We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Cedar Lodge Motel(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Lodge(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Holiday Lodge(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Valley Inn(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shasta Inn(Mount Shasta)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
57
21
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
21
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastwould stay againthe ground floorevery morningshastamercantilebnbtub
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 85 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2016

We wanted to stay near Mt Shasta at a B&B for our anniversary. McCloud River Inn got great reviews and they were right. Jennifer and Robin were wonderful hosts who showed us around, gave us great info, made us feel right at home and fed us fabulous breakfasts. The room was very comfortable.

The Inn is small and intimate with only about six rooms. Jennifer baked great cookies each night, which were great at night and during the day!

If we're in the area again, we would definitely stay here.

Note: Jennifer and Robin aren't the owners, and the owners are trying to sell the place. If it sells it would be worth researching what changes will occur.

Room Tip: Each room is different. The hotel is very quiet, so I would imagine all rooms would be good.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016

Okay, so I really wanted to love this Bed & Breakfast but there are just some things I have to mention. First of all let me give the positives. Robin, the innkeeper, was very, very nice and helpful. Our room was located on the second floor and the day we arrived was unusually hot for this time of year. Although they offer air conditioning this comprised of a unit placed in a window, running on full speed, which never really cooled down the room. Robin mentioned opening the windows, at dusk, to give the room a nice cross breeze, which we did, but because it was so hot there was no breeze to be had. However, there were several dead bugs in the window sill that my husband kindly disposed of. The Inn also states they offer free Wi-Fi, which apparently they do, but we could never get a connection. Our room furnishings were a mixture of an antique armoire to a white metal, dated 70's bed frame with gold tone accents and a couple of what I can only describe as thrift store, water stained end tables. The curtains were dated and appeared to need a good washing. They do not provide any toiletries except for a wall mounted dispenser in the shower stall that contained bath wash and shampoo (no conditioner). There was a little jar of cotton swabs and I believe another which may have had cotton balls in it. I did find the towels to be quite nice and plush. We have stayed at many B&B's and this just didn't stand up to the $200 a night. I also found it kind of funny that there's a sign in the room offering $25.00 off your next stay, if you leave a review on TripAdvisor, Bed & Breakfast.com or Yelp. However, it didn't say that a positive review was required. Do you think they will honor their offer? The Inn has the potential to be charming but still has a lot work to do, to get there, in my opinion. Note: Be advised all the rooms, with the exception of one, plus the dining room are located on the second floor. This is a challenge for individuals who have mobility issues. At the time of my booking the website did not mention this fact, although I do believe Robin was going to address this with the owner.

Room Tip: Ask for the downstairs room and request a breakfast tray be brought to your room if you have issues climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadtrippin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2016

The Inn is an historic building itself and located in the historic district of McCloud. The rooms are charming, comfortable and large. Breakfast was delightful. We only spent one night on a Tuesday. We found the historic district basically closed down and went to two eateries that were closed before finding a pizzeria that was open. Was never able to connect to the internet. The hotel staff told us about the McCloud river and the three falls there and we enjoyed seeing them very much. They were beautiful. I would stay again if in town. The beds were very comfortable and we got a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Operationhappytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place! Very accommodating and friendly. Quiet, comfortable. A place you look forward to going back to. Thank you Robin and Jennifer! Felt like you were going back in time and were royalty! Rooms clean and the town very quaint and centrally located to all we needed.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank GalavantingGParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2016

This B&B is located just off Main Street so it is convenient to everything in this sweet little town. The rooms are large and each is unique. Our bed was very comfortable and the linens are luxurious. Word of warning: The internet, though free, is very spotty. A nice breakfast is served for the guests. We would stay here again when in McCloud.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house would be more comfortable in summer.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnmaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews