We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
144
47
11
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
47
11
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters tomales bay heated bathroom floors point reyes wood burning stove a late lunch rustic luxury mac and cheese s cove big rock big sur footed tub fresh fruit view of the bay san francisco nicks cabin
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 213 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2018

Stayed at Big Rock over the weekend with family and it was magical. I loved the views of Hog's Island and the pier while having my morning coffee. The wood-burning fireplace was perfect during this chilly spring visit. The cottage is at the end of the property so it felt pretty private. The wifi is extremely slow and cell phone service was non-existent which the property acknowledges. However, coming here isn't about working when you have views of Tomales Bay right outside your window! The copper tub was the highlight of my trip. Highly recommend the Bioluminescence Tour that launches right next to the property at the Miller Boat Launch.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CeladonPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

I have been eating at the restaurant for several years. It is in a great location on the water, has an amazing view and a great atmosphere. Within the last six months the food and drinks have gone down hill. Not sure what happened. The food has always been pricey but good. It’s no longer worth the price and the drinks are expensive and weak. I hope they undo whatever changes they recently made because this used to be one of my favorite places.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank ktm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Stopped with the family for a late lunch. Walked out to the end of the pier, where you can order food and drink. What a view. The fish and chips are perfect and splittable. We had two kids under 4 and the staff were wonderful with them.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank DianeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We have always wanted to stay at Nicks so for our 25th we decided it was time. We booked the 2 night summer sailing package which turned out to be an amazing value. It included 2 nights in a bay view cottage. We choose Red Legged Frog. The room was charming. Spotlessly clean, well appointed and had a super bay view from both the deck and room. Upon arrival we were treated to BBQ oysters which we choose to have at the bar. The two bartenders were just great both as mixologists and personality. We decided to stay for a lite supper and they made sure we got exactly what we wanted even though it was just past mid day menu time. Breakfast delivered to the room was hot and delicious and also right on time. Of all the great moments which there were many the private sailing excursion with Brett was the highlight. He picked us up right at the hotel dock in a beautiful catamaran with a bottle of champagne and a cheese platter. We went for a 2 hours sail which was absolutely amazing. We felt safe and relaxed it was like a movie moment! That evening we were treated to the chefs tasting menu. They accommodated our dietary requests with no issue. It was beyond creative and all 5 courses were incredible. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and personable. A truly memorable meal. The service we received by everyone at the hotel and restaurant was impressive and made our trip one of our best. Thank you Nicks Cove!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank culinaryescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

We had Ruthie's cottage, which is right above the water & the closest to the entrance and restaurant for an early summer rendezvous with friends. Comfy abode with table/chairs on deck, wood stove (wood supplied) to take off the morning chill and spacious bathroom for handicapped-accessible. Dogs welcome too. Simple but nice breakfast tray delivered to your room. Just a great way to relax and take in nature's beauty, including the call of a Pacific loon on the Bay. Easy drives to Bodega Bay (to north) and Pt. Reyes (to the South). We're returning next June for our 50th anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews