sharing it with us!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews